Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hembree Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2009

I love this school! I have 2 kids that went here and my oldest son graduated yesterday... OMG.. Mrs. Raju is the best. They have strict guidelines that keep these kids in place. I am very pleased. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

We just moved to the area about 4 months ago. I was worried because I had to move my son who had just started Kindergarten at another school to Hembree Springs in the middle of the year but the school has been great and my son absolutely loves it. They have made him feel at home and special and his teacher and the principal have treated us w/ great respect and consideration. He has learned so much in the little time he has been there. I would highly recommend Hembree Springs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

This is a class A school, where the Principal has very strict rules, the students work hard the hallways are very quite. It is very clean and the kids are treated like at home, with love and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

I stumbled on this website by accident and thought I should speak up about how much we have been pleased with Hembree Springs Elementary. I had wanted to send my kids to a private school but a job loss changed that for us -- and what a blessing in disguise! We love Hembree Springs. My oldest just graduated from there, completing six years and what wonderful years they were for her! My middle child is a rising third grader and we have had a wonderful experience with her as well. As with all teachers, styles were different, but every single one of them showed that they cared for my children. Ms. Raju and Ms. Miller are hands on administrators who have proven they really care. The few concerns I have had (about 3 over the course of 6 years) were addressed immediately! The Machado Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

The music program is awesome. Our family loves HSE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Both my daughters attended Hembree with the youngest graduating this year. The teachers,administrators, nurses and the principal Ms. Raju are fantastic. Very concerned and know almost all the students. Academic programs are very good. Both girls went from non-readers to advanced readers - scoring very high on standardized tests.There are not very many extracurricular activities, but we live in Roswell and use Roswell Area Park for extracurricula activities, so I didn't mind. It's a wonderful school and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I abosolutely loved this school. My child attended this school for one year. There's no comparing at all. Hembree Springs is hands down a more inviting environment and more tolerant of diversity. I would have loved to keep my child at Hembree if it weren't for our move. The teachers are excellent and they truly care about your chilren.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

My child is in the special needs Pre-K program due to a speech delay, and the staff at Hembree Springs have been great! Mrs. Avolio and her assistants are phenominal people. They are truly a godsend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Principal Raju has done an excellent job with the children and staff at Hembree Springs. My daughter looks forward to going to school each morning and is surrounded by loving teachers and students - it is just like a little family - keep up the good work over at Hembree Springs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

This is a wonderful school! My kids like it much better than Sweet apple!The teachers and principal are really expirenced and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2005

I absolutely love this school! Principal Raju is the best and is very involved with our children. The teachers are very kind and caring about their students. My children look forward to going to school everyday and get very excited when they see Principal Raju. It just can't get any better than this. We have an awesome community here at Hembree Springs Elementary. The staff are professional, school academics programs are awesome, and 'The Buck Stops' at Mrs. Raju's desk! We love her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

Our school is great! The teachers are loving and caring. They make learning fun! Parents are very involved w/ PTA and activities. The principal is very involved with all of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

The Principal of this school allows Kitchen workers to smoke on Fulton County Property which is against policy. I feel this is poor leadership. How do we teach against the dangers of tobacco use and let the students see it being done at their school.Staff who smoke must wait till they get away from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

138 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

138 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

138 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 44%
Hispanic 28% 12%
Black 11% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

815 Hembree Rd
Roswell, GA 30076
Phone: (770) 667-2902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT