Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elkins Pointe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1045 students

Our school is best known for having pride in our diverse achievements.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

My school is wonderful. It's a reflection of the real world! I love our diverse population and innovative thinking. Great principal, excellent counselors, awesome teachers, and fantastic staff. It's the whole package.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Thanks to principal Melinda Springman this school has evolved into a dynamic, multi-cultural comprehensive middle school with academics suited for all levels of ability. My children and I are both thrilled with our experience here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Shocked this school only has a "7" rating. This must be a lasting result of former administration ? Elkins is a fabulous school and my child and his/her friends are doing really well here. We took our child out of private school and put him here. Academically, this school is much more challenging than our previous middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

My daughter is currently an 8th Grade student at Elkins Pointe. She started at EPMS last year. I have been so impressed by the teachers at this school. In all areas of her coursework, my daughter is challenged daily and encouraged to work through new ideas. I feel that Elkins has done an amazing job in preparing her for the rigors of high school coursework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter attended EPMS with most of her classes on grade level. She was not a TAG student, but nevertheless she was well prepared for RHS. Throughout her tenure at RHS she was enrolled in both Honors and AP classes. In her senior year at RHS she took all AP classes and received straight A's. I credit both EPMS and RHS for her success. She was accepted at every college she applied to. We know several former EPMS students who currently attend well regarded universities. When you hear a negative rumor about EPMS, please consider the source. Maybe they say there are drugs at EPMS because they need an excuse for why their child turned to drugs. Maybe they say there are trouble-makers at EPMS because their child is a trouble-maker. Maybe they say the education is sub-standard because their child isn't a strong student. Sometimes it is not the school but the student and the family that's to blame. Please visit EPMS. Take a tour. Interview the administration and the staff. Do your homework. Decide for yourself. The loudest voice in the room isn't always the most informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

Huge disappointment. Academic standards are very low and the care for children is just not there. A mediocre school for those who have no other options.


Posted May 21, 2013

Elkins Pointe is improving by leaps and bounds. My child just finished 6th grade TAG-level. Although the school does not have as many resources and technology as some other schools, and not enough parents are involved with the school (in my opinion), the new principal (Melinda Springman) is doing a great job with what she has available. I think she is making a big impact and I love the changes being implemented. Before you make a decision based on a handful of reviews from 5 years ago, please visit the school and talk to the current staff and parents. You will like what you hear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

If you have any other options for your child to attend a different school, take it! From an academic perspective having come from a school where children were expected to do their best, we are sorely disappointed in the low standards set by the teachers and the number of busy-work projects that offer very little in the way of learning. We had been told in our child was in TAG classes, it is a good school. From our experience with our child in all TAG classes, it is not true. From an order and discipline perspective, the administration is more concerned with improving the school's reputation by any means necessary than with addressing the needs of middle school children and responding appropriately in various situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

There are no "gangs" at EPMS. I hear this all the time from concerned parents, and parents of children from other Middle Schools. The staff is very attentive, and the principal communicates any discipline issues before rumors start. We love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Elkins Pointe is a great school! My child has attended here for one and a half years and though moving to a new school during the school year can be scary, everyone made her transition a great experience. We have had nothing but positive experiences in both TAG classes and on grade level classes. I have also been very pleased in the range of courses and the extracurricular activities and clubs available, including opportunity to receive high school credits in 8th grade. The teachers and administrators sincerely care about all of their students and go above and beyond to help them excel. We have been very pleased with our decision to move to this school and support and recommend it 100%! Furthermore, we have had the opportunity to attend top notch schools around the country that were ranked higher and I truly feel this school should have a much higher ranking than what is shown here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

I am a rising sixth grader with all TAG classes and that gives me little idea or experience of the apparent stress, overloading of homework, and theft at EPMS, but when my school attended the fifth grade trip to see the middle school; I was very impressed. EPMS is clean, the discipline is strict, and the education is above average for TAG and On-Level. Children themselves are the problem. Older students might and probably WILL take advantage of the younger kids, but that`s a problem you can fight through and forget. Long, long story short- In my eyes, EPMS is NOT a step back, but a stomp forward.


Posted April 13, 2010

We have one son who graduated from EPMS and is now at Roswell High. He really progressed between the transition of elementary school and middle school and ultimately thrived in 7th and 8th grade at EPMS. He enjoyed the classes, teachers and activities. Our 6th grade son attends EPMS now and enjoys it very much. We like the adminsitration and teachers. Most of teachers keep you advised of the weekly events, projects and homework. Overall more parents shoul be involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

ok well i have a son at this school! And he says he likes it but that the advance math moves way to fast for him! The only thing i dont like about the school is how ridiculously expensive the lunch is! That can be cheaper but every thing else is good! It is a good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Well this my first year of middle school and every thing is going well! But the only thing i dont like is their advanced math! it is just really hard to keep up with and it is hard! It also moves very fast! And the good quality lunches cost lots of money! The teachers are nice too but some need to retire because they are not doing a very good job of teaching the classes! But over all the school is great. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2009

I have had 3 children attend this school, and they have done well in high school and college. Middle school is different, and I think the Elkins Pointe staff does a great job helping students prepare for high school. The office staff is friendly, and the administration is available to help parents navigate through those tricky years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

This school does a horrible job of keeping the students in line, and doing what they are supposed to do. The teachers, some are less that standard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2009

This is a great school. Two of my kids attend, one is going into her 3rd year and the other his 2nd. We have had nothing but positive experiences in both TAG classes and on grade level classes. Students are placed appropriately and are challenged according to their abilities. The teachers and administrators care about the students both academically and socially. Communications between teahcers and parents is excellent. Administrators are available to speak to and respond quickly to concerns. The staff creates a fun and caring environment. The music program is top notch. MY kids have flourished at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

The comment about lack of discipline and followthrough is absolutely true. I have a daughter that was in the TAG (gifted) program there and she thrived. My son that followed her, not so much. He's not in TAG and the lack of structure in the curriculum, discipline and followthrough by some teachers has allowed him to slip through the cracks and become lazy. The classes cater more to lower abilities causing other students to become bored, restless and disinterested. I will say that there are SOME fabulous teachers but when their hands are tied by overriding decisions on the department or school level, even their effectiveness is not maximized. Theft is another rampant problem at this school and little is done when something is stolen. A felony in the 'real' world is dismissed as 'we'll see what we can do about it' and little is done. Beware of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I am so pleased with Elkins Pointe. All of the rumors are unfounded and should be ignored. My daughter is a 7th grader and has done very well. The teachers are great. They not only care about their education, but also their emotional and social well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

this school is a great school i go there and have benn for 2 years now a nd if any person came there their going to have a warm welcome
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

264 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 44%
Hispanic 30% 12%
Black 17% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title I Distinguished School (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Other health impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Origami club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Melinda Springman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (770) 667-2898

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Adult education
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Other health impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Roswell Rotary
  • North Fulton Community Charities
  • Junior Achievement
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Origami club
  • Science club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Hembree Springs Elementary
Sweetapple Elementary
Mimosa Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Roswell High School
Milton High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11290 Elkins Rd
Roswell, GA 30076
Phone: (770) 667-2892

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fulton Science Academy
Alpharetta, GA



Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT