Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-8|Private
246 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Swift School 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
I find it odd that the parents who gave the school one star also stated that their child went to Swift for multiple years. Why would you send your child to a school that cost $25,000 a year if you are not getting what you need? I think the real issue lies with them not the school. A big part of having a child with dyslexia is the support you give them at home. A school can not fix dyslexia but it can give a child the tools they need to grow. As a parent its your obligation to reinforce what they are learning in the classroom and continue their education at every opportunity. I wonder where their children ended up - I don't know of a better, well rounded school in the south for children with processing issues then Swift.

Swift School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
Students with dyslexia have challenges, it is harder and takes longer to learn how to read because of the way their brains are wired. With the right teachers and learning environment the hard work done in acquiring language pays off because students develop great persistence and grit.

Swift School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
In the past 5 years, Swift has added many amazing enrichment programs to develop character, integrity, kindness. Multiple community service projects and anti-bulling programs.

Swift School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
Our experience at Swift has been nothing but extraordinary. My son has attended the school since first grade and he will graduate this year from eighth grade. I have no idea what some of the parents are talking about in 1 or 2 of the older posts on this site. I have been at Swift a long time and seen it all. All the teachers are highly trained and qualified! The spectrum of kids accepted has not broaden at all, in fact the student profile is more focused than ever on students with dyslexia and related language learning differences. The school has remodeled the main building adding beautiful new classrooms and added an additional new building with art, music, frameworks, middle division classes and a lunch room. The reason we love Swift is that it is a community of amazing teachers, specialists and families working together to help kids with language challenges to love school, love learning and appreciate their many gifts and talents.

Swift School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
This is our son's second year at Swift, and we are so happy to have found this school for him. He is a dyslexic learner, and has ADHD. When he was in our (good) public school for K and 1, he hated school- in a class of 25+ kids, with only 1 hour a day with the special Ed reading teacher, he was frustrated, overwhelmed, and miserable. Swift has been so amazing for him. The low student-teacher ratio, the positive environment, the caring teachers, and the differentiated instruction to different learning styles has been the perfect learning environment for him. He LOVES Swift- and this is huge, coming from a boy who never loved school, going all the way back to pre-k. He's told us on several occasions that he wants to go to Swift all the way to 8th grade. He's more confident, he's reading and learning so many great techniques to help him be a successful learner, and he's made lots of friends here. The teachers, and assistant teachers, have impressed us so much with their knowledge, teaching styles, and nurturing personalities. I know my son is in good hands every day, with teachers who truly care for him. We absolutely love Swift, and the positive impact this school has made on our son.

Swift School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
Our son had been to four schools, including Preschool and homeschooling/K12, before we found The Swift School. Since our son was 5 yrs old he had been diagnosed with language deficits, through neuropsychology Evans and IEPs. The moment we walked into The Swift School we "felt" a different "climate" and environment! Every SINGLE person we came in contact with (teaching staff, administrators, coaches, parents) was smiling and GREETED us! They had no idea who we were or why we were there, yet we're kind and courteous. We felt we were HOME!! Our son started in December 2014. He has had the best grades he has had since preschool, is happy once again with school, and is progressing exponentially in math, language arts, and reading. We feel both accomplished, and blessed! Dr. Salapka, as well as the head of school Mr. Wendell, and Angela as well as the front staff Anna have been phenomenal! We are so grateful. If the school is a good match for your child, you will NOT be disappointed!

Swift School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
My child came to Swift School midyear in 4th grade after it became obvious that he was not being challenged or progressing in the public schools. While he is not dyslexic, he has some learning challenges that sort of made him fall in the gap in the public school between the mainstream students and the students with more severe learning disabilities. We looked at several schools and chose The Swift School despite some of the negative reviews we saw after meeting with the Admissions Director and several of the teachers. We chose Swift because we felt that our son would fit in well meaning that his learning challenges were not as severe as some of the children we saw at other schools. He is not dyslexic but has benefited from the teaching strategies in place at Swift. He likes going to school and has been progressing in his reading and math to our satisfaction. Bullying was one of the concerns we had after reading other reviews and has not been an issue at Swift School. The teachers and administration have been great to deal with and are dedicated to doing everything they can to make the students succeed. We plan on sending our son to Swift School for another year.

Swift School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
This is my fifth grader's second year at Swift. They have helped him grow in confidence, ability, and independence. He was beginning to feel like he was not smart in his former public school. Swift has made him love school again!

Swift School 1

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
Please carefully read these reviews as Swift school is not a healthy environment for any child. In four years our son had a 6:1 student teacher ratio for only 5 months. Currently the norm is 15 children packed into a small classroom with 3 teachers - majority not OG certified, most have just graduated. In addition, the spectrum of learning differences that Swift accepts has broadened significantly, such that they no longer focus on auditory, expressive, and receptive learning differences as advertised, but extensive behavioral issues which teachers are not trained to manage. If you are considering Swift, be sure to ask how many children were removed for disciplinary issues the prior year. The statistics, if truthfully shared, are alarming. The statistics do not address the turmoil in the classroom, I did not know what a beat circle was, or what it meant for a child to tea bag another child's desk until this past year at Swift. Do not subject your child to what our son went through, look elsewhere.

Swift School 5

Posted July 15, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended the Swift School for 6 years. It has been nothing but a miracle for him and our family. Swift gets my child. Swift not only helps him with his challenges, they also appreciate him for his strengths. My son loves school, he knows he is dyslexic but he also knows his future is bright. The school has not stayed the same over the years. It has gotten better and better every year. The current administration has transformed the school into a place that truly embraces the whole child by offering additional programming like arts, athletics, music, drama, science, concerts, assemblies, field trips and so much more. It is a real school not a remediation pit-stop to nowhere. The school has grown slowly over the years as more people have found out about our amazing school.

Nearby schools

Swift School
300 Grimes Bridge Road, Roswell, GA  30075
(678) 205-4988
Last modified Swift School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Top