Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roswell North Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1020 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

112 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2013

I have been very pleased with RNE. My daughter has been there for 4 years now and we have had nothing but great experiences with all of our teachers and the staff there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Our family loves this school! Parental involvement is excellent, teachers care, the principal puts her heart and soul into her work and the children are happy, healthy and safe. Our children are excited about going to school every day and they are learning in a fun and multicultural environment that meets and exceeds all of their needs. With the state of the economy these are trying times for public education but Roswell North is an extended family where everyone works together to make the best school environment possible. I wouldn't want my children at any other school and feel blessed to be a part of RNE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

this school is the best im in middle school right now and i have to say roswell north was the best. they helped me a lot with my work and now im hapy to tell everyone that roswell north is the best school ever. with there teachers and other staff especially the principal she is the best .


Posted August 18, 2012

We've had children at this school since 2006, and couldn't be happier. When we moved to Roswell, we notice Mountain Park had a slightly higher rating and higher test scores, which remains true to this day. But Roswell North is the oldest elementary in the area, whereas Mtn. Park was specifically districted to include almost exclusively upper middle class and above homes/families. It's 90% white. Roswell North looks much more like the real world; your children will learn beside kids from families who are from other states, other countries, and varied socio-economic backgrounds. The staff handles it all amazingly well and produces a caring, effective learning environment. The new wing (couple of years old by now) is amazing, and the parent involvement is very high, generally. EXCELLENT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

Love this school. We actually got in this school through Fulton County open enrollment and couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are great and the principal is even better. You see her involved in all the activities and even out at carpool, which is run with military precision, by the way! Great PTA and lots of ways a parent can be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

We LOVE this school! We moved here from out of State and were nervous about starting a new school. EVERYONE made us feel welcome and helped ease my sons fears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

I love this school, teachers area amazing , My son loves to go to school and he is getting really good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

I love this school for my daughter. She came from the Cobb county school district, which the school was just o.k. but not GREAT. I was very pleased with the support in tutoring they offered students that have difficulty in one area or another. I think that's why students do so well in this school, is because they provide whatever help and support 150% of the time for the students. Please continue to offer the tutoring one on one for the students because it really works and the volunteers in this school is so amazing, I have never seen anything like this.... I hope with a new principal coming aboard this school year they will continue to do amazing things for Roswell North. Thank you all,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This is a people oriented school. It offers a great environment and the staff and teachers are top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Excellent School. Strong Parent Envolvement, PTA, Staff, and especially the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Great parent teacher involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This is the most amazing school. The administration and teachers work together to build a strong foundation for our kids on an academic level as well as on a personal level. The kids feel like they can count on the teacher and administrators to support them, be there for them and be a strong adult to have in their corner. I love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Great Parent teacher involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My grand daughter is getting a great education and loves going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Mr. Huff the principal ROCKS, the teachers are PASSIONATE and the parents are DEDICATED! We love RNE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This is our first year here at Roswell North and our son is in 5th grade. Roswell North's staff and administration has been the friendliest and most helpful in getting us acquainted with our new school. The principal, Mr. Huff is so approachable, so accessible and so visible in this school. Anyone who enters this school would be terribly impressed. The teachers at Roswell North are top notch and their experience with students is apparent. They know what they are doing! We couldn't be happier with our choice of Roswell North Elementary- I emphasize choice because it was a choice for us. There are so many wonderful schools in this area but we chose Roswell North for it's diversity, it's leadership, for the teachers' experitse, and the active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Fantastic School with a great principal and parent involvement! The teachers truly care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

We just moved into this school district this year, and WOW, I am so impressed with RNE. We moved from Mountain Park, but I truly believe RNE blows MPE out of the water. The staff is great, and the overall atmostphere at this school is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

We have fantastic teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

The teachers and principal are professional, encouraging, challenging (in a good way), patient, and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 44%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Black 15% 37%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Theory

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Kindra Smith
Fax number
  • (770) 552-6326

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10525 Woodstock Rd
Roswell, GA 30075
Phone: (770) 552-6320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT