Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roswell North Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 38 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

135 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

RNE is an incredible, tight knit school, that loves its children. While the school may be 1,000 students, it surely does not feel like it inside. Familiar faces and friendly smiles fill the halls. Every time I am at the school as a parent volunteer or just picking up my child, I want to be there more and more. Our children have been well-cared for and had excellent teachers. We love RNE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

This is an excellent school with excellent teachers, parents and community support. RNE has become the "it" school in many North Fulton circles. From a great PTA, Foundation, Dad's Club, Art's Program, Science Lab and growing technology, this school is not waiting for government to figure it out, they are investing in their own school and making a difference. It appears that some reviews have an agenda. If you wandered by the school during open house and talked to veteran parents, I think you would hear 99% positive. The Principal was Teacher of the Year for Fulton County this year, test scores continue to improve and they embrace the diversity of their student body and cherish the diversity as the asset that it is. Beware of the school you get if you judge only test scores, it may lack heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

Roswell North is a wonderfully diverse school. Teachers meet the demands that are placed on them. It is a large school that feels warm. Teachers and administration truly care about the ALL students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

I have read many of the reviews before posting my own. Is the lunchroom rigid? yes, a bit. These ladies are trying to encourage our children to eat their lunch and not return to the classroom hungry. I have been through RNE with my oldest now at RHS and he is an honor student, taking 3 AP classes and will have NO problem being accepted to any college he chooses. This is due to the love of learning he received at RNE. My second son is now attending RNE and I am even more thrilled!! The caliber of teachers along with a Principal who received the Fulton County Principal of the year award is truly a Blessing! My son has an IEP and while we struggled in the beginning it is now running smoothly. The struggles had nothing to do with the school but with the red tape at the County level. PE is physical!! My son comes off his bus sweating on PE days, he has been enjoying music as well as Art. There are also many extras you will not find in other schools. Artist day, Science day are two of our favorites in this house!! My children are Blessed that they have received an education at RNE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2014

I love RNE! I think it's a great school. My daughter will be a first grader in the fall and she loves it here. This will be her third year there. Kindra Smith the principal was just voted principal of the year for 2014 and she deserves it. If you live in or move to Roswell this school is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

The principal is terrible and passes her duties onto others. When you complain and try to point out the things that to be fixed they put the blame on the parent. Since the principal became principal the school went down hill. She's not focused on helping the children, especially special needs children she's more concerned about money. If a persons passion is getting the children the education they need to succeeded then they will do what's in the best interest of the child not for their personal needs. Very unprofessional and also gets involved in custody cases which by law school staff is not suppose to make suggestions or get involved unless children are being abused or neglected. Favoritism all around and it's so disgusting. 6 out of 10 ratings is a fail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

This school has been a great disappointment and it is necessary to notify other parents of the shortfalls in order for them to avoid the negative experiences we've had. Where to begin? Teaching is academically weak, homework is inconsistent and confusing, papers are mis-graded, then "lost" and a lack of organization pervades the classroom. Worse, there is bullying going on that is denied by teachers and principals. In addition, lunchtime is a free for all chaos that results in grossly inappropriate conversation and conduct, which goes unnoticed and unattended by staff. Leadership gives lip service to advocating for the needs if children but when questioned or challenged they spread the blame instead of taking responsibility. We're withdrawing our children as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

We moved to the city due to the schools parent ratings. My children and us as the parents have had all positive experiences with everyone from Ms. Glass in the cafeteria to the teachers and office staff. Tons of parental involvement and staff that is very helpful. The principal creates a wonderful and motivating environment for the children to cultivate participation and growth as young individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

My children LOVE going to RNE! I am very involved in my children's education and the administration, teachers, and staff go above and beyond to make sure the kids are happy and are learning. The parental involvement is second to none and the PTA and Foundation provide enriching opportunities to all students. I feel like my kids are getting the best education possible at this awesome school. The negative comments on this site in NO way represent the feelings and thoughts of the MAJORITY if the families at this school! This is school is a wonderful, engaging, and caring place! We are lucky to have a school like this in our own backyards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Roswell North is one of the best schools in North Fulton. I have two children in 3rd and Kindergarten, and we have had an amazing experience. The Foundation and PTA provide excellent opportunities for parental involvement and provide technology, science lab, and free field trips. I am thrilled that we will be adopting the STEAM model next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

All you need to do is check the rankings on this site. 6/10 is a failing grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

Roswell North is an outstanding school and I would highly recommend it to any family. I have had two boys attend from grades K-5 -- one a TAG student and the other on a 504 plan because of his ADHD. The school environment has felt more like that of a private school than a public. The teachers and administration strive to make sure every student succeeds and have always been available and in communication about both the achievements and challenges my boys have faced in elementary school. There is also a strong PTA and high level of parent participation and community support. Roswell North is truly a school that cares about their students and the families they serve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

My son & daughter attended this school Mr.Walter is the best teacher ever if I ever move in the area again I would definitely let my kid's attend School here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

While we are fairly new to the school, I have been extremely happy so far. My daughter is in Kindergarten and she has come so far this year already. Her teacher is very supportive and attentive. The PTA support and parental involvement also seems great. We are very excited to get more involved with the advancement of this school in the coming years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

We attended this school two years ago. I can't begin to explain the difference between the school we attend now and Roswell North. I think the new principal has come in and is driving this school into the ground. Why hasn't she claimed the school on greatschools.com to answer people's concerns? We didn't have the issues with lunch I read about on this site, but we did have big issues with the teachers not teaching. They would just send the test home the day before for us to teach. We also noticed a big deal made about the "TAG" program, our son would refer to himself as dumb because he wasn't in TAG. We are no longer am at this school but we couldn't help but comment after reading the reviews. Our experience here was also bad as other people have commented. I encourage parents to look into other public and private schools before settling with Roswell north.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

Roswell North is...a place most kids call their second home. I have seen through my own children's eyes the love of their teachers, principals and friends. I am very involved with their education and I feel the school goes above and beyond to help each child succeed. Are there areas needing an overhaul? Of course, but if you think there is a school out there without these issues, you are living in a dream world. Thank you to to previous parent for being positive. It is very easy to post on this site and I encourage others to take the time to do it. My one rebuttal is about the lunchroom. My children really don't mind the music. It might not be their choice of music, but they enjoy being able to eat without classmates yelling in their ears. Lunchtime is a time to fuel up for the rest of the day. If they talk and play the whole time then they don't eat. Hats off to the staff that has to be in there day in and day out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

I couldn't agree more with the recent reviews. Yes they have a computer lab, but I'm told they play angry birds while there. Yes they have a science lab which they visit maybe once a month. Lunch is like an institution where they have intervals of three minutes to talk five minutes of silence. Art and music are a nightmare. They send the test home the day before so you can teach it to your child. Carpool is a mess and the bus is even worse. They focus on "center work" during class time which is basically the kids doing their own thing for two hours of the day. They don't instill the basics like addition and subtraction but skip around from topic to topic in math. They have no accelerated reading program or any emphasis on reading at all. They give the kids spelling words that are not even gone over in class, but they test them on the words. There are many disipline problems in the classroom, which seem to go unattended. The classrooms are bare and not child friendly. The grading system is like a high school, except they set such high goals for the kids but dont help them achieve them. They throw work at them and expect the parents to teach it. Basically, I would avoid this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

Stay far away from this school. We thought we had found a gem but it went horribly wrong. My son and his class was bullied by his teacher all last year. The staff has never come clean or apologized for their lack of dealing with this issue. It's all been quietly covered up. Also lunch in the cafeteria is very rigid. The children are only allowed to talk in 3 minute intervals when the music isn't playing. During the whole lunch period they are berated and yelled at by staff for being too noisy. It's very stressful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

Great parent involvement with the Foundation and the PTA. Wonderful teachers, staff, and principal. We could not be happier to have our child at Roswell North Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

I have to say that I have been pretty impressed with this school so far. I had really wanted my children to go to a well-regarded private school in the area, but just couldn't pull together the expensive tuition. But as it has turned out, my kids have had awesome teachers at Roswell North, are excelling in their school work and really enjoy going to school every day. Our family is happy with our school thus far!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 44%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Black 15% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Theory

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Kindra Smith
Fax number
  • (770) 552-6326

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10525 Woodstock Rd
Roswell, GA 30075
Phone: (770) 552-6320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT