Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Atlanta Country Day School

Private | 7-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Sandy Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $237,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

Atlanta Country Day School was a life saver for our son. He became ill in 11th grade and had missed almost all of his second semester. Our school recommended ACDS to us. It was impossible for him to continue at his school due to his illness. ACDS set up a special program for him. He attended 2nd semester there and was extremely happy. The owners and teachers were fantastic. They worked his hours around his illness. Thanks to all at ACDC he is now back in his old school and will be able to graduate with his friends that he has known since preschool. I highly recommend ACDS to all. Our son learned so much from his teachers. We are very grateful to all the time and effort given to our son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I have had two children attend Atlanta Country Day school. They do an excellent job with students that have not been successful in the traditional public school environment. They will craft a program that will meet your child's needs in preparing them for college and keeping them interested in school. The staff at ACDS takes a genuine interest in their students - who become part of the ACDS family. No student falls through the cracks because the teachers and administration keep a close eye on how each student is progressing. I would recommend ACDS as an excellent option to be considered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Our family has been a member of the Atlanta Country Day School family for nearly 4 years. Our oldest son is starting college this fall and is prepared in every way for success thanks to his personalized, excellent education from ACDS. He was able to complete calculus and discrete math because Jan and Mel Cohen hire exceptionally qualified faculty. Our youngest son will be graduating a year early thanks to this amazing school, and is also well prepared for college. We are very satisfied with ACDS and everyone who works so hard there to create an excellent educational experience for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

ACDS was an absolute lifesaver for our son! This school not only focuses on what a child learns but how he learns. The teachers are exceptional and the administration is incredibly responsive to all issues that may arise. This school works to insure that each child excels in all areas, including academics. Jan and Mel succeed at providing a nurturing environment along with personal accountability for each student. This truly is an extended family and will always be counted as part of the village that assisted in raising our son. We are so very thankful for ACDS, and all it has meant to our family. ACDS is truly an amazing place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

What a gift to have ACDS in our community. This school really focuses on each students needs both academically and personal growth. The adminstrators and teachers are outstanding at recognizing how to motivate and install confidence in their students. Due to an illness, my child missed over two months of school. ACDS designed a custom program that allowed him to make up the lost time and not have to repeat the grade. I am so thankful for the school and know my son is as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

ACDS has been a dream come true for our daughter. She used to dread going to school before we enrolled her at ACDS. Now she is excited and enthusiastic about learning. Her grades and attendance have improved and her attitude at home is much better. She enjoys the one on one attention she gets from the staff and teachers.As a parent, it is always a pleasure interfacing with Jan and Mel. It's a close knit community always looking to welcome and nurture new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

Atlanta Country Day School has earned its longstanding exceptional standards of excellence through hands on day to day administrative leadership and top quality teachers who know HOW to teach. Their collaborative approach recognizes each student for the individual they are, the small class sizes permitting group and personal attention. There is real heart and substance together with consistent positive example and encouragement by all staff and administration. A spirit of genuineness and eagerness to learn pervades together with a pragmatic application of what is learned to daily life. There is a strong mutual respect among all students. Moreover, students at Atlanta Country Day School have a sense of earned accomplishment and confidence from their training which will be carried with them their entire lives. It is a family experience. The teachers and administration show consistent with their actions what they stand for. From my personal experience and interaction with this school the past two years, it is well deserving of a six star rating. This is truly an exceptional place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

Patience and flexibility are the strengths of the faculty and administration. They listened to the challenges of our child and remained focused on assisting him in pursuing his academic goals. The program they developed and support they provided allowed him to graduate on schedule and gain acceptance to his first choice for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

Atl country day school did for my child what other schools couldn't do. Thanks to acds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

The place is a diploma factory. It's a disgrace to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (770) 998-0313
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8725 Dunwoody Place
Suite 2
Sandy Springs, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 998-0311

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Cottage School
Roswell, GA


Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA



The Swift School
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT