Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ison Springs Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank Mrs. White, Mr. Pratt, Mrs. Malcolm, Mr. Thompson, Mrs. Estes, Ms. Zarate, Mrs. Cothern, Mrs. J. Jones, Mrs. L. Jones, Mrs. Landers, and anyone else I may have forgotten for helping make my children the mannerable, kind, and smart people they are today!

Ison Springs Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
They have multiple ways of rewarding children for using manners. They go above and beyond to not only teach our children morals but they also implore them to use them on a daily basis.

Ison Springs Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of not one but two Ison Springs Scholars! The faculty, staff, and children play hard but work even harder. The administration has always been professional and courteous. I couldn't ask for a better environment for my children.

Ison Springs Elementary School 3

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
I've had a few issues w/ the school but it hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to deal with. Some teachers could be a bit more attentive to the students, but that's why parents have to remain involved in the education of children.

Ison Springs Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
Ison Springs is the best elementary school that I have ever seen. When I told my daughter that she could not attend anymore, she broke down into tears. She is currently at another school in Fulton but it does not compare. This was the only school that I have ever sent my child into and knew that she would be cared for without me having to worry. Mrs. White has the best staff and I have not seen a school in my years as an educator that is centered on the whole child becoming a life long learner. If i could I would take my daughter back immediately. She enjoyed the extra curricular activities that were provided by the school. She was involved in cheer leading, dance, and chorus. Unlike her current school, the parent only paid once a year and the fee was 25.00 for a uniform. As a single parent, I appreciated it. My daughter had the best teachers and guidance counselors in the world. Mrs. White, Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Laupus, Mrs.Stevens, and Mrs. Bolian I thank you for being such great educators and giving my daughter the steps to encourage my daughter to always be and try her best!

Ison Springs Elementary School 2

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended Ison Springs Elementary School for the last two years. I must say these were the most tiresome two years. During the two year span, I had the opportunity to observe the administrative staff including the Principal, Vice Principal and teachers, evaluate leadership behavior as well as academic expectations. I could not decipher if I was in a school environment or in Corporate America. The level of favoritism, unprofessionalism and childishness amongst the administrative leaders was very disheartening. The school believes that every scholar can learn, however not every teacher and administrative leader follows that motto. Classroom academic communication with parents does not exist, however any behavioral concerns are shown as the utmost importance. If you are looking for a school that focuses on challenging your child and keeping their spirits uplifted personally and academically, this is not the school for you. Submitted by a parent

Ison Springs Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My son went to Heards Ferry Elementary for his preschool. We really loved it there and I was a little skeptical and hesitant at first to put him in Ison Springs Elementary. I am so pleased with this school for not only its academic advances but the staff and teachers are absolutely wonderful. It is in a very remote location and it makes me feel like my son goes to a safe school in a safe area. I'm very lucky that we have such a good school right around the corner. My son loves his teachers he's had in his classmates. I can definitely see him flourish here at Ison Springs.

Ison Springs Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Ison is the best! I love the staff and teachers at Ison Springs! My children have attended the school since it first opened! The school's positive energy and love for children are as intense as they were the first year the school opened! They call our children, scholars. The school believes that every scholar can learn. Also, excellence is expected from every scholar. I am impressed by Ison.

Ison Springs Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
I absolutely loved Ison Springs Elementary for my son. Mrs. Jones, the assistant principal was excellent! I had an issue early into my son's first year at the school with a substitute teacher and she took care of it immediately. She was very personable and caring. My son attended Ison Springs for two years (4th and 5th grade) and will now move on to middle school, but I would definitely recommend Ison Springs to the involved and concerned parent.

Ison Springs Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
My son has now completed his elementary education with Ison Springs and will be moving on to middle school next year. ISON SPRINGS ROCKS...I am very sad to say goodbye. First: The principal is more involved than I have ever witnessed before. Second: The teachers are well rounded, involved, dedicated, supportive...and they actually love your children. Third: They offer lots of clubs/activities relevant to your child's success as an adult. The academics were great...PTA members step right up to tutor children having any type of difficulties. This school works as a team...I've never seen anything like it. They genuinely know most of the parents on a first name basis. If your son/daughter will be moving into this school district, do not worry they will take good care of your child and assure they're challenged academically. Looking for diversity??? They have it...it's amazing! Way to go ISON...you will be missed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ison Springs Elementary School
8261 Ison Rd, Sandy Springs, GA  30350
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (770) 673-4020
Last modified Ison Springs Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top