Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Several paths to prepare for college: on-level, Magnet, AP and IB. A great Principal with a vision to keep making us better. Focus on making the teachers the best they can be. With the new building to be completed in the next few years we will be the best education around.

Riverwood International Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Coming from a small private school, a move to a big public school was a transition. Something I like very much is the the "real world" experience of Riverwood - kids have to learn to deal - with people who may not be just like them, with situations that aren't always ideal, and with challenges that come with being in a big school in an old building - it's part of the overall experience that teaches grit and determination and is a big plus in my book. If we wanted to shelter our kid in a bubble of protection, there are small private schools to choose from. If you want your kid to take a step towards facing and succeeding the challenges and opportunities of the real world, then Riverwood is a good place to take those steps.

Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Halfway through my son's 9th grade year at Riverwood and we are very pleased. We moved into the district for the school and can now say it was a good decision. I am very impressed with Principal Dr. Shaw who appears to be on top of everything and promotes excellence in academics, athletics, and the arts equally. We just attended the school musical and I was blown away - it was outstanding and I forgot I was watching high school kids (and the music was played by the live orchestra from the pit) - very impressed!! My son is happy, has made friends, is challenged academically, and is finding his crowd through sports and activities. Construction has started on the new school building and we're excited to see the new school come up out of the ground. Great Job and Thank you Riverwood!

Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a community member
Riverwood is very rigorous academically. Sometimes too much but the students are very well prepared for college - many with college credits already under their belt when they graduate!

Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a community member
Our family has had four children at Riverwood. They have all been blessed to be instructed by caring teachers and a principal who demands good behavior. The school and its curriculum asks a lot of students...its challenging. But as my children have gone on to colleges at Vanderbilt and elsewhere they have remarked that they felt their freshman years in college were often just reviewing their course of study at Riverwood. They were well prepared for the next step.

Riverwood International Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
A lot: Ms. van der Hoek, Ms. Swafford, Ms. Hale, Coach Santoro, Ms. Bala, Ms. Taylor, Ms. Berryman, Ms. Garber (counseling office), Dr. Shaw

Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
We're about to graduate our 3rd and youngest child from Riverwood Int'l Charter School. After 10 years at RIverwood (19 years in public schools total), we can sincerely say that it's been a great experience overall. Our children are very solid students but not academic superstars. They made the most of their experiences at Riverwood because that's how we "encouraged" them --- even when they didn't want to! They had some stellar and some not-so-stellar teachers...not dissimilar from life when you have great bosses and bad bosses. The student diversity of Riverwood allowed for not only great cultural texture but also reality -- just like what the real world holds. We've watched friends spend hundreds of thousands of dollars on private school education to only end up paying out-of-state/private college tuition. Riverwood (Ridgeview Middle and Heards Ferry Elem.) can be a launching pad to a good university for any student who works hard and gets involved (parent involvement is critical too!). NOTE: Our first was in the Honors College at U. of Ga., our second at Georgia Tech, and our third to U. of Ga.

Riverwood International Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
To those awesome teachers that taught my son to study: Ms. Hale, Ms. Bala, Ms. A. , Coach Berryman, Ms. Bradley, Ms. Lynch, and Ms. Vargas.

Riverwood International Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Again...there are some excellent teachers and some very POOR teachers. Science stinks at Riverwood. The math, english and social studies departments are first class. Culinary, engineering and business...again excellent. Video Broadcast stinks. Culinary excellent. Remember, public school and Fulton County politics.

Riverwood International Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Riverwood pushes lots of IB and AP classes. He had 9 IB/AP classes by the time he graduated, while most of his friends were getting an IB Diploma and had closer to 15. It's hard academically to manage eight classes at a time (Riverwood is on a block schedule), but studying and doing a sport left him little time to get into trouble. At the time he was at Riverwood, I thought it was too much. But, now that he's in college and doing so well in his Honors classes, it might have been a good way to prepare him for the volume of college work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverwood International Charter School
5900 Raider Drive, Sandy Springs, GA  30328
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (470) 254-1980
Last modified Riverwood International Charter School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top