Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Peter The Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Our school is best known for our rigorous academics and faith based education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Savannah

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2010

My children are former students and have received a well-rounded education.


Posted March 3, 2010

Not only am I a teacher, but a parent of a student in St. Peter the Apostle. My daughter is now in college and earning a 3.5 her freshman year. All due to the great education she received at her elementary and middle school years. I feel the base that she received prepared her for high school and college. Thanks St. Peter's
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2010

I have been extremely pleased with the education that my children have received and are still receiving at St. Peter the Apostle. The teachers are terrific and really care about their students. They go above and beyond. This school is like a family where everyone looks out for one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

St. Peter's is a wonderful school for my children. The location on Wilmington Island is both convenient and private. My children are challenged in the classroom and also enjoy all the extracurricular activities the school offers. Fantastic teachers, families and principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

A great school and getting even better. They have plans to enhance the arts program with money raised at the auction. Along with the new principal, parental involvement and technology upgrade, St. Peters is really a great place for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

Our first year at St. Peter's has been excellent! St. Peter's challenges my children to excel in school while reinforcing their faith. The teachers and staff at St. Peter's nurture their students in a way that give parents peace of mind in entrusting their children to them each day. The principal is new this year, like us, and is phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

St Peter The Apostle is a excellent school. We love our new principal Sr. Roberta. They just completed a $100,000 update on the computer lab/networking system. All the classrooms have SMART Boards. We are very happy with our teachers and assistant teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

Great school. Small class sizes. New computer lab and smart boards in EVERY class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

We are very happy with St. Peter's. Teachers are very receptive to all my concerns regarding my children. It is a great learning environment, very nurturing, very safe. They have upgraded the computer lab and my children are always talking about how awesome it is. Every classroom has a Smart Board which makes for excellent interactive teaching and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I cannot think of a better place for my children to learn and grow as individuals. St. Peters is a wonderful school with a motivated and enthusiastic administration. We've found the teaching staff to be highly degreed and they care very deeply about my children's education by consistently pushing them to be better students. It's nice to drop my kids off at school and not be constantly worried about their education, safety, and well being. What a great family school and Parish! We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Wonder school on Wilmington Island. Small school environment with great student/teacher ratios. Family atmosphere and a lot of parent involvement. My child is happy to go to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

Great school - very challenging and comprehensive for my 6ht grader. Wonderful environment for Christian children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Best school in the area. I currently have two boys one who has been there since 2nd grade and the other from Kindergarten. A true community school that makes great people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Excellent school with excellent administrative and teacher support. So far it has been an excellent middle school experience. It has done an excellent job of preparing our 1 child for high school where she is doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

The school is a great size, with a class size being an average of 18 student per class. Everyone works together to make it a great school. The students and teachers take pride in the school by showing thier spirit. Children are challeged every day spiritually and academically. I would recommend this school to a friend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I think this school has hired a fantastic new leader in Sr Roberta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Two children at the school. Catholic education at it's best. School prayer/Mass is alive and well here! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I have been a St. Peter's parent for three years now, and I am very pleased, not only with the education my children get, but also with the religious instruction and the school's sense of community. Many of the parents are former St. Peter's students, so there's a strong sense of tradition at the school as well as a welcoming atmosphere for new families. Another benefit is that the school is a little off the beaten path, so it's not in a high traffic area. Getting kids to and from school is pretty safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

We have been a part of the family at St. Peter The Apostle for the past seven years and are immensly satisfied with the education that our children are receiving. The school is wonderful as well as the Parish. Everyone knows one another and we feel like one big family! I could not imagine what life would be like without St. Peter The Apostle. The school has a wonderful Principal and wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

Since starting at St Peters, there hae been a great number of changes for the better. we look forward to the continued improvement the new leadership is bringing to our family oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 44%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Helena Russell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA; Accredited by SACS and FCC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Savannah
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • St. Peter the Apostle Catholic School in Savannah, Georgia exists to provide a quality Catholic education based on Gospel values and the teachings of the Catholic Church. Following the traditions of the Sisters of Mercy, the school educates through a strong academic program and instills in its students a spirit of mercy, justice and loving concern.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Vincent's Academy
Benedictine Military School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7020 Concord Road
Savannah, GA 31410
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 897-5224

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Andrew's School
Savannah, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT