Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Peter The Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Our school is best known for our rigorous academics and faith based education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Savannah

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2009

St Peters has been the best place my child could be. Her teachers have been loving and all of the children care about each other. I feel she is being taught much more than she could learn at another school academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

My child has attended Pre-K, K, and 1st grade at St. Peter the Apostle School. I am thrilled with what she brings home from school. Her interest and skill in reading, writing and mathematics has grown well beyond what I've seen in her peers from other area schools. She also explores the arts and sciences. 'Respect' is a theme stressed in this school. She equates goodness and godliness. God is included in all school activities. Her teachers truely care about her. Parents are always welcome in school and class activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I am the parent of a St. Peter's graduate and have a child still at St. Peter's. Both children have benefited from the nurturing environment of the school. The teachers know the children and keep up with them from the time they enter Pre-K until after they graduate from high school. I feel that they are very prepared for high school no matter where they go. The school is like family, the teachers really care, and the atmosphere is like no other. I do not go to church there and did not go to school there yet I have never felt snubbed by anyone. I have always gotten a feeling of being welcomed and my children have loved the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The children that attend get a great education and belong to one big family. They care for one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I love St. Peter the apostle because they are our extended family - we are a very unique group - we are there for each other no matter what happens. We also no all the children by names - it is an awesome shcool - I have 2 that are 21 and 18 that are in college that graduated from St.Peters and now I have a 8 year old that loves following in his big brothers foot steps. Thanks Christina
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My children have attended St. Peters for 6 years. This school offers solid academics, christian catholic values and is unparalleled in terms of parental involvement. I highly recommend St. Peter's to anyone who wishes to place their children in a clam, christian, scholarly institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Wonderful school, great parents, great teachers, awesome children. Would not think of sending my child to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My son loves the CCD program - He thinks that the teachers are wonderful - He started out at the sunday school class and loved it and has continued on. Thanks Diane
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I am a tenured veteran at St. Peter the Apostle School to say the least. I have been through many administrative and teacher changes in my years as a SPA parent. Change is a part of life, but the one thing that has not changed is my positive opinion of St. Peter. I tell others it is a complete package - a strong education, a family-oriented school, a fair environment where the rules must be followed, and a Catholic school giving glory to God as the utmost principle. My oldest child graduated from SPA and was extremely prepared for high school. My two current students are constantly challenged to perform their best academically, and the weekly posting of grades and the parent communication envelope help parents stay informed of their children's progress. I am, and have always been, 110% satisfied with St. Peter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have 2 children who have already graduated from St Peter the Apostle and 1 that is still in Middle school. Both my high schoolers had a wonderful experience at St. Peters and are now thriving in there classes. They were both very well prepared when the left middle school, they have excellent study skills, and are both top of their class. Our youngest is also having a wonderful experience and I know will also leave St. Peters with a great education and many great friends. I love the sense of community we have at our school I would not give up the years we have had here. The teachers and staff are kind and loving and make the kids feel confident and special. I would recommend our school to anyone and everyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

St. Peter the Apostle School has a new principal and is making great strides. The teachers at St. Peter are very involved, hands on and provide a great academic atmosphere for the children. St. Peter's also offers a real sense of community and strong Catholic education. Class sizes are small which allows for individual attention to each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My three children have transferred from the Archdiocese of Washington to St. Peter the Apostle in Savannah. We were extremely surprised to learn that St. Peter was so far ahead scholastically. Although we have had to work extra hard, we are very pleased with the curriculum. Additionally, we have been warmly welcomed into the St. Peter family from the Parrish priests to the school nurse and everyone in between. Their superlative educational standards, generosity and their sincere dedication to help Gods children is unrivaled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have had 4 children attend St. Peter's over the past 16 years. My youngest child is currently enrolled there. The current faculty and staff are the best that I have seen over this entire period. The computer classes have really 'taken off' this year. My child is learning Excel and other programs that will benefit her now and in high school. I have had both boys and girls attend SPA. I have had the 'A' student and the 'needy' student. All have received an excellent education at St. Peter's and were well prepared for high school. All of my children participated in the sports program. Only in some of the girls' sports, did I encounter coaching problems. There are a few coaches who do play their friends' children before they will play the talented, athletic children. Academically, St. Peter's is the 'tops.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

No school is perfect but I can honestly say the I have loved SPA as have my children. My daughter was very well prepared for high school and I expect the same for my son. Our new principal is top notch and the school continues to grow and excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I currently have a 2nd and 4th grader. I have been very happy not only with the academics, but the extracurricular programs as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The one word I think of when I think of St. Peters is 'family'. If you want a school with high standards for education, Christian values, and respect for one another, this is the place you want to be. It is truely a place you feel comfortable leaving your child, similar to leaving your child at a family member's house. The faculty and administration care about each child and are willing to do what it takes for them to succeed in and out of the classroom. All of this is done on a strong Catholic foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

We, as a family, have been at SPA for 8 years now. Both of our children began in Pre-K. We love the community, the academics, the faculty and staff, as well as the tremendous parental involvement in the lives of these children. If you come check out SPA, you won't be sorry. Our new principal is our biggest cheerleader
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

SPA is teaching my child to be all that a Catholic young lady can and should be. My oldest was very well prepared for St. Vincent's Academy for high school. Parent involvement is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My child is receiving an excellent education at St. Peter the Apostle School. I am very confident that she is well prepared for high school. The teachers are wonderful, caring and nurturing and care about every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have two children at St. Peter's and could not be more satisfied. The new principal has really turned the school around in a positive way and my children absolutely love their teachers! They have both made such great friends and really enjoy going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 44%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Helena Russell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA; Accredited by SACS and FCC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Savannah
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • St. Peter the Apostle Catholic School in Savannah, Georgia exists to provide a quality Catholic education based on Gospel values and the teachings of the Catholic Church. Following the traditions of the Sisters of Mercy, the school educates through a strong academic program and instills in its students a spirit of mercy, justice and loving concern.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Vincent's Academy
Benedictine Military School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7020 Concord Road
Savannah, GA 31410
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 897-5224

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Andrew's School
Savannah, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT