Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Benedictine Military School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Savannah

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2012

BC is not for everyone, but for those who embrace the need for structure and an unmatched camaraderie, this is the place for you. BC is a legend in Savannah for a reason. A graduate from there is well positioned to enter college and be an upstanding young man no matter what life throws at him. It made me a much stronger person and put me into my dream college, a traditionally top 20 university, where I matched easily with students from all over the country. I still have BC men who are some of my best friends and no matter what, we would stand up for each other.


Posted July 30, 2011

Don't waste your hard-earned money at Benedictine like I unfortunately did. If you want your son to have a quality education, send your son to Savannah Country Day, where teachers there ACTUALLY teach EVERY DAY unlike at BC. Why waste your son's precious time with Benedictine Military School? The Guidance department only offers advice on their future endeavors to SOME, NOT ALL of the Senior's and Junior's. Now why would you send your son to a school that would REALLY do that? In conclusion, Benedictine Military School is an awful place to send your son to get a decent education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2011

I had 3 sons graduate from Benedictine, and we would do it all again! Benedictine gives students a quality education in college preparatory classes, while instilling leadership qualities to create strong young men. My sons began as freshmen unsure of themselves, and each graduated ready for college with beautiful scholarships. We owe that to their years at BC! It truly is a brotherhood that lasts forever. Many students are 3rd generation. Very unique for any school to have a legacy like that! Says something about the timeless quality of education it offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

It's a sacrifice for our family to send our son to BC, but it's well worth the money. The school focuses on the well-being of the cadets and though they are tough on the boys, it makes them into strong, confident young men. Sending our son to BC was one of the best decisions we could have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

My son had a lot of disiniplary problems, such as smoking using drugs he went to this fine academy and he was a wonderful young man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

This school turns your teen son in to a young man!! Love this school. I have 2 sons there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I was there for one year and the teachers were horrible. The kids were disruptive. Do not send your children there. The public shools in the area, especially Jenkins, are much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2008

My son is in his second year at BC and he and I absolutely love it. It was by far one of the best decisions I have ever made regarding my child's future. I am a single mother of 5 and my son is the only boy. He has had no stable male role model in his life and BC has provided him with tremendous male role models and the male commradery that every boy needs in his life. Although he has a wonderful loving family, there is no substitiute for male friendships and mentors. To all you mothers that are concerned your son will be treated tough and disrespectfully, I assure you that the structure and disciplined environment is full of respect and value for each and every student. I feel so fortunate that we are a part of the BC family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

My son is an upcoming Sophemore at BC. I just love everything about the school. A Principal who cares about 'all' students.A financial staff who are willing to work with you if you may for some reason fall behind on tuition, 'it happens to the best of us'. The teachers are easy to talk to, easy to reach. Just send an email and response within 24 hours. Online web site to check out your sons progress. No girls to distract them. After school tuitoring in every subject. Religious teachings. If your son plays sports, no 'special' attention. All students are treated the same. Learning is #1 priority, where sports is in some schools. I just Love BC, and will continue to sacrafice that my son gets the 'best education' possible
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 44%
Black 9% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Savannah
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6502 Seawright Drive
Savannah, GA 31406
Phone: (912) 644-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jenkins High School
Savannah, GA


Memorial Day School
Savannah, GA


Chatham Academy
Savannah, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT