Advertisement
Advertisement

Savannah Christian Prep

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2006

I am former student. My daughter has been a student for the past three years and attends first grade currently. The school overall is very good quality for money spent. The teacher quality is average. The attention to individual student needs is spread thin, I believe more emphasis needs to be placed in this area. Some of the teachers do not respond to email correspondence. Overall I am please with Savannah Christian. They are striving to improve daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2004

The academics are terrific, the students learn new concepts earlier than many other schools. However, they have a mediocre arts program. The athletics are teriffic, we have one of the best football teams in Savannah. The high school has a sufficient number of clubs and organizations. Savannah Christian is the type of school in which the teacher will teach something, and if one doesn't pick it up right away, he/she fall way behind. Because of this, many of the classes are fast-paced and are pretty productive. However, this school makes no allowances for kids who have AD/HD, or some other learning disability. Such kids are constantly berated by a few teachers who make no attempt to understand him.These teachers' solution to kids who are struggling is to point out their faults as opposed to being proactive. Gifted students thrive there, and have many more opportunities toexcel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

My oldest son went to scps for 4yrs I was very pleased on the education then as I am now. I have a son in pre-k 3. [He] likes school very much, the teachers are great as a matter of fact [he] has the same teacher [his brother] had. Highly recommended. Have a blessed day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I had 4 graduate from SCPS all completed college (UGA,Samford,2@Furman)with excellent grades & most important ontime. They were well prepared and now all have successful careers. SCP is like what the best of the old public schools used to be! Most important is it's spiritual development and discipline! I can highly recommend SCPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

SCPS focuses primarily on academic development and achievement. The teachers show a genuine concern for the students' performance. I would recommend this institution to anyone considering a quality education for their son or daughter.


Posted August 22, 2003

I went from kindergarten to 12th grade, and loved every minute~ it will always have a special place in my heart.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2003

My 9 year old has attended Savannah Christian since Pre-K and we absolutely love all that this school offers. Excellent, compassionate teachers, great curriculum, nurturing environment and diverse student population. I live in Southbridge which is a neighborhood just 5 minutes away from Sav. Christian and half our neighborhood sends their children to SCPS. We all love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 44%
Black 4% 40%
Asian 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Roger Yancey
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 2848
Savannah, GA 31402
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 234-1653

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT