Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Savannah Country Day School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Savannah

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2012

I am also in the seventh grade at SCDS. SCDS offers academic supremacy to any other schools in the area, and the test scores prove it. SCDS does NOT ruin one's childhood, but switching in the middle of school life may not be the best idea, since the academics do offer a challenge. While Country Day is known for academics, almost all sports and extra-curricular activities are offered. Teachers and leaders are constantly active in a student's life, offering multiple different views on learning, accommodating all kinds of students with different learning skills. Overall, SCDS is an education that cannot be overlooked by a parent or student searching the area for a school welcoming all students, offering academic challenges and guarenteed success, and many activities outside of school to keep a student well-rounded.


Posted October 19, 2009

I have been attending scds since i was 5, 12 years and i am now a sophomore and i love love love country day, my best friend was forced to be sent to savannah christian (due to costly tuition) and she wants to come back sooo bad, country day has a very warming environment and i can guarantee you anyone my age hasn't seen the best of it but we have had one of the most school spirited beginnings then i have seen in a long time. I would never switch anywhere else, and i can say my brother (an alumni) who is now at one of the most prestigous colleges without being an ivy league would say the same
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

I am a SCDS alum getting ready to graduate from college. Things I loved about it: Really knowing my classmates, being constantly challenged, wonderful classroom discussions, close relationships with teachers, being trusted. Things I disliked: studying more than I did in college, unexplained snobbery of some classmates (you'll know what I mean when you get there). Would I do it again? Absolutely! I really do miss it sometimes! However I'd give a piece of advice to future students: don't worry about grades- just enjoy your experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

Yeah i hate this school. It's terrible and no fun. I'm in seventh grade and Middle School at SCDS is not fun at all. It's work work work work. I guess it prepares you for the future but hey, i gotta have some time to be a kid!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

I love scds. it is a great school that teaches you what you need to know and really gets you ready for collage.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2009

Excellent teachers and curriculum-- especially the lower school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

Graduated from here and remain forever grateful. I continue to build upon the skills this school instilled in me from a very young age and allowed me to be several steps ahead of the rest.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

With one year under our belt, the jury is still out. The majority of the faculty and administration, that we have had the pleasure of meeting, are superb. Our children received a great over all education, however, it was not without drama (woes from the public school switch). I could write a lot of facts from incidents that would make a parent cringe but that would be out of character and mud slinging never solved anything. It is widely accepted at SCDS that you grin and bare or go elsewhere. We are betting our bottom dollar that everything else will catch up and be of the same quality as the education. We have an uncompromising faith in SCDS, the administration, faculty, staff, alumni, contributors and our fellow families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

SCD has a tremendous amount to offer students in the Savannah area. Its extremely challenging academically, has great supportive teachers, and wonderful extracurriculars. It is worth the money most of the time. However, the high cost of offering so much to students has left the school with 2 major problems. First, a lack of economic diversity in the student body (b/c of the high price tag) creates a snobbish environment that can be either contagious to previously humble kids or divisive in its creation of cliques exclusive of kids who don t ascribe to the entitled attitude. Second, reliance on wealthy families for contributions increases their influence on the school s administration. But having attended the school for 14 years I can honestly say that any challenges were worth it. They made me a better person, more secure in who I was. Bottom line: I am proud to be a CD alum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2008

My three children attended SCDS since pre-k. What a waste of time v, effeort and money. My oldest ,who is in his vfirst year of college felt totally unprepared for sciencec and math and stated that he hadn't ever enjoyed English until this year. He begged me not t6o send his vmiddle school brother there becausev he thought that his teachers were so bad. My daughter, who switched to St Andrews said that for the first time in her education she felt like she was being taught instead of teaching herself. For sixteen thousand dollars a year, i think that SCDS teachers should be held to held to a higher standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

As a recent graduate of the school (class of 2007), I can honestly say that SCDS was all that I could have hoped for in a high school. I absolutely loved it. And no, I wasn't the most popular, but I found my friends and I had a blast. The quality of the school was excellent. I now attend Columbia University in NYC and I have been very well prepared for my academic life here. The caliber of the teachers was superb at SCDS. Parents, I really wouldn't complain about the high tuition when your child attends college and is at the top of his/her class. Another commendable aspect of the school is the Honor Code. I could literally leave my bag anywhere and nothing would be stolen from it. There is a diverse number of ECs. I participated in everything from Crew to Quiz Bowl to The Informer.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 20, 2006

I've had two children attend SCDS (one has graduated; one is now in middle school, having attended for nine years). The positive aspects include the breadth of course offerings (many AP and AB classes in high school, multiple available languages, the mandatory fine arts exposure staring in elementary school, etc.), the athletic programs (including the strongest girls' program in the area, with many state titles in basketball, volleyball, soccer, golf and tennis, among others), degree of parental involvement (high) and the safety (there is a guard gate out front, and security patrol the school at all times). The negatives? High tuition, disappointing science and math instruction in high school, and an emphasis on the quantity of work at times (your children will have LOTS of homework!). SCDS is not for the academically average; students who would make A's at other Savannah schools make B's and C's here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

This school has turned out to be a bit of a disappointment for the extremely high tuition, and we will not be returning next year. They push academics that are very advanced (10-11th grade material in 8th grade), which is great if your kid is that accelerated, but not great for the merely above-average student. Everything has a high price tag, including after-school 'day care' for a teenager. We don't fit the affluent demographic there, and can only attend because of financial aid, so my child does not feel like she really fits in. The cliques are horrible, but the teachers are great. However, unless you're a prominent doctor or lawyer in Savannah, I'd recommend one of the other private schools and put away the 13K towards college. It's appalling that the public schools are so bad in Chatham county, and that private or homeschooling are the only options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

If you can get past the high tuition, the parents that think their kids aren't in the wrong when their kids haze other students or get caught with drugs on campus, and doing homework, projects, and studying all of the time, a great school. The athletic program is very competitive and one of the best parts of the school. Music and Fine Arts are superb. Teachers seem to be highly qualified for the most part.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2005

Savannah Country Day School is superior in all aspects of education. The promotion of fine arts as well as the moral aspect of the education prepares the child for many aspects of further educational opportunities as well as developing a solid citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

A good school in general. I only recommend this school if you are willing to put yourself through very expensive torture.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2004

The best school in a 100 mile radius.... unfortunately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Savannah Country Day encouraged and challenged my children! Not only did they learn facts and figures, but critical thinking skills and self expression through writing and art. My son and daughter were well prepared for college and the difficult personal choices all young adults encounter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Sent two sons here. Provided best available education in the southeast...maybe the country. Was worth the outrageous tuition.... whould do it again twice over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This is a great school. We are like a small community. Everyone works for the benefit of the kids. Parents and teachers are always striving to make it the best environment. Tuition is high and needs to cap off, but we are getting so much more than we could at the public level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 4% 37%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christine B. Garten
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (912) 920-7800

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

824 Stillwood Drive
Savannah, GA 31419
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 925-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hesse School
Savannah, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT