Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Memorial Day School 2

Posted March 01, 2014
- a parent
Our son goes to day care/pre-school. The teachers are nice but the kids watch too much t.v. throughout the day (disney movies, spongebob). There are 2 full-time teachers. If they are absent, ladies we don't know are taking care of the class. One teacher is out on maternity leave. The other teacher is good but they have another older lady substituting for the one on maternity leave. She seems clueless. When the teacher who is out was still working, the kids practiced tracing their letters and other learning activities. We had daily papers to take home of what the kids had done (tracing letters, numbers, etc.). Now that she is out we hardly see any of those activities. I don't know if it's because the substitute can't work with the children on that. Our son will be entering pre-k in September but we will be moving him to another school for these reasons. We don't want to move him to another day care just yet because it wouldn't be good for him to be moved now and then have to start pre-k in another school.
1 person found this helpful

Memorial Day School 3

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
While we really liked our son's teacher, I felt like the curriculum wasnt challenging enough. He came home everyday (and every week) with the same worksheets completed at school. The children also seemed to watch quite a few movies (unrelated to lessons) during schooltime. The teachers for the most part were approachable and seemed to care about their students but I dont feel as if the admistration was always the most professional. We stayed a year and decided to transfer elsewhere.
1 person found this helpful


Memorial Day School 5

Posted October 10, 2011
- a parent
As a parent, we came from another country and we found Memorial Day School as the best here in Savannah , people are kind, they require appropriate behavior of students and a very good curriculum. GREAT SCHOOL!!

Memorial Day School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of two alumni of Memorial Day School, I couldn't have found a better place for my kids. The teachers work with students on a one to one basis. They just don't flunk a kid because they can't do the work - the teachers work with each student so that they can be successful. My two are grown and doing wonderful thanks to this school. Once you get past the old exterior of the buildings you will find the heart and soul of the school is their caring staff. GREAT SCHOOL !!

Memorial Day School 1

Posted January 30, 2010
- a teacher
As a former teacher at this school, I have to disagree with some of these parents. Perhaps it is the high turnaround of staff, lack of funding, or general bad behavior of students....but take one unannounced walk around this school and you will see....
2 people found this helpful


Memorial Day School 4

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
The new headmaster lacks the ability to communicate and respect EVERYONE! The school principal is THE BEST! The AD is AWESOME! The teaching and communication with teachers have been great-the edline makes staying on top of a child effortless.

Memorial Day School 5

Posted December 20, 2008
- a parent
Memorial Day School has been a blessing! After much research and interviewing almost every private school in Savannah, we chose Memorial Day school as the best fit for our son's elementary experience. This school has a dedicated faculty that knows every student regardless of what class or teacher they have. The smaller class size really creates the perfect atmosphere for successful learning. The academic program is challenging, engaging and encourages students to excel. Even in this day and time of our economy, the tuition payments are money well spent. We wouldn't have it any other way! Thanks Memorial Day.....You're the Best!

Memorial Day School 4

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
Memorial Day School has a new Headmaster and he is a welcomed addition to the school. He is a retired Savannah public school principle that is dedicated and always available to parents for conferences/meetings and is very professional. Not only does he obviously have a degree in educaiton, but he also has a degree in music. The concert for Grandparents Day was exceptional. What wonderful talent. If you are searching for a small school with Christian values along with friendly teachers and a open door policy that encourages parent volunteers look no further. Memorial Day School is the best kept secret in Savannah.


Memorial Day School 0
no rating

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
Funny, it seems that the only negative reviews about this school come from some disgruntled students who have probably been tossed out because this school is all about proper behavior and a dedication in the classroom. Both of my children started in their wonderful daycare center at 6 weeks of age and graduated some years later. They are both successful and model citizens. The school enviornment is 'family oriented'. The teachers lover their job and often work with students before or after school at no charge to the parents while other schools charge for tutoring. Small class sizes; a fantastic school lunch program; dedicated, warm, loving teachers with a passion for teaching. Memorial Day School might be the best kept secret in Savannah - it is an awesome school.

Memorial Day School 1

Posted August 07, 2008
- a student
Horrible teacher quality. Poor teaching enviroment and lack of motivation from the staff and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Memorial Day School
6500 Habersham Street, Savannah, GA  31405
(912) 352-4535
Last modified Memorial Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Memorial Day School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top