Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bible Baptist School

Private | PK-12 | 325 students

Our school is known for its family-first approach towards education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Savannah

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2014

Bible Baptist School is an accredited private Christian school. My experience has been with the lower school. Every year they are making changes to the curriculum. Changes that make their academic program stronger than many other schools in the area at a much lower cost. They are doing away with the outdated and boring abeka curriculum that many other schools in the area continue to use and are instead implementing curriculum with much more current and challenging material. The teachers are either licensed or currently working on their license. The classrooms need some renovations and lack any sort of technology which is an issue. They also do not offer all the specials that you would typically expect including art and computers. They do however offer library, Spanish, music, and pe. Many parts of the campus have been renovated including the addition of a school cafeteria and all asbestos has been successfully removed by professionals. I gave this school an average rating because while their academics are stronger than most schools in the area they lack renovated classrooms, technology, and some specials. I will say though that the academics are most important!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

Clearly some of these reviews were written by "disgruntled" parents who probably did not get their way. I have two children who have attended BBS for the last 6 years and we have loved it. Is the school perfect? Of course not, NO school is. But they are clearly excelling in all the areas that matter. It is an accreditted, college prep school where the teachers not only are qualified, but also genuinely love the students. They just had a major campus renovation and the facilities are safe and beautiful(and they eat lunch in a cafeteria NOT a gym). The curriculum is challenging(which I love) and my kids workload, at times, seems a little heavy. But at least I know what they are doing in class! It has many sports offerings for the older students, but could use a few more other, non-sport, extracurriculars(they have some). I would encourage any parent to VISIT the school for yourself and see why we love it so much. I don't think you will be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

I went to this school I liked it . Its different because I went to Memorial Day School and I liked it but my brother went and graduated from Memorial and the other calvary all three are good schools.


Posted April 18, 2011

Im telling anyone who is considering this school do not go. Teachers cant handle the kids the right way. Students get bullied and harassed almost every day. Just take one announced look around the school and you will see what i mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

My child switched from Calvary to Bible Baptist simply for the reason that Calvary, by middle school, had become something of a country club rather than a safe and comfortable environment for my child to learn in. Bible Baptist is great in that it's diverse and 'real' as it compares to the real world our children will eventually be thrust into. That being said, you have to take the bad with the good. They only this year implemented Accelerated Reader, a program that has been in the public school system and most other private schools for many, many years. My child repeated a great deal of what she had learned the prior year, her first year at BBS. It's education is certainly not up to other schools' standards. Last observation that I wish someone had shared with me: they have lunch in their un-air-conditioned gym. There is no lunchroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

The curriculum is satisfactory, & children with very involved parents can excel at Bible Baptist. They have many involved parents. That (rather than the teachers or administration) is the reason for any success, in my opinion. I've never experienced a teacher/member of the administration go out of their way for a parent or child as you would expect in a private Christian school environment (except parents who are close friends with the teachers). The large class sizes cause problems that are often overlooked by the staff. The administration does not seems to value parent suggestions as they might suggest. I was either shown little compassion, or given a lot of fast talk by the administration. The facilities are sub par, & could be a lot cleaner. There is no lunchroom. The children eat in a gym. There is asbestos somewhere in the buildings, although it is made known to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I had 3 children who graduated from BBS. From 2nd gr to their senior year my children excelled academically, spiritually & socially. I have nothing but praise for the school and the faculty. They were prepped for college as well as life. I challenged parents to send their children to BBS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have had two children attend and have both made deans list at Armstrong University. The christian leadership that the teachers offer as well as the genuine love is not found in most schools today. I have seen a lot of our students who have become teachers go back to Bible to teach. That says a lot for a school if students return as teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 37%
White 48% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 6% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 3% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steven Kyle
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (912) 352-9830

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Prayer Groups
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 90%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 6%
Workforce - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 Skidaway Rd
Savannah, GA 31404
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 352-3067

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hancock Day School
Savannah, GA


Myers Middle School
Savannah, GA


Johnson High School
Savannah, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT