Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 760 students

Our school is best known for our wonderful teachers, programs, and students.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2012

My daughter has been going there since 3rd grade and it is great. it also depends what teacher you get. Some are better than others. My son is attending PreK and it is amazing how much he has learned there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

This school is the worst school that we have ever been involved with! Being a military family we have been to many schools but I must say that after only a few months, my sons self esteem was at an all time low, the teachers and the administration could care less about the children. We immediately pulled him out of the school after several confrontations with the staff, he is now doing extremely well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

I have two , one just finshed fourth grade and the other first grade. I must say the teachers do care about the work and education they provide to all students. I know because my kids attended Southwest all their lives. There are some parents, who you just can't satisfy no matter what the administrators do or not do. I have been "on guard " to place my kids in private school each year just in case, not because of the staff there but the demographic of families moving to this location. There are alot of parents who do not accept the responsibilities of being educator themeselves at home and this effects the whole aspect of school enviornment. I hope the staff at Southwest realize the importance of their work and I really appreciate them very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

my son has been attending this school since kindergarten and this year he will be going into 3rd grade. We love it, All of the teachers have been wonderful! He is in the search program. And is excelling in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

We are a military family; our kids have been to many different schools. This one is by far the worst. My daughters' teacher yelled at students if they answered a question wrong, and criticized them as well. I witnessed this on several occasions. The office staff were not friendly at all. I felt very uncomfortable from the first day. My child came home in tears every day, and said she would be yelled at if she didn't know an answer. This from a child who is an A student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

My son has been in Southwest Elementary since first grade and it is a good school. The reading and math tutorials and CRCT camp help my son pass all of the CRCTs. He is now in the fourth grade and doing very well. He has had good teachers but two particularly stood out, Ms. K. Bragg, his-second grade teacher and Mrs. Wambold, his speech teacher. Both of these teachers go above and beyond the call of duty. Ms. Bragg was willing to stay a little later so that I could pick my son up from CRCT camp on my lunch hour. My son has excelled under Mrs. Wambold s realm; she makes sure he has all that is offered to him as a hearing impaired student. She is beyond dedicated to her students. It is because of her I learned about the reading and math tutorials. Parents get involved, be proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

As far as knowing what problems go on in the school. The school has no clue they wait till something big happens and then they contact the parents. The school needs to look a little closer at what's going on in the classroom. Teachers don't let you know your child is not doing well in school. You have to see that on the report card. The school can do better so can the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I have two children who attend this school. My oldest is now in 2nd grade. My next is is kindergarten. Both of them had Mrs. Grier, who is an excellent teacher. Mrs. Parmer was my oldest's first grade teacher and was absolutely wonderful. My eldest is in the search program and stays on the high honor roll every year. My next will be tested in May for the search program. I think this is an excellent school. They are very concerned about safety, and discipline at this school. My eldest daughter's second grade teacher needs a little improvement on social skills concerning her students, but other than that, I feel that this school is wonderful. The teachers and staff are always concerned about the students. Parents, however need to be more involved. I am one of those parents, but unfortunately, I still have two small children at home, till next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

This is the 3rd year my son is attending this school and I only had positive experiences during interaction with the teachers and staff at the school.I have great admiration for all the staff who teach our children from multicultural backgrounds,different social environments etc. The level of education is on par and even better comparing with other schools. I am very impressed with the degree of discipline maintained and the guidance our children receive to prepare them for the future. Thanks to all the dedicated staff who give their best to educate, guide and prepare our most precious children for the future. Comparing my son's academic achievement to those in private schools I am pleased to say he displays more academic knowledge ,positive social skills and discipline making him a very well rounded child.Thank you Southwest Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

They dont want you to catch the problems that the children complain about.There are a few there that does care but only 4 or 5. Mrs. Rulan being a very loving teacher and works very hard on teaching her students on their level so they can catch up and exceed!mrs. Sutton is another teacher that does work with the parents and students .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

Excellent school. My children have been very well educated at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

the fourth grade made up for the third but only becasue of a wonderful teacher Mrs. Bostick you are a diamond- the administration is awful.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

My son is going into his 3rd year at this school. Both years were awesome. He has learned more than you can imagine. I can testify that the bad remarks placed on this school are from parents that put zero effort in to teaching their children at home and think that the teachers should be able to do everything in 7 hours. I have found that all of the teachers and staff care very much for the children and are very concerned with their well being. My son is the youngest child in his class, starting at age 4 and is far more advanced than all the children I know that are in the same grade at other Savannah schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

This is the worst school I have ever been involved with. My son is in the third grade and it has been a horrific experience. For a child who always loved school, students, learning, and administrators - he dreads going to school. Parental involvment is discouraged. He has learned nothing this year - instead of progressing he has regressed. The school is a very stressed environment. In speaking with other parents, I received concensus on the issue. I have let my child down, by placing him in this school, I hope he is able to recover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

I have been very pleased with this school. My grandson has had a wonderful education at Southwest Elementary School. Most of the people working there are so concerned about the students and are polite.


Posted July 30, 2003

My child attended 1/2 year of kindergarten and first grade at Southwest Elementary. It was the most horrible school you could ever imagine! The teachers could care less about the kids. They stress over little things and don't put enough emphasis on the important things. And when I called the principal to discuss my concerns I was told '....if you don't like it you are free to withdraw your child and place him in another school.' I am so glad I no longer have to send my child to this school. It is sad that he had to start his first school experiences off like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

145 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

145 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

145 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

110 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

110 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

110 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 37%
White 31% 44%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title I School of Distinction (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Ann Hancock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (912) 961-3312

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School bus
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
760
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
240

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Southwest Middle
Oglethorpe Charter
STEM Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6020 Ogeechee Rd
Savannah, GA 31419
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 395-3301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Butler Academy
Savannah, GA


Georgetown School
Savannah, GA


First Christian Academy
Richmond Hill, GA


Calvary Christian Academy
Richmond Hill, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT