Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oglethorpe Charter School

Charter | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

Simply the best middle school in Savannah, G.A. in all terms and aspects. Excellent-professional teachers, administration, and IEP group. The curriculum is exceptional and competitive, just can't be better. As a mother of an Aspergers student, I recommend this school all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

This school has restored my faith in public education! I love, love, love it!!! My son was previously in the Hawaii public school system and spent a year at Georgetown. Both were terrible experiences. He was so lucky to have been chosen in the lottery! The teachers at OCS are dedicated, the administrative staff is warm and professional and the school environment is overwhelmingly positive. Of course, no school is without flaws but this one comes pretty close to the best school I have ever experienced. I think the major component to the school's success is parent involvement and communication among teachers, administration, students and parents. This is a MUST in a successful school. If students know that both parents and teachers care about them, they are more likely to succeed. Thank you OCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

This is an amazing school! We were in private school before 6th grade and it didn't even come close to comparing to Ogelthorpe! Absolutely wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!! Very academic, rewards good behavior and good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

My daughter is a seventh grader at OCS. She is going to be more than prepared for high school. The teachers are excellent and demand the same from their students. Best middle school in Chatham County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My daugher is a sixth grade student. I am impressed with the leadership and most of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I am completing year ten as a teacher at OCS. We are the only middle school in Chatham county that does not have a security officer! Parents, students, and teachers form a strong triad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

We get to try innovative experiments, and techniques that are proven by research to work, and it shows in our student achievement. We are not bound to district or state 'rules' and can operate freely. We know our students and adapt education to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

ocs is a great school. They are very hard on the students though. and there is a lot of homework. but i can say that i think that i will be very prepared when i enter high school next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

I have been a substitute teacher at Oglethorpe. The teachers and the administration are exceptional. The previous comment, however, regarding politics among the staff, admin and teachers was a concern of mine. I don't think it affects the superior quality of the education offered. But if the issue of teacher turnover is true, which I suspect it is, considering the teachers I have known to leave, I can understand. I don't understand the internal politics at Oglethorpe, but I don't think it's something I would enjoy on a daily basis as a permanent teacher, trying to behave in a friendly, objective manner.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 15, 2008

I luv my school!! it is surely a school of excellence !! the students are excellent compared to other diappointing middle schools in the county. the teachers are great at teaching the students great education and discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

an AWESOME school!! llots of extracurricular activities and the perfect school to attend if you want to go to Savannah Arts Acadamy!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2006

I have had 2 daughters go through OCS and I am wanting to send 2 more. Great School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Academic programs are great. There is a large selection of extracurricular activities for the kids. The parental involvement is mandatory, but this is also what attracts parents to the school also. The school needs a new building and/or a new location. Students have to walk down the street, through a busy intersection, and 1/2 a block to a church for school assemblies. The building is old and the science room has a hole in the ceiling. The band room is actually located in a corner of the cafeteria. The cafeteria is so small that groups of kids have to take turns taking lunch, so they end up eating lunch at different times. The area in which the school is located is questionable. Were it not for the issues with the physical setting of this school, I'd give it a grade of 100 percent. The teachers are phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

I have had two children graduate from Oglethorpe. They were extremely well prepared for high school. Academically, it is superior thanks to involved parents, motivated students, innovative staff and dedicated teachers. Yet, I found that politics intensified during our four years there. This has caused many gifted teachers to leave. I personally feel that if all is well, then there will be a dramatically reduced teacher turnover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

I am a teacher at Oglethorpe now, but have been marginally involved with the school from its inception. I believe the parent who mentioned the politics in the previous review would be please to know that this is being resolved. Oglethorpe is an excellent school with an excellent and dedicated staff and will become even better as the staff and student body become even more diversified. The focus is shifting so that the needs of ALL students are being addressed. Parent involvement and the code of conduct are crucial pieces in the success of this school. I would not teach in another middle school in Chatham County.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

I have been very pleased with my choice for middle school. I have a child that attended 7th and 8th grade and was very prepared for high school. My other child is in the 3rd year at Oglethorpe...Parent participation is very important to make a school successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

Oglethorpe is an extremely good alternative to most public schools. I feel that the concept of this charter school is excellent, the teaching ability over all is above average, the discipline is pretty good. My one negative observation is that there are too many politics involved to be totally fair to all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 56% 37%
White 30% 44%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 42%N/A51%
Female 58%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

707 Stiles Ave
Savannah, GA 31415
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 395-5075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Notre Dame Academy
Savannah, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT