Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pulaski Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

I luv my school. It was so fun. 5th grade was the best we went on a overnight trip at the 4H center it was awesome. I will never forget u Pulaski even though I am going to Middle School This year.


Posted April 5, 2014

The school is brand new. The principle is new and has great ideas that have been implemented and has brought the school the highest standard of education. GEP program is excellent. Dr. Simmons, a 4th grade teacher is the best teacher ever. She has helped my children to discover science and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

Excellent school best teachers,is a new building, My children have great success with Dr. Simmons. Overall it is a great public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

I have loved the new Pulaski Elementary since it got moved closer to base. The teachers are awesome (at least the ones my children have had). Ms. Foley, Ms. Busbee, Mrs. Thompson and one of their new additions Mrs. Manning have been super great with my children. Class to teacher ratio for kindergarten was a little off this year but the addition of a few more teachers and the super quick adjustment period for my child was amazing. Thanks so much to these awesome teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

This was a great elementary school. I went from prek-5. I loved all of my teachers, and all of my peers were friendly. My favorite part was recess. Many people don't know how fun a big field really is. We ran up the dirt hill, tried to climb the tree, and played dodgeball almost every day. The new building doesn't seem as fun, since there is none of what made the old building fun like the outdoorness. It was dangerous but fun and we didn't mind. I will always remember my best friends and cherish the memories.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2013

My son went here last year. I moved out of their district to avoid this school. He was diagnosed with ADHD and impulsive issues. He also had an IQ score of 130. His teacher felt that she knew better than the psychologist. She would deny everything and rarely documented even though he started the IRT. She would get defensive easily and I caught her lying at meetings. The assistant principal never told the principal of the meetings we had and the issues that were discussed. I met him toward the end of the year, and he apologized for all this. But an apology doesn't help my son, it doesn't undo the scapegoating he had to enduring during the year. His school this year felt that he was a year behind socially, because his Pulaski teacher stuck him in a corner alone for most of the year. Maybe for an average, typical, what society concerns the normal child, this school will be good. But add a bit of difficulty into the equation and the school just can't handle it, or maybe they don't want too...I'm not sure which.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

My son has autism & ADHD but the school is fighting me that he needs any special education services...we just got more documentation that he needs help from his dr & therapist but still this is not good enough. If you have a special needs child this is NOT the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

I think the teachers are actually pretty good! My older daughter has attended k and first grade here and both of her teachers were great! My younger daughter is now in Pre k and her teacher is AMAZING! However, the school is in a questionable part of town, old and very out dated. The problem doesn't lie with the teachers, but with the administration. Someone mentioned that there would be a DoD school opening on base. This is part true. The school will be on base grounds, however it will not be considered a DoD school. They will have students from both on and off base attending. There are some concerns for this, but I do hope it works out well. I would rate the school three stars and the teachers five stars, the teachers that we have had (Ms. Deal, Ms. Kaplan and Ms. Ansley) have been absolutely amazing and would not want any ill rating to reflect their teaching ability. Perhaps the rating will change with the new building? As the classrooms will be more secure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

Best Teachers in the State of GA, My son has attened Pulaski from pk-5th . This is the Only school that I have seen that treats Parents and Students like Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

I only have three things to say about this school and three things only.... BAD ... A$$ ... KIDS!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 31, 2007

The security is terrible and the facilities are horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

The school is old, and I don't like that the entrances to the classrooms are accessible to pretty much anyone since they're leading to the outside. The lunchroom is really small so lunch has to start really early for some kids so that everyone can eat. I haven't had any issues with my child having to switch classes, and he was assigned a good teacher. I don't like that my ID isn't checked when I sign out my son. This is our first year here, so my opinion is new. I'm neither really happy nor really disappointed in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I dont know what everyelse is talking about I think this school is great. My child has learned so much. Her kindergarden teachers was also switched twice but a month after school started she had a permanent teacher who was awesome! Everytime I walk onto the campus I did not see any out of control kids, I see teachers walking up and down the hallways montioring them. And kids need discipline thats why so many out outta control in there teens, they need that, parents should not be the only ones to discipine and teach them right from wrong!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

Teachers seem to be easily irritated w/ the kids, and quick to discipline. I don't like the no talking in the lunchroom rule. Very little parent involvement. Not in a great area. Old school w/ all classrooms having outdoor entrances. Anyone can enter the campus, although you are supposed to sign in. Kindergarten teacher was great. Got my child caught up. The next year, my child had 3 different teachers, due to 'over crowded classrooms, and test scores'. I think they could have chosen another child instead of moving mine that many times. No playground equipment for the older children, just a big field. However, Office staff, and lunch ladies are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

i am not to thril with the school. the students are out of control and the school is not a very safe area. my son is scared to go to school daily because of the way the kids act and how unruly they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

94 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

94 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

100 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 37%
White 29% 44%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kamal Piankhi
Fax number
  • (912) 303-6473

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5330 Montgomery St
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone: (912) 395-6466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rambam Day School
Savannah, GA





Memorial Day School
Savannah, GA


Calvary Day School
Savannah, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT