Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Ellis Montessori Academy. I am pleased with the welcoming school atmosphere and the Montessori method of learning. His teachers are enthusiastic and there is an active PTA group.

Ellis Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ellis Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a teacher
Charles Ellis Montessori Academy is a public school that has the most knowledgeable and caring staff around. Each teacher works well beyond the school day to ensure that students get exactly what they need to be successful in the classroom and beyond.

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
This school is outstanding! It is truly the only public school alternative we considered. I have had one child go all the way through, and have two more are attending now. While the school may not score the highest around on standardized tests, it turns out exceptionally well-rounded children. You can tell which children were there all the way through Middle School as their confidence, behavior, manners, and dedication are all far better than their peers. Each of my three children have had different areas of strength and all have been addressed well. Even my one child with learning challenges has seen enormous break-throughs. I could not be happier with our experience!

Ellis Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ellis Elementary School 4

Posted December 30, 2008
- a parent
Ellis' size, the dedication of teachers/staff and a lack of transience sets this school apart. Students are not accepted into the school past 3rd grade without previous Montessori experience. As a result the kids know each other and there is very little in the way of discipline problems. My husband and I both have post graduate degrees and have high expectations for our child's education. While the school does not score the highest overall on standardized tests, many students do. Our 7th grader scores 98% and up on national tests. Ellis' enrollment reflects the population it serves, a significant portion low income and a significant portion well-educated, middle class. The diversity, academics and sheltered nature of this school makes it quite appealing to a very active group of parents who use Ellis as an alternative to private school. Yes, it's cramped with limited facilities but it's a neighborhood school with heart!

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
Charles Ellis is one of the best public schools in the state. The Montessori curriculum not only teaches them the Georgia standards, but expands their base of knowledge beyond the expectations. The teachers are amazingly dedicated, willing to spend hundreds of dollars of their own money and work overtime for the equivalent of weeks without overtime pay. While there is a need for more space (a multi-purpose room which serves as a gym, cafeteria, and assembly room), the staff goes out of their way to secure better locations (the beautiful annual opera is held at the arts school a few blocks away, and a few productions are held outside, adding to the ambiance.) The classrooms are a bit overcrowded, but it is important to remember that this is a public school. The middle school program is excellent. The students leave enriched with knowledge, courteous, and prepared for life.

Ellis Elementary School 3

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
Georgia ranks somewhere between the top 2 or 4 worse states for public education (competing with Mississippi & Alabama) so, compared to that, it's not bad. The classrooms are small; tutoring has to get done in the hallways; the music & 'gifted' classrooms are nice but, extremely overcrowded w/kids heads actually touching. There is a multi-purpose cafeteria which doubles as a 'theater.' There is zero ambiance for school performances; no stage, no curtains, no dressing rooms, no special lighting, only bright white fluorescent lights and cafeteria tables. We'd like to help but, feel unwelcome.


Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2006
- a student
Our school is SO CRAZY AWESOME! We go to middle school here, and most of us have been coming since kindergarten. The teachers are really great, and make learning fun!

Ellis Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2006
- a parent
If your looking for the best public school in Savannah, this is it! This is our son's second year at Ellis and he loves it and so do we.They have a great program going and our son is doing very well. The principal , Mr. Charles is wonderful! Keep up the good work! This is the best alternative to a private school in the city.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ellis Elementary School
220 E 49th St, Savannah, GA  31405
(912) 395-5470
Last modified Ellis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ellis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top