Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Windsor Forest High School

Public | PK, 9-12 | 1217 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

This is the better of the schools in the district but I would never send another child there. They are defiantly not a military friendly school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

School needs help! My son graduated from Windsor in 2008. My daughter went there from 2007-2010. I transferred her out of Windsor for her senior year due to the increased lack of respect that some of the students had towards teachers and other students. The school lost a great principle, and band director last year and another band director who left I believe in 2008 and transferred to another school. Once the school buckles down and takes care of the deliquents and disrespect, it can become a great school again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I am a senior here at WFHS and have been attending it all 4 years. I Love it. The teachers take the innitiative to motivate the students and make sure their doing what they are supposed to be doing. I must say though, that the staff, especially the principle and the assistant principle, focus too much on what we look like rather than our academics. Many students end up leaving school early, going to ISS or returning to class late because of a shirt untucked or no ID. Its ridiculous. But like I said I love the school and I would recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2006

Winsor Forest high school is the best school in chatham county! I had an experience there and I loved it it's the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2006

WFHS is a very good school. The standards required are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

WFHS is one of the best in Chatham County, but the county's school system is horrible. The faculty worry more about how the students look more than how they are doing with academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2006

WFHS is definitely one of the best public high schools in the Savannah-Chatham County Public School System. The staff and faculty are dedicated to providing local students with a high-quality education. There are the occasional fights and behavioral problems- things that you would normally associate with an inner-city high school. The extracurricular involvement is relatively poor. Students here do not seem overly motivated to participate in many activities. Parental support is also a huge issue. Teachers and administrators are constantly trying to figure out ways to improve the dwindling relationships between the teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2005

I was very worried about sending my daughter whom has been very shelterd her whole life to Windsor Forest High School. She loves it, I know have 2 daughters there. THe staff and principles are great. Thanks to all of their hard work. I even shadowed my 9th grader last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Windsor Forest High School is one of the better public schools in the area. Many people base where they live on the quality of this school. Most of the teachers are very good and demand alot from the kids who go here. I believe with better funding, WFHS could be one of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

181 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

178 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

182 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

180 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
49%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 37%
White 24% 44%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carol Kibbey
Fax number
  • (912) 961-3422

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12419 Largo Dr
Savannah, GA 31419
Phone: (912) 395-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT