Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
If you stay I touch with the Intermezzo - the principal will review the changes with the School Council at the December or January meetings. This is exactly what parents have been asking for and he will hopefully deliver with good news. We are also excited to see how SAA and Garrison ate collaborating more and more.

Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
just saw Legally Blonde at Savannah Arts. it was really slow, the actors shouted all their lines and the singing was off key. the girls were shrill and the boys were precious. what has happened to the school?
12 people found this helpful


Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
We disagree, quite a bit of Legally Blonde was on key. Yeah, LB has all the depth of TMZ, but Sav Arts has decided to go for empty calories rather than quality. We don't want to go through another Sav Arts re-admissions audition, so we're going to interview at Saint Andrews and go to a quality program instead.
6 people found this helpful

Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
Some parents reviews seem upset. It's true that the administration doesn't care at all about acting, but that's just the way it is. Replacing the acting kids chance to shine with yet another fluffy musical is a slap in the face to students who want to act, but they'll just have to deal with it. Honestly, we're all here really to avoid the other public schools anyway, the arts thing is just a blind. The administration's treatment of the acting program this year has totally turned my son off acting which I personally think is great. The last thing I want is for him to try an acting career (I don't want him to throw his life away as a waiter). Anything that SAA does to disillusion and discourage him from acting is fine by me. As for the rumor they're going to make nonmusical theater kids leave the school, I asked a mom in the know and she said it's not for sure yet.
14 people found this helpful

Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
If there are students who want to act why don't they get a faculty advisor and start an acting or theatre club? They could do a bunch of challenging short bare-bones plays, something besides the usual SAA pablum. The music students do concerts all the time, shouldn't the theatre students be doing plays all the time? You know, actually acting? I don't mean the Thespian Society, which has its own mission as an honor/leadership society (and about as much to do with real acting as the FBLA).
14 people found this helpful


Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
Word is going around that apparently the Theater major is being replaced by a Musical Theater major starting 2015. Vocal majors who wish to can transfer to this program. Current Theater majors will have to pass a vocal audition in Spring 2015, or they will need to return to their home high schools.
12 people found this helpful

Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Good school, but unlike most fine arts high schools, it does not have separate Musical Theater and Theater majors. (You can see complaints about this below.) They really should have two different programs, because they're two different skill sets, two different learning curves, and two different performance vehicles. Now that the school has shifted over to be completely Musical Theater, a separate Theater track needs to be created if Savannah Arts is seriously trying to present itself as a comprehensive fine arts high school.
13 people found this helpful

Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a teacher
I find it interesting that this website allows information that is inaccurate and untrue - see the posting from June 12, 2013. For instance, one of the people reviewing the school states that students are thrown out of the school if they do not maintain their grades. Since the recent principal arrived, this practice has not occurred. In fact, students have not been thrown out of the school for failing courses for the past 8 years. A open records request was made by a citizen in Chatham County and this was found to be correct. There have been several students who have left the school on their own as a result of failing courses. Teachers have never been fired for doing their jobs. The reviewer is correct in stating the building is in bad shape. Mold, broken windows due to their age, etc. This is something the current administration is working on. However, SCCPSS Building Services has to address those issues. These concerns do not cause bad immune systems. Apparently, the reviewer didn't pay attention in biology!
1 person found this helpful


Savannah Arts Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Academically fine, Savannah Arts Academy is NOT the school for a student who wants to learn acting. The Theater program has been turned into an exclusively Musical Theater program. Savannah Arts Academy no longer does legitimate theater, just big schlocky musicals: all singing, all dancing, no acting of any depth. Savannah Arts Academy provides ZERO opportunity for students who are interested in serious acting: better options are Savannah Country Day's and Saint Andrews' theater programs.
13 people found this helpful

Savannah Arts Academy 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
I think it's interesting that the person below has a masters degree and thinks public school is free. the school rates higher because it takes only the smartest kids in the district- and if you read the comments the student discusses the poor state of the building and the high incidence of student sickness-" so do your work" - really? While most teachers at this school are fabulous there are still some major problems here that the administration continues to not address It's also interesting how so many negative comments about this school are deleted

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Savannah Arts Academy
500 Washington Ave, Savannah, GA  31405
(912) 395-5000
Last modified Savannah Arts Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Savannah Arts Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top