Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Andrew's School

Private | PK-12 | 500 students

The differentiators are global competency, sustainability, and island identity.
 
 

 

Living in Savannah

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

St. Andrew's was selected as the most challenging private school in the nation by The Washington Post.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

My son is a new 9th grade student at St. Andrew's this year and we have been EXTREMELY happy with the school. My son is an excellent student interested in studying medicine so when we moved to Savannah we were foolish and only looked at what was considered the "best" private school here. It was such a disappointment for numerous reasons (I'll save that for another review) that we moved our son to St. Andrew's after the first month of the school year and have never regretted it. My son was immediately welcomed into the St. Andrew's community by peers and by the faculty, and has enjoyed school ever since. My husband and I were impressed with how the school immediately assessed my son's abilities and worked with us to design the perfect curriculum for him that looked not only into freshman year classes but to where he would want to be academically for his senior year. The teachers made themselves available to help him catch up to the other students and have continued to be available both before and after school. I love that St. Andrew's has an amazing curriculum and is also flexible to meet a student's particular interests, it also has excellent college counseling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2013

In 5th grade, my principal asked me to leave Blessed Sacrament school, as they did not offer a curriculum that was advanced enough to suit my need. Thus, I became enrolled at St. Andrew's and shocked by the new independence granted from thy teachers. The school is unique for the opportunity each student is granted, the opportunity to mold their own educational experience. The school, particularly the extracurriculars, are a product of student demand and initiative. I personally have taken advantage of the freedom, as I formed the first girls cross country team at the school. In doing so I developed my discipline and work ethic so that my idea of a team would become a reality. In its first year, the team consisted of only two members, yet the program has flourished, this year's team finishing as the Runner Up in the GISA State Meet. This single success is indicative of the community as a whole, in which students are given the ability to shape their experience. This privilege is not ignored, but rather flexed by the entirety of the student body, resulting in a passionate, and therefore successful, collection of young adults.


Posted November 7, 2013

St. Andrew''s consists of a family aspect and challenging academics. The past few years we have integrated technology into the classroom and this is one of the best decisions St. Andrew''s has ever made. It is important for education to move along with the outside world and 21st teaching/technology. That is exactly what SAS has done and I think it has benefitted everyone in a positive way. St. Andrew''s also uses IB (international baccalaureate) instead of AP. It provides a more challenge to the students, which is what I really look for. We are a small school, which is very beneficial in the classroom. You get one on one time with the teacher, so what appears to be very difficult concepts become a little easier because of the amount of help and extra time we get with the teachers. St. Andrew''s not only has great academics, but we do have a great sports program. We have a no cut policy so anyone and everyone can play any sport they would like. I really like this because it gives each student an opportunity to try something they might not get to at another school. At St. Andrew''s, you tend to eventually know everyone and it brings us a lot closer, which I love about my school.


Posted November 4, 2013

St. Andrew''s school is absolutely DEDICATED to an individualized student approach by embracing its small-school, island identity. The faculty, staff, and students also engage in activities geared toward global competencies through 21st century teaching and learning and integrated technology. Committed to sustainable practices, the school is an Apple Distinguished institution with iPads and MacBook Airs for all students in grades 5-12 reducing textbook load and paper consumption. Knowledge is built upon skills--collaboration, communication, creativity, critical-thinking and problem-solving, and character. The curriculum focuses on preparing students for a dynamic future rather than static content and as an International Baccalaureate Diploma Program, students ask the "why" behind information, routinely get accepted to the highest tier of colleges and universities, and engage as members of a global community. The IB program is HIGHER level and open access. Unlike other local public schools with IB, all students are able to enroll in the IB and the school emphasizes the highest rigor level of the program, rather than the lowest.


Posted November 4, 2013

St Andrew's is a place that we and our children are proud to call our own every day. Involved staff, faculty and parents make it a destination for families all over Savannah, GA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

This school was great, they took me in after Country Day asked me to leave due to my academics (5th grade). I attended Saint Andrews until i graduated in 2010. I was accepted to a university with an awesome SEC football team. Without Saint Andrews i would have been forced into Chatham County's excuse for public school and likely would not have made it to college.


Posted August 22, 2012

This is the very best school in Savannah! My son has been there for four years and each year we have been so very happy with everything! loving, kind, thoughtful teaching. Nothing else to say!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

Simply an inclusive, happy, well thought out slice of paradise to send our children to for a great education. Our 2 lower school children are happy every day to go to Saint Andrews and we are thrilled with their commitment to both a 21st century education and the development of a well rounded person. Looking past the fact that every student gets an IPAD the real benefit to this school is the small community like atmosphere. Familiar and smiling faces abound, children are well cared for, and with the small class sizes our children get the attention they need to succeed. When we moved to Savannah we looked at all the local schools and ended up moving again to Wilmington Island to be near Saint Andrews. If you are looking for a great school in Savannah you would be doing your children a disservice to overlook this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2010

Parents are very involved. The school offers so much to the students with very attentive staff and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

St. Andrew's has been such a positive influence on my children - and our entire family. It is truly a family centered school with support and encouragement for the children to meet high expectations. Every school will have occasional problems, but the administration and teachers address them quickly and fairly at St. Andrew's. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Great small school with big school extras. Growing campus, expanding fine arts program, exceptional teachers providing a very challenging academic enviornment, multi grade mentoring, parental involvement, nurturing staff, safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

My daughter used to dread going to school when she was in public school. Since she has started at St. Andrews, adjectives like 'great and so much fun' have been used by her to describe her days. She is in second grade and loves it! I am very pleased with the whole child concept. It's not only about a fine education, but raising socially conscious children to develop into empowered adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My student is involved in the New IB program. I believe it is making a difference in not only his understanding of the subject but more importantly his ability to think independently and outside the box. The work load ia adequate and challenging. Athlete programs are very inclusive in the High School. Criticisms: I believe that there should be some improvement in math curriculum. Teachers are nice and work with students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

My children are thrilled that school has started again this year - and not only to see their friends - but to see their teachers too. The know that they are loved and that their individuality is appreciated. I have very different children with very different learning styles and they both are challenged and nurtured by teachers that care about them. St. Andrew's recently became an IB school in the high school and we are eager for our children to begin that program in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

How can it be possible that everyone is happy at this school? The teachers, the administration, the parents but especially the children are glowing with happiness. My child went to a public school prior to attending St. Andrews and when he arrived his whole life improved for the better. We worried that the work load would be too difficult, and although he works his hardest to keep up, he is adequately and thoroughly challenged. I have seen a very positive change in my son. This is a top notch school that really cares about each and every child. If you are looking for a school that nurtures the child yet challenges them to be their very best - look no further this is your school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

my daughter attends st andrews and says that this is the first time that she has ever been actively taught which is amazing as she had attended a private school in savannah since pre-k. we are very impressed with the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I cannot express how happy I am with this school! My children are challenged, nurtured, and always encouraged to always do their best. The small size allows teachers to know each student's abilities and personalities. I love that my boys love to go to school and are getting such an excellent education. My husband and I couldn't be happier, and we look forward to many years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Our daughter is in Pre-K 4 this year. She is learning so much in this environment. I am very impressed with the caliber of her teachers. She is socializing well and preparing for Kindergarten. I have also met the Kindergarten teachers she will have next year and they are wonderful as well. Several of the teachers I've met this year have been with the school for >20 years. I am amazed @ the innovative teaching styles of these folks. The school is very small and the parents and teachers are engaged in every aspect. We have attended several school sponsored activities and found the older students to be very friendly and nuturing w/the small kids. Athletics are available but not as competitive as the local schools. However, academics are the priority and not athletics. We are happy thus far and intend to stay as long as our child continues excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 44%
Black 4% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school University of Georgia (Honors Program)
Emory College (GA)
Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech)
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 98% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Georgia (Honors)
Georgia Institute of Technolog
Emory University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Apple Distinguished School (2013)
  • Most Challenging High Schools in America (2012)
  • STEMM FInalist Award (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Susan G. Komen Foundation (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mark Toth
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Kayaking
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Surfing
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Surfing
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Admission Ambassadors
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • substitute
More from this school
  • St. Andrew's is focused on global competency through emphasis on 21st century teaching and learning, sustainability with an organic, green-certified catered cafeteria and community, child-maintained garden, and island identity as a coastal, hands-on, experiential school. In addition, as an Apple Distinguished School, all students in grades 5-10 are issued an iPad for use at school and home. All students in grades 11-12 are issued a MacBook Air for the International Baccalaureate program.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
90
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
University of Georgia (Honors Program)
Emory College (GA)
Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech)

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
Grants & Loans

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Georgia (Honors)
Georgia Institute of Technolog
Emory University
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Summer college prep programs
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 2%
4 year college - 98%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Penn Waller Rd
Savannah, GA 31410
Website: Click here
Phone: (912) 897-4941

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Islands High School
Savannah, GA



Johnson High School
Savannah, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT