Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Coweta Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2011

Being nervous with a new 6th grader going into middle school... I was concerned about how much communication there would be with the teachers. My son was very lucky to have a great HR and SS teacher (Mr B) and the others on his team. Math teachers have been extremely helpful as this is the subject he struggles with. My son is also loving his band class and learning a lot from Mr Owens. Over all, very happy with the school... but most of all the teachers he has. This is what really makes the school. - Concerned and Involved Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I currently go to this school and the teachers aren't very helpful sometimes, for example, if i have a question, they, most of the time, don't have an answer. Also, they will not let you carry a bookbag. Which in my book, that's pretty crappy when you have to carry lots of HEAVY books. They also award the people who come to school everyday more often than they do to the people thay made all A's. I think they deserve at least something besides a 'good job!' over the intercome. But other than that , it's a great school. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2009

I really don't care for this school at all. I left a voicemail for the assistant principal one day last year and the call wasn't returned. Another call was also ignored. My child didn't have a very good 6th grade year, though the new band director was great, many of her other teachers were not. 7th Grade is going better but we are hoping to move to another district soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

The faculty, staff and administration truly give their all to the students and community of ECMS. What a great place to raise kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I'm a parent of a child attending ECMS. I have no complaints with the teachers. But I do have a problem with the lack of respect that teachers are shown, not just by the kids, but some parents. If teachers cannot ENFORCE discipline in the school and have it 'stick', the battle is lost before it's even begun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

it stinks we cant talk in the hallway if we do we get are lockers took away and some kids half back problems and i know one kid who had a broken back at the beging of the schhol but i understand its are problem if we get in trouble but its not fair, good, or safe
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

I attended ECMS about two years ago and I believe that it is an awesome school. I attend a college prep boarding school currently and if it weren't for EC I would be struggling so much. I am already almost finish with my high school career early, and I plan to graduate honors.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 20, 2007

This school has always had a majority of staff that really care for students. The Population determines the level of performance in testing. This is a rural--slowly changing to suburban community. There is low parental involvement in this school. There is a higher population of low-income families attending this school which can affect attitude on achievements as a student. There are great teachers working with students on band, chorus, art, and technology. In addition, the football team has always ranked high in its performance each year. Unfortunately, Sports is more important to the county in general, so residents of Coweta County are waiting for this attitude to change as the county grows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

I am a student at this school and I enjoy attending it. My only complaint is that parents are not readily involved and should be more involved with their child's school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

264 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 44%
Black 16% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy Cook
Fax number
  • (770) 599-1051

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6291 Highway 16
Senoia, GA 30276
Phone: (770) 599-6607

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lee Middle School
Sharpsburg, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT