Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Covenant Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 237 students

Our school is known for offering a strong classical Christian education that is

 
 

Living in Smyrna

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $184,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

One of the Great things about CCS is the way in which the school strives to honor Christ in all areas. The school invites input from all stakeholders to push for improvement. We have been more than happy with this excellent school for years. CCS have been in Smyrna for 40 years and it continues to provide an excellent Christian classical education. The rigor of the program is NOT for all students, and there not a whole lot of 'bells and whistles', however, our children are getting a top notch education for a great tuition price that is being delivered by people who truly love Christ and these students. We LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

This school is not clean,it is old,it is very small,and it has no gym.I would not recommend this school to anyone


Posted January 14, 2014

Covenant Christian School does not support students with learning disabilities of any sort..It would be great if they did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

In the last 13 years, I have witnessed Covenant Christian School from the perspective of a parent, a school board member, a teacher, and now as an administrator. The story of CCS is truly one of God's continued faithfulness and grace. CCS is a place of love and learning in a culture that is characterized by joy, respect and order. CCS serves Christian families, but has NEVER in 37 years required parents be members of SPC. Our faculty is outstanding and our families are such a blessing! If you are looking for a great place for the classical Christian education of your children, consider Covenant Christian School in Smyrna. Soli Deo Gloria!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2012

CCS is amazing. We have a K5 and 1st grader. Christ is front and center. Education is structured around strong fundamentals to prepare the kids to exceed all standards. CCS has many after school activities track, chess, acting, music, etc. and many family events through out the year. Parent involved is great from our perspective. School has grown to over 200+ students and reached it's 2015 plan/goals in 2012. There is a wait list at many grade levels. We do not go to the church that the school leases space from and have not been asked to leave due to that. We also have not heard of anyone being asked to leave due to that (other than the review below). The school is separate from the church and operates independently. There is a discount for church members who attend the school, but we have never been pressured or even asked to attend the church. One parent is required to be a member of a church...wherever that may be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

I am a student at CCS. I'm in middle school and have loved CCS since 1st grade. Each year I get pushed to do my best and I do excel. If you are looking for a school with awesome academics, centered around Christ; this is the perfect school for your child!!!!!!!!!!


Posted February 28, 2011

This is such a great,great school! It's amazing! We've been here two years now, and our 4yr old is joining this year as well as our 10 yr old. Our 7yr old joined in k5 and at the end of the year, she was reading 1st and 2nd Grade books! She was doing 1st grade math.....we were soooooo amazed! The teachers are excellent, the head master-Mr. Ball and the principal, Mrs. Hines are very, very compassionate and loving, towards the parents and the kids!!! The best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

This is an excellent school. The administration is serious about educating children in a loving Christian environment. Christ comes first at this school and these children score well above average on standardized tests. This school is a blessing!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 27, 2010

CCS is a hidden secret in the Smyrna area. I looked high and low at schools for my daughter and I have had no regerts with CCS. This is my daughter's first year and I am very pleased; so is she! The teachers are excellent, the instruction keeps the children (and parents) on their toes and great parental involvement. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

CCS is a wonderful school. It is academically rigorous with a caring faculty. Next year, we will have all of our children at CCS. If you are looking for a Christian, classical school, look no further than CCS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Great School!, Great Learning Environment! This is a Non-for-Profit School; tuition is unbelivable low for a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

This is a fantastic school!!! This is our second year there and my daughter is not only getting a top rate education but it is surrounded in a loving and encouraging environment. The test scores for the school are 1 to 2 years ahead for each grade level and the classical christian approach is the only way to go in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Covenant Christian School is a great place to send your children, our kids have attended CCS for many years! We love it! R.Gross
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 37%
White 46% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Randy Ball
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Public Speaking: Covena
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $7000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Dominion Christian Schools
Whitefield Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3130 Atlanta Rd SE
Smyrna, GA 30080
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 435-1596

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT