Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
110 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Covered Bridge Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Ettiene made Ella feel so comfortable and allowed her to work at her own pace. This opened Ella up to a new love for school and learning! She now shares with me every day something she has learned and she's now reading because it was no longer a stressful task like it was in her previous Kindergarten where it was pushed so hard and homework was such a chore. We love Ms. Ettiene. She is so thoughtful, a great listener and has worked so closely with me to help Ella get exactly what she needed. Now Ella is so happy to go to school and that means the world to me!

Covered Bridge Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
I love the teachers! They are compassionate, well-educated, communicative with parents and so interactive with students both individually and as a whole.

Covered Bridge Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
We have no homework in the primary school - they learn so much during school and bring so much work home, there is no need for home work as busy work or to stress them out after school!

Covered Bridge Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
The Montessori method develops a strong sense of curiosity which leads to independent learning. Students seem so interested in what they are studying and want to learn more!

Covered Bridge Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
Most definitely! The children are often reminded of making good choices, thinking of their friends feelings, and treating both teachers and their classmates with respect.

Covered Bridge Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
Yes, in the multi-age classroom, children learn to work as almost a large family. They are taught to help those younger than themselves and show respect for all the other students and teachers. They also are taught to work out arguments peacefully at a "peace table".

Covered Bridge Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
It is a true Montessori school, following the Maria Montessori philosophy of developing the child in all aspects. They encourage responsibility and self-management, accountability for good and bad choices, and they help the child learn about social and moral choices. I'm impressed with the way they handle discipline with respect for both the teacher and child.

Covered Bridge Academy 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
My 6 year old daughter has learned so much and grown both academically and in confidence. She now talks about school all the time and tells me something new she learned every day. Most importantly to me, she ENJOYS school while shes's learning so much! Her teacher is amazingly patient, kind, intelligent, and intuitive. The school director is so approachable and easy to talk with when you have any questions. We LOVE it!

Covered Bridge Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
We have been a part of the Covered Bridge family for over 3 years now. We toughed it out during the "changes" that a few of the other posts referred to and it was solely because of the education that our child was receiving. We chose not to indulge in the noise around us and we are so pleased with the outcome. My child excels academically among his peers whom don't attend and is often ahead of his years socially when at child related events. I would advise speaking directly with the Director before formulating any opinions. She is amazing! She and the staff there are very in tune with the children's needs and the new owner openly shares plans for the schools future. i look forward to years to come.

Covered Bridge Academy 2

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
The school has a new owner. She is a wonderful person and is doing the right things to turn the school around. I have seen improvements to the outside of the school. Let's hope the improvements continue on the inside, especially with updated Montessori materials and school leadership.

Nearby schools

Covered Bridge Academy
488 Hurt Road Southwest, Smyrna, GA  30082
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (770) 801-8292
Last modified Covered Bridge Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top