Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

International Academy of Smyrna

Charter | K-8 | 960 students

Our school is best known for our rigorous academics.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 41 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 59 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

150 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2011

We are thrilled with IAS. Our daughter began in kindergarten at this school and is now in 1st. She is excelling! I am an academic snob and have no doubt that my daughter is getting a fantastic education. The mission statement that the kids learn and recite daily reinforces the attitude of "global-thinking" and being caring individuals. Through volunteering at the school we have met many wonderful families. For those that complain about carpool - see if you can design and better system and propose it to the administration. They have tried several different formats to try to determine the most efficient one. For those complaining about uniforms and other such issues - remember you made a choice to send your child to IAS and were made aware of the requirements prior to coming to the school. You can't and shouldn't expect to change the rules because they don't suit you at a particular moment. Parents need to stop expecting the schools and teachers to raise their children and take some accountability. I am thrilled with the school, have recommended it to several families and will continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

I am happy with the academics of the school, but I am very unhappy with one particular assistant principal. Carpool seems to be an issue with this school. Police are there daily, though I am not sure why? This principal is very rude to parents that are "walkers" to the school. He has followed me OFF OF SCHOOL PROPERTY AND DOWN IN FRONT OF PUBLIX AND ACROSS THE PARKING LOT to "see where I am going"... Is it really his business where I walk to after I drop off my kids? NO! He is following me to see if I get into a car. Well I am not and after confronting school staff about his behavior, he still hasn't stopped, and he also does this to other parents walking their kids to school. I would gladly give this school 5 stars but after dealing with that man, I will only give 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

I agree with the last parent.... this IS a school of choice and its your decision to take you child to this school or not... as for the uniforms... do you not purchase new clothes for your children at the beginning of each school year anyways? My son has been at this school for 4 years and there would be no way that he would get the education at the school district (Labelle) we are currently in that he is receiving now. I am grateful for this school and its staff.... they have gone above and beyond to make sure my son is on track with his education. And speaking of education, my son who is in elementary school was assisting my nephew in 8th grade at another Cobb School with his homework. How is it that my elementary child is studying the same course of study as an 8th grader. As for car pool, I have no issues with car pool, the volunteers do a great job at making sure our students get in and out safely. At least I know my children son is getting to school safely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

Our son has attended this school since its opening days 4 years ago. We have been very satisfied with the quality of teaching provided to our son and now our daughter for the past 2 years. They are excited to go school everyday and my son has done quite nicely on his CRCT scores every year. This is a new school started from the ground up by dedicated parents. The improvement in all aspects of the school has been exceptional considering the short amount of time this school has been open. This is not a generic comment! By the way before you criticize the school for their poor quality of academics, please make sure to post a comment that has good spelling and grammar...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

I will be honest as possible and say that the staff, and constituents are the most illiterate bunch of adults Ive ever dealt with. They not only do not know how to separate adult conversations from children, but one of the staff members have festered negative energy for over 2 years for my husband as much as to call the police for a carpool issue that was an exception from parent to child pickup, I still haven't gotten the appropriate papers for our service provided to parents that cnat get their children to this school. After Ms Clark left for whatever reason the replacements are incompetent in caring for children with a heart, so much that they will let their negative emotions run the school. In the end my son has taken his smarts to another school to help THEIR scores.


Posted August 10, 2011

The PADDED POSITIVE REVIEWS were mostly made feb. 5. Most were made on the same week in 2011 How long has this school been opne for? This is questionable to say the least. The comments are all mostly generic statements. What a shame. This school is rotten to the core. I guess they did not want to give themselves all five stars so that it would not look tooo suspicious.


Posted August 10, 2011

I visited this school. It is run poorly. I would steer far from all the Imagine schools especially Imagine Smyrna. I heard worse (if that's posible) about Imagine Mableton. Two thumbs down... I would not send my child thier even if my life depended on it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

The reviews for this school are questionable. Look at the dates of submission. It's not logical that so many "unknown" parent reviews are submitted on the SAME DAY and so FAVORABLE AS WELL! They sound similar using words like, "care, caring" citing test scores! What parent says these things!!!? Either four stars or five stars!! Schools need students for funding and it seems clear the reviews are PADDED possibly by faculty and staff. WOW! We need fair reviews. I know I won't send my kids to this school now.


Posted March 24, 2011

In response to my recent volunteer day at the school I have come away with an even more positive outlook on the environment in which my children learn. I volunteered nearly five hours at the school and at the end of the day I found that the atmosphere at the school was very positive and encouraging yet disciplined enough to be conducive toward promoting a healthy learning platform. In my daily communications with my children I have found that my volunteer day visit is most likely a reflection of daily day to day operations at the school. The staff at the school is generally pleasant, helpful, and mission oriented from the principal to the janitor. I think good leadership in education starts at the top and trickles down to our children. It seems evident to me that the principal tries to promote leadership in education by example. I admit that I have not been able to spend a great amount of time at the school in each of my childrens classrooms but, I do feel that the thirty hours required for attendance at the school does promote parental involvement. If you are a parent considering our school I hope this review helps you in your decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

I was initially skeptical about sending my child to this school because she went to a private school for pre--k. She was already reading on a first grade level, so I did not want her to fall behind. Her teacher is excellent when we had the first initial conference she told me she noticed where my daughter was academically and she would make sure that she would continue to progress forward. She immediately changed her word list and challenged her by requiring her to spell these words each week. My daughter is now on a second grade reading level. I am so happy that I decided to place my daughter in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I was so excited to be given the opportunity to bring my child to this school, but it end up being a total disappointment. The classes were too big with one single teacher. My child s teacher had good intentions, but she was left alone to deal with 4 very difficult children, and spent much of her days disciplining the kids, rather than teaching them. The school is loud and disorganized at all times of the day and teachers sometimes can shout a bit too much for my taste. ASP is a mess. I see it more as cheap babysitting, but I don t think it is even safe. My child walked away from the park to the Publix parking lot without anyone noticing! I decided to move my child to another school four months into the school year. It was the best decision for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

High academic standards with a particualr emphasis on reading and writing. Modern well thought out facilities. Very supportive of my daughters education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

This school has been excellent. My son has some special needs and they have more than accomodating. The teachers and the principle are very involved and engaged. My son loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

We had our daughter in private school,another parent reccommend IIAS.We so glad we made that decision because my daughter loves the school.Thank you all for all you do,you guys are the best.We have reccommended this school to a lot of friends and families that we know. Kubrat Oladejo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

IIAS is an excellent school with outstanding leadership. My daughter attended IIAS her first two years of school and when the school was relocated we decided to go back to the school closer to where we live. During the year there, we realized how much more challenging and well rounded the IIAS curriculum was. Well we're back at IIAS and enjoying every minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

Imagine International Academy of Smyrna has a good, challenging curriculum and staff. The principal is a caring professional and has a wonderful demeanor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

Imagine Academy of Smyrna is an excellent school! I feel it would be a benefit to any child that can attend. After relocating here from New York, I was not pleased with the public school education that my children received. Now since they've been at Imagine, I have seen a boost in the self esteem, grades, and love for education. They provide dance, sports, all types of extra curricular activities so that the children aren't missing out on anything. There is excellent parent/teacher communication and open door policy if there are concerns. I have a daughter in 3rd grade, a son in1st, and one entering kindergarten in the fall! They all love Imagine!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

This is our first year at IIAS. The kids are having a good year. The principal and administrative team is very supportive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

IIAS is an excellent school! My son is in Kindegarten. Our first year has been fantastic. He learns on a higher level than the average kindergarten classes in public school. The teachers are very great with communicating with parents regarding, school work, behavior and etc. If you chose Imagine you have chosen a great shcool with a great enviorment. Imagine is a school of excelence for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

This is my kids first year here and over all I love it, with the exception of the carpool and my 3rd grader having to change teacher for the 3rd time this year. That's bothersome to me because of the difficulty I have with him and school already.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 37%
White 13% 44%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 47%N/A51%
Female 53%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kari Schrock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (678) 370-0981

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Junior Beta
  • Reading Bowl
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
445
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
700
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2144 South Cobb Drive
Smyrna, GA 30080
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 370-0980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT