Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Griffin Middle School 5

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
My oldest daughter is in 6th grade and is having a wonderful experience at Griffin! From the open houses when she was a 5th grader and the orientation camp last summer, her enthusiasm for this school has only grown. We are very happy with the teachers and the parent engagement is really making a difference. Principal Gillihan is a great administrator, and handled the only "issue" we've had quickly and with common sense and compassion. My daughter participates in after school clubs, enjoys intramurals before school, and is involved in every possible chorus experience available to her (Ms. Rabun, 2015-16 TOTY is AMAZING). I've been impressed with the creative assignments that she gets and believe that her teachers are balancing classwork, homework, and projects in a way that is making school both manageable and actually interesting to her. She struggled in the past with some of her more advanced classes. We would love to see the community see how much these kids are thriving at Griffin - the spring musical, fall talent show, International Night, open houses, the Haunted House fundraiser, and so many other events offer opportunities for future parents and community leaders to get a real view of the school.

Griffin Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Tracy Efaw has been amazing for Griffin. She was my oldest son's Language Arts teacher and influenced him greatly. Her passion for ensuring all the students succeed is unsurpassed. To this day, they remain close and he considers her a valuable mentor. She is now an Assistant Principal which is well deserved. She truly leads by example. Mr. Paul Gillihan, the Principal. He also leads by example. His passion for makine Griffin great is contagious!

Griffin Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
I cannot say enough good about the teachers at Griffin. They truly care about all of the kids and want to see them succeed in life. Some of the hardest working people I have ever seen!

Griffin Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
The middle schools schedule is rough in general. The kids do not get out until 4:15 and so by the time they get home, it is usually around 5 pm. There is some homework, but not so much that they cannot still participate in an afterschool club, or other activity and still get homework done in time for a decent bedtime. As part of the public school system in Cobb, parents can check on their school work and homework regularly online.

Griffin Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Griffin uses Positve Behavior Intervantion System or PBIS, and all staff and faculty are trained on the system. This system strives to recognize those students who are respectful, responsible role models. Again, leading by example, it encourages all students to do the right thing.

Griffin Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
YES, yes, yes, again by example, the faculty does this and we have service clubs at the school where the students can join in to help others. There is also a food and clothing pantry that was started by students and faculty and now it feeds and clothes families that attend Griffin in need. Griffin kids are taught to think about others.

Griffin Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
I believe that the teachers and administration at Griffin role model those characteristics in their everyday behavior which in turn sets a great example for our kids. I have seen teachers take money out of their own pockets to ensure that all students at Griffin get opportunities to some events that perhaps they either forgot to bring their own money or they cannot afford. Their compassion and love that they have for all the kids is heartwarming!

Griffin Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
I have had two children graduate from Griffin Middle School and both had incredible experiences there. My oldest son was in all gifted classes and he more than excelled there academically and socially. He was constantly challenged by his teachers and he made such great friendships there. He is now a senior in the IB program at Campbell High School. The caliber of teachers at Griffin is very high. My son still remains close to many of the teachers there. My second son was not in gifted classes when he started at Griffin, however by the time he graduated, he was in all advance classes. Those teachers truly inspired him academically. He is now a sophomore in the IB program at Campbell High School. Griffin's teachers do an amazing job preparing the students for the rigor of the IB program and many of its graduates enter magnet programs around the county. In fact, Griffin has one of the highest acceptance rates to magnets in the county. I now have a daughter attending Griffin and she also was not in gifted classes when she first began at Griffn. She was not in Target at the elementary school either and she has a slight learning disability, yet, she now she is in 7th grade and has been able to get into all advance classes. Again, I attribute this to the amazing teachers and administration at Griffin that TRULY care about our kids. The school also has a robust, dedicated PTSA and an equally committed Foundation. I highly recommend anyone zoned for Griffin to visit the school, meet the Principal, attend some functions. You will not be sorry and you will save tons of money by not choosing private!

Griffin Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
Griffin has a wonderful administration! They are committed to the learning process. There have an energy that is contagious.

Griffin Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The administration emphasizes that children should be given a manageable load of homework. Our children are able to participate in demanding extra curricular activities while maintaining their class assignments.

Nearby schools

Griffin Middle School
4010 King Springs Rd SE, Smyrna, GA  30082
(678) 842-6917
Last modified Griffin Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top