Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

King Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

My son entered Kindergarten for the 2013-2014 school year. We absolutely love King Springs. He is appropriately challenged and gets individual and group attention. The PTA is very active which is great. The principal cares a ton about the kids and school. She is a great leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My school is excellent! We LOVE King Springs. We came to King Springs in 2012 for 1st grade. We transferred from Argyle's school district. What a huge difference! The staff truly cares about the kids. My daughter is growing into a great student and person. The quality of the families is phenomenal! The parents and PTA are very supportive and friendly. I wish they would just build a middle school on top of Kings Springs so my child wouldn't have to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

King Springs Elementary School is by far one of the best schools I have ever been acquanited with. I am the Grandmother of two students at this school. I have never seen such caring and loving staff with a Principal and Assistant Principal that always haas the BEST INTEREST OF ALL STUDENTS. I always enjoy visiting my daughter so I can go to my Grandchildren's school to enjoy a program, visit them at lunch or go to an after school program. I have traveled all over the U. S. and my children attended many schools. I rate King Springs Elementary School #1. My grandchildren have excelled and when they have issues to overcome the teachers and staff have helped them exceed in all areas I know they are very deserving of winning $5,000. Go visit them. You will feel like you are visiting with your family everytime you walk in the doors of this amazing school! I wish my grandchildren could stay there for 12 years not just 5 years...


Posted February 3, 2014

Our son is in first grade and began King Springs in kindergarten and we couldn't be happier. We moved to this community for the purpose of putting our son in a diverse environment committed to providing our child with the best education a public school can offer. King Springs has met all of our expections and beyond. The staff and administration are dedicated to making this the best school in West Cobb and have achieved this by far. The PTA involvement is outstanding and we definitely feel a strong sense of community. Our son has excelled and looks forward to going to school every day and we look forward to our youngest starting kindergarted there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

While the focus on the school is high academic numbers, they are lacking in courteousness, compassion, and warmth. The administrators are cold and not very friendly. When I walk into the front office, all the staff just stares as if I have two heads. I speak but am not greeted in return. I understand it's been a long day dealing with children (i work in a hospital with mentally ill patients but i always smile-fake it til you make it as they say) but you should always at least speak, especially to parents and other vistors. I'm not sure if it's prejudice, reacism, or just plan rudeness. Some of the teachers are friendly and it's obvious they enjoy what they do, but a large majority are just....cold. My niece has come home on several occasions and has told us she overheard her teachers saying mean things about some of the kids in her class. That is not exceptable in my opinion. If you need to vent, vent without the kids around. King Springs may have high marks for academics but has low marks for caring. Looking into moving just to change school zones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Such a great school with great leadership! My 6 year old is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

We have been in another county for almost 3 years.... Struggling to feel connected to our new, highly rated, school 's administration. We are a number there. Not enough space here to share the balls that have been dropped. We miss King Springs. We were cared for, academically and personally. Excellent teacher experiences (awesome librarians!) and the administration is engaged and responsive. They raised a flag for us, in kindergarten, (dyslexia) in the form of early intervention. Fancy new school has denied and delayed... kicked the can down the road, until we force their hand. Grrrrr!


Posted July 18, 2012

Hands down...a wonderful school. My son will be in first grade. Kindergarten was amazing! He knows more than his private school friends!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

My son is a rising 6th grader and will be moving on this year. When asked what he would change about King Springs, he said nothing. He will miss KSE but I'm sure he'll visit often! Thank you KSE for all the great years, K - 5!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Great school. People really put a lot of effort to make this school on path to success. If you want to live is Smyrna whic is seeing a lot of growth and opportunity, King Springs is a great ES to put your child in. I'm glad to support this school. Keep up the great work!


Posted June 27, 2011

We chose to put our son in King Springs for many different reasons. The school we were zoned for had an extremely low score (2 out of 10) on great schools, poor grades and was far from our jobs and our babysitter. When doing our research we saw all the great reviews on King Springs. Our son's first year was last year and he attended Kindergarten. I cannot stress how pleased we are with the school, staff and principal. We are thrilled that he will be continuing to go to King Springs and look forward to having all our children go there. This is truly a testament to what a great caring staff & involved parents can create. We love you King Springs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Really miss King Springs. We moved out of district and could no longer attend the school. Of all the schools that my children have attended, King Springs is BY FAR the best one. A lot of diversity, so many community oriented activities and family feeling. The teachers are creative and keep the students excited about learning. Definately a school to be modeled after. It's hard for us to find a comparable school because we haven't found another one that matches. My son learned how to read from there before he started school!! I miss you King Springs. Keep up the amazing work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have been at King Springs for 3 years and it has been a great experience for my daughter. Even through the tough economic times they are trying to keep 'specials' programs strong. The teacher and parent comminucation and involvement is amazing! When so many around us are choosing privates school, I had my concerns but after choosing King Springs I have NO regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

King Springs is an amazing school! I have a child in Kindergarten, 2nd and 4th grade and I have been nothing short of pleased by the excellent teaching they've received these past two years. I hate that we are moving out of the district because I would love for our youngest to attend there in the fall. The teachers show genuine concern for the students and Principal Keeney is a superb leader! We will miss King Springs dearly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

involved teachers and parents - stict behavior environment - great for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I have been sending my son to private school - this year we started King Springs. I have been so impressed! My son loves it. The Principal, the staff and the teachers are just amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

We are like one big family and we just love our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

King Springs has very good involvement from the community and an administrative and teaching staff that truly cares about being the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Great Parent and Teacher contribution
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

King Springs is a wonderful and diverse school that encourages arts, physcial fitness, and technology as much as it supports a challenging academic curriculum. The teachers and the administration truly have the kids best interests in mind at all times. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 44%
Black 31% 37%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1041 Reed Rd SE
Smyrna, GA 30082
Phone: (678) 842-6944

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT