Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 83 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Campbell High School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I have had 2 students go through Campbell High School over the past 8 years. My second child is about to graduate from the IB program but it's not just because of IB that I think this is a great school. Over 8 years time you see a lot of changes. We have had some administrators who are wonderful and some who are not so wonderful. My kids have had classes both in and out of the IB program. They are white and have never been discriminated against at this school at all. The IB students are wonderful, the on level Campbell kids are wonderful and the teachers are wonderful. Most of the teachers teach both IB and regular classes so to say that only the IB program saves the school is a mistake. The teachers who are awesome are awesome to ALL their classes. Sure there are kids who don't behave, but every school has this. I not only sent my kids to Campbell for the IB program but for the wonderful diversity that the school has. They don't get that diversity at their district school and the kids in our part of town quite frankly are spoiled brats!!!! It's been wonderful for my kids to see that not all kids get a BMW when they turn 16!!!!! My kids made friends both in and out of the IB program. Campbell High School is a wonderful place and I hope that my 3rd child will be able to attend. I have absolutely nothing but good things to say about Campbell High School:)

Campbell High School 1

Posted August 18, 2015
- a community member
I was a student at Cambell about 2 years ago. I was often teased and had racial slurs used towards me for being one of the only white kid's in my class. Class sizes were huge with kids not having a seat some days. Sometimes the teachers seemed to give up on students. Administration picked favorites. A pretty, thin girl would wearing super short revealing clothes but a chubby kid couldn't have holes in their jeans below the knee. The only thing keeping that terrible school afloat is their IB program.

Campbell High School 2

Posted August 11, 2015
- a community member
School went downhill quickly after 2007-2008. One of the major problems was the principal (dr. Magee), and now this school has a chance again with new management. However, student morale is low, and many departments are getting rid of the most productive and professional teachers; some dep. chairs assign classes based on their friendship or connections, not based on what our students need (and don't ask them what they need, because they don't know!).

Campbell High School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
One of the best kept secrets in Cobb County! Amazing International Bacclaureate (IB) magnet program that has students working at and above college level; fantastic parental involvement; incredible diversity - best of both worlds with the ivory tower/ivy league education without the plain vanilla population. If you have a chance to send your kid(s) to this school - esp the IB program - they will get a private school or better education without the 2nd mortgage price tag.

Campbell High School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
One of the most rigorous International Baccalaureate schools in the state, Campbell offers real world education in a safe and diverse environment.

Campbell High School 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a student
Like any school, there are negatives. But I believe that at Campbell, the positives strongly outweigh the negatives. While it is true that throughout my 4 years at Campbell I have witnessed fights and unruly behavior, I have also learned valuable lessons in terms of a look at what the real world is like and diversity. In terms of diversity, I have to say that Campbell is one of the most diverse schools in the county as I have interacted with many students from various backgrounds whether it be ethnically or socioeconomically. Lastly, the teachers are amazing-especially in the IB program. They seem to love what they do and it shows in the classroom as they bring a certain energy that is irreplaceable. They truly want to see their students succeed! GO SPARTANS!

Campbell High School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Great place for kids to learn and experience the real world of diversity. I have nothing but good things to say about the teachers and other kids I've met through the school.

Campbell High School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Campbell from the beginning, as an incoming Freshman. He has grown within the school, and I am so Thankful to the staff at CHS. Kids r going to be kids, but, CHS helps to guide and transform them into Young Adults, ready for the World. I Rate Campbell High School ~ A++++++!

Campbell High School 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
I was skeptical about sending my daughter to this school at first from all the rumors about it being such a bad school. I have to say I am pretty impressed. The teachers all seem to truly care about the students success and getting them prepared for college. There really hasn't been anything bad happening maybe a fight every once in awhile but that is pretty normal in all high schools. CHS is not a bad school. Maybe some improvement in the athletic area though.

Campbell High School 1

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
My son went for two weeks and I pulled him out. The school is pathetic and I call it a Jr. prison. I don't know too much of the students and the other parents--as far as their socioeconomic backgrounds--, but the staff treat the children with indifference and harshly. It is like they expect for the students to be criminals when they grow up. I had to homeschool my son while I worked from home until I was able to break my lease and move back to Marietta City Schools. I would love to live in Smyrna because it is closer to my office and nicer looking than Marietta. Anyways, parents beware of buying a home or renting in the jurisdiction if you have kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Campbell High School
5265 Ward St Se, Smyrna, GA  30080
(678) 842-6850
Last modified Campbell High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Campbell High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 83 reviews. Top