Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Very displeased with leadership with this school. They have taken to interpreting the rules and regulations to be more severe and punishable towards the kids that have NEVER had any behavior issues in their elementary career. These actions are being recorded on the students permanent record. The administration is responding to it as a minor issue that won't affect the student unless they have a behavior issue. Many of the infractions are a result of the teachers being out of the classroom which would have more than likely settled any conflicts or situations. If the students are being held accountable for every action then so should the teacher and the administration! They know that many of the decisions are extreme but do not want to admit they are wrong. Unfortunately, as parents its hard to have any recourse when the county office will not OVERTURN the decisions that were ruled incorrectly.

Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
For a new school I think it is doing good but can improve in areas of parent participation and stable administration which will lead to the support the teachers need.


Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
The first note received from a teacher had the most grammatical errors I've ever seen an adult make. Some words misspelled include: request, thankful, and worried. This person is supposed to be teaching my child, it is completely unacceptable that they would allow a person with a learning disability teach our children. Second problem, my son got off the bus with his shirt and pants completely ripped apart. There was no note explaining why or how this happened. I proceeded to call the school, and never did get an explanation, or even common courtesy. The staff at this school are not even fit to run a McDonalds.

Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is good sent my clid he was was unsatisfactory the teachers are rode .its a bad school

Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
The school is beautiful and as a new school things take time to develop. The turnover of teachers and administration has been disappointing. So it's hard to get in in order when you have staff leaving. WHY should be the question. What's the reason. The superintendent should look into it.


Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 2

Posted June 18, 2013
- a community member
On the exterior, this school is a well polished, safe and sturdy institution. However, the infrastructure tells the tale. The principal is almost always MIA leaving the visibility to the APs. The teachers range from bullying themselves to apathetic. Some seemed actually qualified and interested in their students. Most seem irritated or nonchalant. Any any event, the overall feeling is counterproductive to what children should be receiving. Teacher quality is sadly missing. If you have the option, find a real public school in Gwinnett. A travesty and a shame.

Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 2

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
This is a beautiful new school, the school does have problems to work through, however it absolutely could become a school that fosters a passion for learning that lasts a lifetime. But accountability and a commitment to student safety has to be restored before this vision is 20/20. The class rooms are over crowded like must schools. Great support from teachers and counselors. My first 9 weeks experience at this school has been a horrific mess. Yes it involves bullying. This is only my opinion but the school leaders are indifferent towards acts of bullying. They do not follow up when acts of bullying are reported and are ineffective with their actions of discipline to deter the bullying from continuing. I lack the words to express how i felt when the school leader boldly defended the rights of the instigator(smh). The school behavior code and their support of the GCPS board anti-bullying policy are not enforced. They are just policy the school stores in file 13 to utter their no-tolerance for bullying hogwash. Parents from dekalb, rushing to get your child into a gwinnett school, should not let this be the only school they consider for their child.

Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 2

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
I had my twin boys in ALES for kindergarten and half of 1st grade. One of my boys had a speech problem and I started in kindergarten trying to get him in speech therapy, they didn't start him until right before we transferred half way through 1st grade. A YEAR AND A HALF!! This school is still new and working out the kinks, but what really made us move was the area, we didn't feel safe anymore the area is really going down hill.


Anderson-Livsey Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2012
- a community member
This is a fantastic school with ever increasing school spirit and enthusiam. It looks like a castle on a hill--who wouldn't love to get an education here?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anderson-Livsey Elementary School
4521 Centerville Hwy, Snellville, GA  30039
(678) 344-2082
Last modified Anderson-Livsey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anderson-Livsey Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top