Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Collins Hill High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2009

Not a very safe school. alot of fighting that is never brought to the attention of parents. Unless your child is a gifted athlete,I would look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

This is an excellent school with high standards, a professional staff, and a principal that is flexible and allows teachers to teach to their full potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 21, 2008

I truly love the high school performance. If only the counselors that guide toward career tracks or college guidance were up to speed. I feel that driven children such as my son, would benefit from such excellent counseling rather than having chase various teacher around for their take on what the right approach might be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My son comes from a small gifted school. I thought he would be overwhelmed but has done very well and comes home with a smile everyday. We have had very good experience with his teachers....they really care and most make it their business to know him. We as parents needs to be there for our children no matter what and when you do teachers notice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

I absolutely loved my four years at collin hill. After moving from state to state i begged my parents to let me stay at one high school for all four years and i was so fortunate to have landed at collins hill. There are so many opportunities for students to take advantage of but it's definitely up to the student to get involved. Their 'no tolerance' policy speaks for itself. I can count how many times i witnesses a fight or a misbehaving student in all four years i attented. Collins hill definitely prepared me for college and this year i'll be a junior at the University of West Georgia and owe it to the preparation i recieved at collins hill.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

Excellent school--great leadership and teachers, many extracurricular activities, much parental/community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

I graduated in 2004 and am getting ready to graduate from an Ivy League institution and felt prepared for the workload.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2006

My son will be graduating this year from Collins Hill and my daughter is an incoming freshman. Collins Hill has been a wonderful experience for our family. We have had good experiences with the teachers. Are there some my son liked better than others, of course! However, he has been successful in all his classes. I was thrilled when I saw that my daughter had 2 of his former teachers. Yes, it is a large school but that gives many opportunities for a student to find their niche. Our family has found their place to belong in the CHHS band. If you're looking for a high school with a good band program, look no further. But if band is not your thing, Collins Hill offers top notch academics, athletics, clubs, and other fine art activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Our son will be graduating from collins Hill High next week. It is quite a large school and offers many different courses of education for a diverse student group. We had one bad experience with a teacher but the rest of his teachers were quite acceptable. Many of them go WAY out of their way to make the classroom the BEST. If you are not happy with a teacher ...go in for a talk...do not wait. I am also a teacher by profession and have always said that the students are only going to be as good as the expectations their parents set. Our community is an active one and most of the students reflect its values. The teachers themselves are doing a good job of preparing the students to succeed. Our son was accepted to every college he applied to and even recruited by some we had never heard of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2004

One of the best schools I have ever seen. As a former teacher I know quality schools when I see them. I am very fortunate to have my children attend CHHS and I would have paid to have them go there. CHHS has been blessed with two excellent principals during the time my children have attended. It is an accepting oasis where students achieve and feel comfortable. Of course the Band is excellent! CHHS Band Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

656 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

655 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

656 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

654 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

683 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

787 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

682 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

743 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

693 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

720 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 44%
Black 23% 37%
Hispanic 20% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Glenn McFall
Fax number
  • (770) 682-4105

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Taylor Rd
Suwanee, GA 30024
Phone: (770) 682-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mountain View High School
Lawrenceville, GA


Phoenix High School
Lawrenceville, GA




Lanier High School
Sugar Hill, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT