Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Union Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

The BEST elementary school in the county! Teachers and staff are all very friendly & truly care about the children and their learning enviroment. This school exceeds the standards in all areas. Wonderful wonderful place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I like this school because the teachers and staff are quick to respond to any of your questions or concerns you may have without any delay or passing the buck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I think the staff keeps me well informed of things that are going on with my son and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Due to circumstances beyond my control I had to register my two boys (3rd and 5th graders) today. The teachers were unfriendly and one would not call my son by his name. The introduction of both teachers to my wife was cold at best. I hope the learning enviorment is much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

We have be in Union now going on 4 years.We are really happy with the school. They are always happy to help us with any thing we need for our son.I can not ask for a better school then Union.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Principals leave a lot to be desired. Bullying is tolerated, and if a child or parent complains, the child is singled out and picked on by the principals. I find this school to be of a small, cliquey nature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

I moved from a busier small city to a small country town about 25-30 NW. My daughter started at Union and I am just amazed and how well she is doing. Not only are the parents and the staff always involved but the county is too. One thing I know about Paulding County Schools is that they do not let just any kind of riff raff in there to teach. They must have a degree and be certified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

My son just started kindergarten this year at Union Elementary. So far I have been very happy with this school. They have recess every day which I feel is important. They also have PE three times a week. They alternate between Music and Art every week. The staff is friendly and helpful and I could not be more pleased with his teacher. She is very organized and patient. My son loves going to school and I am amazed at the rate at which he is learning. I can't think of anything that I would change about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

Love Union, my daughter and son both attended. The parents are really involved and welcomed to be a part of their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Union Elementary is a wonderful place for children to learn. I have had a student at Union for over 12 years, with three boys ranging in ages from 18 to 7 years old. I feel they have benefited greatly from the small community school atmosphere that Union provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

84 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Black 9% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Teresa Benefield
Fax number
  • (770) 459-5436

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 Highway 101 S
Temple, GA 30179
Phone: (770) 443-4191

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT