Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Garrison-Pilcher Elementary School

Public | 1-2 | 710 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2012

Hey, to the Principal, may i see Records of my first and second grade classes? please, i really need to see something.


Posted March 15, 2011

i love this school! my son is in the 1st grade and his classroom is like a family and they all love each other! i think thats great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Garrison Pilcher is under new leadership and seems to be better than ever! I was very impressed with the open house. The age of the teachers is irrelevant. Good teachers can be any age and any experience level. Yes, the pickup lines are probably long but it is a rather large school. This has no bearing on the education that our children are recieving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

PLease research other schools before putting your childern in this school. And the principle does not take time with parents. The teachers are nice but some are so young! And the pick up is a disaster!! The line to pick up your childern is long. I would suggest you do your research first!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

THS teachers are really nice, the children seem happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2004

I was extremely concerned with the size of this school; that my child would be 'lost' in the system. But, to my surprise, the school felt as if it were a small neighborhood school. My 2 children have enjoyed the school & so have I. The teachers are great & caring for each child's education. The office staff has been professional and able to answer any questions/issues during the 2003-04 school year. As in any school, there are certain issues that the office should be aware of. Express your concerns and they will try to resolve them. Every parent should be involved in the school. The education that the child receives includes both the teacher and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Garrison-Pilcher is a wonderful school. I was nervous at first to put my daughter into such a large school, since I went to much smaller schools, but she has flourished and feels comfortable. Her teacher this year is wonderful, and she combines the right blend of discipline and loving interaction to help each child in her classroom succeed academically. The parents are very involved in this school and there are many opportunities to visit and participate in activities for the parents. I highly recommend this school! Kim.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

Garrison-Pilcher is a wonderful school. Everyone does as much for each student as possible. Corporal punishment or any other kind of punishment is not kept from the parents. If a student has been disciplined then a letter is sent to the child's parent, so that the parent can sign and return the paper. If you do not want your child to receive corporal punishment then the parent can sign a paper stating that they do not want their child to receive corporal punishment. I would recommend Garrison-Pilcher School to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

We recently moved to Thomasville and were searching for a school for our son. When we visited Garrison-Pilcher we were welcomed and treated like family. We chose to send our son here and have been thrilled with every aspect of his educational experience. The staff is caring and gracious. They really love their work and the students. Our son's teacher is absolutely fabulous. This is a truly caring and nurturing environment where each child is considered precious. I would recommend this school to anyone seeking a truly 'Great School'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

I have been very pleased with my child's time spent in this school. He needs extra help and everyone has been very helpful. Every one has been there for our meetings with input to help this child and they show us respect with our concerns for our child. I have to say thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

I had 2 children attend this school and was extremely disappointed at the education they received and was not satisfied with the quality of the teachers. Most of the teachers are just out of college, are absent due to pregnancies, are not there because they are attending more educational classes for themselves while leaving the students under the supervision of substitutes. This school plays too much, is not nurturing, and secretly administers corporal punishment while trying to hide this from parents. They are more interested in their personal pay checks and receiving state money per student than the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

352 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

353 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

353 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

349 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

349 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

349 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sharonda Wilson
Fax number
  • (229) 227-2428

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

277 Hall Rd
Thomasville, GA 31757
Phone: (229) 225-4387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Scott Elementary School
Thomasville, GA


Favor Christian Academy
Thomasville, GA


Jerger Elementary School
Thomasville, GA


Rescue Mission
Thomasville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT