Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dade County High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

We visited this DHS for the first time in the fall of 2013 and we are very impressed. The faculty and staff really seem to care so much about their kids, they are like a family. Our child will be transferring from a larger school in Florida and we hope she will have a more positive experience here. I feel that the negative reviews posted by former students are not constructive and the points they bring up are actually positive points for Dade. They sound like kids who would fit in at an inner city school rather than this small community. We'll make our own judgment but, for now we have a good impression.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I use to attend DCHS. It is, by far, the worst school ive ever had the displeasure of attending. Religion is a big problem in this school! I've attended schools in multiple countries, and have never seen religious influence like this. What else could be expected from the bible belt, i suppose. I was moved to alternative school after my 5 excused and 5 un-excused absences were used. I admit that i skipped class 5 times that year, but is alternative school really a suitable punishment for these actions? Shortly after this happened, I received news that I was being kicked out due to residency issues. (after attending this school for over a year with no address change) They left me with limited options and no help. I eventually found a group known as the Optimists, who helped with financial costs of the GED test. After scoring well above average on the test, the group asked me to come in and speak. Of course my gratitude outweighed my stage fright. Upon Entering this meeting, I saw the man who signed the paperwork that led to my disenrollment. I was pleased to remind him of my identity. Although being strongly infuenced to start college at the age of 16 has only helped me, I regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2013

Our teen is starting this school this fall. I will update when I have more to report, but when we visited last spring, I was really impressed with the friendliness of the students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

From 2006 to 2009, this school was a mess. Between the schedule changing, disciplinary, and teaching problems, nothing was going very well for the administration or the students. On top of that, the athletics and fine arts departments were at lows. However, after years of change throughout the system, they finally have something going. Adding knowledgable new teachers, making much needed administrative changes, new technology to bring it out of the stone ages, more AP and college courses, and an economically efficient scheduling system helped tremendously. The sports programs have done very well under a new athletic director: basketball, football, wrestling, softball, and cross country have all recieved state recognition over the past year. Notably, the band program has grown and developed into one of the best in the region. Overall, now the school is great and needed a fresh change. However, the numerous budget cuts are threatening many jobs and classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2010

For those of you that want to know, Dade County High School does not value a student's work ethic. Although it does boast some exceptionally good teachers, most of them are inept and have no business teaching. They enjoy playing mind games and love to experiment on their students with all sorts of "phsycology." The school is also dominated by the new Georgia standards; if you have never heard of the Mathematics Task, run away. Far away. As a general rule, the teachers and the adminstration are not inclined in the least to try to help you. I have one that has dilberately failed me on a test - the same test that, once graded, I took to Sylvan. Sylvan pointed out about seven questions I answered correctly. I researched these questions; I presented the information to my teacher; and she refused to change my grade in the least.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2010

I am a student that currently goes to this school. If you are looking for a traditional school with traditional teachers, don't expect to find it here. There are lots of politics involved with all of the descisions that the school board makes. Currently, they're overhauling the whole school so that it can get a hefty grant. That means cutting electives. I feel that the school board here is more interested in lining its pockets than keeping the best interests of the students in mind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

The school is ok if you know people and get along with the teachers that is how i got through school but another than that the teachers are awesome if you dont get on their bad side
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

Dade County High School...It really all depends on what 'group' your in to achieve what you want in activities such as: cheerleading, football, basketball, baseball, so on and so on. Also the Sheriff's are always giving some of the teenagers a hard time more than the teachers. Drive a nice car?...beware, you will be pulled over. The town is so small and so is the population of Dade County. All though I have been a student of this school and I have met some of the most caring people and that have made a difference in my life, but watch out some will get the best of you also. I wouldnt recommend the school but it is a quiet and peaceful town with the most beautiful mountains you'll ever see. I call it God's Country.


Posted December 13, 2007

I am a former student of dchs. Well it has its ups and downs. It is a small community so things do seem to get around easy like you never have privacy with out any one knowing. So you need to keep it to your self. And as far as the school,i really liked it. If your not willing to learn yourself then of coarse they are not going to deal with you. But you just have to choose your friends wisely.Class of 2010
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

DCHS is the best school I have ever been to. the teachers are helpful. I love it here. and unlike what those people say I have no name in the community. they still treat me that same as anyone. they have treated me better than any other school I have been to.there are no politics.DCHS is a small school in a small town and theyre the nicest people you will ever meet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

I worked at DCHS and let me tell you the student/teacher ratio is nowhere near 17...try 30. Being such a small school however, makes it possible for a student with little prior sports training to join a team, which is not possible in larger venues. Given the choice however, if I had children, I would not send them to DCHS...there are much better public institutions within 30 minutes.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 12, 2006

I attended this school and I thought it was very lacking. The academic programs weren't very good and kind of left the kids falling behind. I had 2 good teachers that helped me with everything I needed, if not for them I would have quit. The extracurricular activities are there if you are in one of the 'in' groups, as it seems that all the same students were in the activities and others just didn't seem to cut it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 12, 2005

Dade County does not only have an excellent school, but is an excellent community to grow up in. The teachers more then prepared me to go on to further my education. I am now in college and have seen many students struggle through adjusting to the new atmosphere and hard work. However, I have had no problem. I owe a lot of this to the teachers at Dade County High. They let me know from the beginning what to expect 'in the real world.' Many of the 'new' things that I have dealt with in college, are things that I was already introduced to in high school. Thanks to the teachers at Dade County High School my college years ,however difficult, will be easier because of their preparation for me to further my education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 2, 2005

I went to school here and I really hated it, and so dose my sister. My family dosen't have a name in this county and if you do the staff will treat you better then the rest of the studants. The dress code is very strict. I was class of 2004 and we had the most drop outs in 30 years. I and most of my friends dropped out because of the dress code and the because the staff treated diffrant than they would kids with certan last names. My sister is a sophmore this year and says that it is only getting wrose. You can't wear shirts with writting on them and you can't have patches in your jeans. So if your child rippes a hole in his pants and you can't afford new ones your out of luck. If you don't have money this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2005

As a parent I have to say there are far more lows for this school than highs. The school has great potential but until the school is separated from the political circle it doesn't have a chance. I have a real hurt for this community because the parents are very involved and are willing to do anything to help out but they are being so misled as to what their children need to achieve high levels of satisfaction in society. If a student is wanting to come back to Dade County, then the school is great for them but if their dreams take them in a different direction, then they are not prepared and have to strive very hard to catch up. The focus is on the sports, and not the academic program. Students are awarded due to who they are related to and not their achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This school was an excellent school! I was a student in the Dade County School System until I graduated in 2002. I feel that I was given the best educational experience that I could have possibly had! I achieved all of my academic goals as well as extracurricular goals. Our school had many award winning extracurricular activities, clubs, and lots of school spirit combined with excellent, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

152 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

148 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

152 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

152 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 44%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Tradition Ln
Trenton, GA 30752
Phone: (706) 657-7517

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gordon Lee High School
Chickamauga, GA


Ridgeland High School
Rossville, GA




Battlefield Parkway Christian
Fort Oglethorpe, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT