Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Livsey Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

My daughter attended Livsey this year, but unfortnatley we had to move a few weeks ago. We hated that we had to leave this school. The teachers are so great and the parents are very involved. Its a small school with a big heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

I have 3 children who attend Livsey, but 2 of my children have issues with learning and speech. The teachers are amazing. I see improvement and growth in all my children every week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I love Livsey and so does my child. The parents & surrounding community are very involved, the teachers and staff care!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

Both of my children have attended Livsey and I ABSOLUTELY love it! They both had a wonderful experience and received a solid foundation for learning. I can not say enough about the teachers...and one of my children is not the easiest. The are motivating, loving, and make learning fun. Livsey is also very welcoming to parents and there is a high parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Fantastic school!!! It won the prestigious National Blue Ribbon award for its outstanding academic achievement. Students consistently meet and exceed requirements on standardized academic tests. Teachers are not only very qualified, but also truly passionate and caring. The school is smaller than many private schools, which creates a strong sense of community, and principal knows every child by name. Every child gets noticed, and every issue gets addressed. 100% of parents participate in PTA, and many volunteer at school, so there are a lot of extra activities, festivals, etc. This school is awesome, and our son is very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

They have created a place where children can really thrive. The students are challenged and supported by their teachers and each other. Almost all the parents are active in the PTA, which helps to fund the school. It's a small school in a metro city - they really kicks. If there's ever an issue or question, both the principal and the teachers are very responsive and ethical. Well done, Livsey!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

Livsey has been a fantastic school for my daughter. As a type 1 diabetic, the staff have been phenomenal properly handling her glucose levels. Communication between my wife and I & all school staff members has been a pleasure. The education and teachers are top notch. I can't say enough about how incredible our experience has been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

My son loves Livsey. It os so great to see him so excited about going to school. He has been there for two years now and I could not imagine having to move him to a different school. The parent involvment is excellent and the test scores are always tops in Georgia. Great job Livsey staff and THANK YOU!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

I love Livsey Elementary. My family and I moved to Tucker specifically for Livsey and we could not be more thrilled. It's a warm, wonderful environment where the students, parents and teachers thrive. The most involved parents on the PTA Board, making sure everything we do is for the benefit of the children and staff. We love Livsey!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

I have three children that have attended Livsey since Pre-K - my youngest is currently in Kindergarten. The overall quality of the program is excellent. Very active parent involvement through the PTA. The teachers are well trained, most being gifted certified. The Principal is extremely personable and highly qualified. We are fortunate to have a small teacher/student ratio, allowing the teachers to provide more one-on-one interaction with the students. We are thrilled! The only disadvantage we see is that it feeds into Tucker Middle School and Tucker High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

I have had two children go to Livsey. I am impressed with the care they received in academics. I was happy with the overwhelming parent care and involvement also. I believe it made Livsey a better school. I feel this school is a hidden jewel in the DeKalb system. The test scores prove that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

This school really stands out in metro Atlanta. I have lived in three states and my children have attended both private and public schools, and I must say that Livsey is overall the best school they have ever attended. Administration and teachers are experienced, caring, organized, and dedicated to teaching your child. Although the school is public, it has the feel of a private school, and parent involvement is high. There are minimal behavior issues-- most kids come from good families-- drugs, alcohol, inappropriate dress and behavior has not been an issue in my experience with this school. Statistically, the school is small (less than 300 students), class sizes are very reasonable, and the test scores are tops in the metro Atlanta area. I only wish that this school fed into a more solid middle school system when the kids reach 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

46 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

46 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

46 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 44%
Black 22% 37%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4137 Livsey Rd
Tucker, GA 30084
Phone: (678) 874-3302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT