Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Midvale Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 454 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

We chose to send our son to Midvale for a few reasons - 1) We believe the IB curriculum provides a valuable curriculum from which he will greatly benefit, 2) The science related extra curricular activities provide an opportunity for him that he otherwise may not get, 3) It is very diverse in every way - racially, ethnically, economically, etc - and this is something we value. Since starting Midvale last year, we have gotten to know the administration and teachers. They are caring and we trust them with our son. We have had a wonderful experience thus far and look forward to what lies ahead for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Love the school! The teachers are helpful, patient, very experienced and extremely creative. The Principal and the staff are attentive and accommodating. I could not have elected a better group of people to influence my children for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

Midvale is a great school, great community with an active PTA. If the previous reviewer had issues it may be a "needle in the haystack". I suggest that parent talk to her daughters teachers, the principal and other parents. The students no longer change classes because studies show it is better they don't and it was the TEACHERS that asked for this. For my son, this is a god send, he performs and learns far more by not changing classes. It is certainly not a matter of being lazy. We have been at Midvale for 6 years and have enjoyed it. Never heard of food issues. Midvale is a benefit to our neighborhood!! My son loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

Currently, my child attends this school. I find that everyday, after she comes home from school, that she learned nothing. Not only that, she complains to me money on how she finds burgers, hair, bugs, and other things on her food. Not only that, recently I find that she is saying curse words very often. Not only are her grades declining rapidly, but her behavior is changing too. Not one of her teachers are contacting me, and just recently, I found out that she isn't even switching classes throughout the day! When I asked her about it, she tells me that the teachers were just to lazy! This school is a terrible environment for my child. Doesn't the PTA do anything about this?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

Basing the rating solely on test scores does a disservice to this excellent school and its staff. Income levels and neighborhoods have much to do with the difference in ratings between Midvale and Livsey. I had kids at both schools, and our experience at Midvale was much more positive than with Livsey. Livsey's advantage is a very small student population and zero apartments in the school attendance zone. Midvale has great teachers, rigorous curriculum and expectations, and also a more diverse population. Kids who do wll at Midvale benefit from exposure to other income brackets, cultural and ethnic backgrounds and acceptance of differences. Midvale faculty and staff are more flexible and adept at understanding and accomodating differences than Livsey in my experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Midvale is such a wonderful, comforting, homely environment. They show obvious care in the education of my son good parent contact, open-door policy for talking with teachers and the principal, energetic, creative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I love Midvale because it has a warm and caring environment. The teachers are wonderful. The IB program has been a great learning tool for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

because one of my favorite little guys goes to school there!


Posted October 13, 2010

Midvale is a great I.B. Public School - great faculty/staff that care about the education of my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

I disagree with a previous review that states that Midvale strives for simply meeting government benchmarks. My experience has been that they strive to give every child a life-long love of learning through the prestigious International Baccalaureate program. Midvale's teachers always strive to bring out the best performance from each child, and they are truly able to individualize classes for each child's needs to maximize their potential. They use ability grouping in all grade levels to ensure that kids who are 'high achievers' can get their needs met while those who struggle with a subject can get more help. My kids have had positive experiences each year at Midvale. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Midvale is the epitome of a classic neighborhood elementary school. It's in the middle of a great set of neighborhoods, and many families walk and bike to school. It has fully incorporated the IB learning style, which permeates every aspect of the student experience - they are learning to be positive world citizens in addition to learning the standard stuff. Children at Midvale are also learning at a very high level academically, while welcoming everyone. The experience our children have with special ed, foreign language speakers, and everyone else is invaluable. The principal has an open-door policy, so come see for yourself!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

No one tries harder than Midvale, but what they're trying for at this school is strictly meeting government benchmarks. The entire school staff is on board with the 'soldiers marching toward excellence' theme of NCLB. The federal government would be proud. My two girls have had vastly different experiences at Midvale, and what you'd think would be uniformity has not been our experience. My older girl, here since K and now a 5th grader, is an above average student who lacks ambition. The teachers mean well but they do not actually help her with this. The teachers instill no incentives, are often frustrated, and are also absent frequently. My younger child is thriving here. So far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

Midvale is a nice neighoborhood school, with the feel of 'yesteryear'. The Administration and front office are extremely friendly and proud of their school. The teachers are okay, but focus primarily on 'teaching to the test'. The diversity of the school is great, but elimination of recess and creative time are a major drawback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Tons of Parental Involvement. Teachers are willing to go the extra mile for their students. Many Special Education programs which add to the loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 37%
White 31% 44%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3836 Midvale Rd
Tucker, GA 30084
Phone: (678) 874-3402

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT