Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakley Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2014

What the parents are experiencing is what the Fulton County Board of education has allowed for years. Anytime you are letting the so called administration and the county know and it still is happening should tell you something. I 100% agree with the comments of the parents. Nobody cares
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

if oakley is the best school in fulton, well there is no good school in fulton county. oakley is the worst place to be for a child. my son went through so much in oakley. i am so relieved that he is now in middle school. the problem is i have two other children in oakley and the same thing is happening to my daughter with the same fourth grade teachers that had bullied my son with no shame. i am counting the days to the end of the school year. from top to bottom there is nothing good at oakley. no respect for the students, they treated with no dignity. a lot of favoritism. my sons are in gifted classes. we work hard but a teacher can make or unmake a student. stop the bullying in oakley. i wonder if i can take it for another year in that miserable environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

I am sadden by the behavior of the teachers and leadership at Oakley. The TAG teacher should not be allowed to teach. She speaks negatively to her students saying things like some of you should not be here because you are not TAG students. This is not how you encourage children. TAG does not determine a child's success. I hope with the retirement of the current principal the leadership gets someone who can lead. She is not the only person who needs to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

I have had an terrible experience with this school. My child attendances Kindergarten at Oakley and I barely have anything positive to say. I have never meet or seen a teacher as horrible as the one my child has.(My child has been in daycare and Pre-K since 4 months old) I have observed her yelling and screaming at the students for no or little reason. This school and that teacher needs to be evaluated by Fulton County Board of Education. I care about my child education and this school is so disappointment, I can not see any education accomplishments that has been done at this school. His education is coming from home. If you can avoid this school, avoid it like the worst imaginable disease. Now for the positive -The only thing positive I can say is the Vice Principal seems to be dedicated, I have spoken with her on a few occasions and she has followed through, however one good apple can not preserve the bad ones....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

This school is good and all about its learning last year we beat the best schools in Fulton we are very hard working and we never doubt about any one failing we have some the best teachers there and they are really good so are the students


Posted October 1, 2013

This school focus more on the teachers well being verse the students. There is way to much being covered up and this school. I would not recomment this school to anyone, and advise the parents to look more behind the scenes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My son is in Kindergarden this year and the only thing I saw in this school is racism from some teachers, grabbed and yelled them and classrooms with too many students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I truly enjoy Oakley Elementary School. The Prinicpal is exceptional and truly love the children. The teachers are great as well as the staff. I believe once the parents get on board and truly support the mission of the school as well as get involved in their child(ren)'s education, then Oakley will be one of the top publlic schools in the country. My daughter who is a third grader loves her school. I am so happy that she is in advance classes as well as the Talented and Gifted (TAG) class. There are always good things happening at Oakley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

the principal and teachers work hard together to make sure they teach the children how to become great citizens. they also work hard and along with the parents. it is a great school.


Posted September 16, 2009

The school challenges the students to do their very best. The teachers truely care about the educational wellbeing of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I have 3 sons that are attending Oakley, in Kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grades. My 2nd grader had a lot of behavior and learning issues and the staff was great. We had several meetings with the couselor, teacher and social worker to ensure we all had a solid plan for educating my son. My 1st grader is a little headstrong. He had strong teachers to keep him in line. They kept me informed of his behavior daily. I am looking forward to my third son's first year at elementary school as I know the staff at Oakley will make it a great transition for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

This the second year that Oakley has been opened and I feel that it still has alot of quirks to work put. We recently recieved the review or the scores for 2007 and they were below Fulton County Schools. This was definately disappionting. They have alot of Brand New teachers who have not taught before. I know that school is trying to improve but at what expense?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Vonnie Thompson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7220 Oakley Ter
Union City, GA 30291
Phone: (770) 774-4057

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Nolan Elementary School
College Park, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT