Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Valdosta, GA
Students enrolled: 888

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lowndes Middle School 1

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started at this school this year and it is HORRIBLE! It's run like a prison. The staff was not very helpful at all with her transition here. I would pull her out in a heartbeat if I could.

Lowndes Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lowndes Middle School 5

Posted March 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lowndes Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lowndes Middle School 3

Posted October 15, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lowndes Middle School 5

Posted May 03, 2006
- a parent
LMS is a great school. Students and parents alike are welcomed here. My child came here after a bad year at another local middle school and LMS teachers and staff have helped him restore his grades and his self-confidence. Teachers contact me in a timely manner about any problems or concerns by phone or email. Teachers welcome input from parents and treat the students with respect and demand respect from them. The band, sports, activity clubs and academic clubs have lively participation and perform well. The principal and support staff are accessible to parents and students.

Lowndes Middle School 2

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
LMS is an overcrowded school with a daily structure the prohibits most interaction between the students. These students are at an age when social groups should be established and it is a vital part of the maturing process. I think there are several really horrible teachers at this school who are dispersed one per 4-teacher team, this way each child only has one of these nightmare teachers a year, they are tenured, do not care, hate their jobs and punish the students for it daily. There are some really good, caring, dedicated teachers at this school as well. Since we as parents do not access to historical data on individual teachers - By the time you figure out which of your childs teachers is the bad seed - it's too late. This will be my childs last year there. We will put him in private school.

Lowndes Middle School 4

Posted February 14, 2006
- a parent
Overall, LMS is an excellent school. There are a few teachers who should work in another field as they don't seem to like kids. Most teachers are fabulous! The middle school teachers seem to work very hard to reach all the students. I wish that you could meet with just one or two teachers instead of the whole team - it is intimidating.


Lowndes Middle School 2

Posted March 13, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lowndes Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2004
- a parent
I think that lowndes middle school is a great school and every child should go here! I'm very glad that I go to this school! Any student that goes to this school will be told to do their best. I really enjoy going to this school and they have great students here. Thank you for makeing such a great and wonderful school. Thank you, A student!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowndes Middle School
2379 Copeland Rd, Valdosta, GA  31601
(229) 245-2280
Last modified Lowndes Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lowndes Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top