Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valdosta High School

Public | 9-12 | 1681 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I'm a parent of two wonderful, brilliant girls. Both attended VHS. My youngest daughter still attends and is a current Wildcat cheerleader for five consecutive years, my oldest was a Wildcat cheerleader as well for seven consecutive years and held cheer captain position during her senior year, was a graduate of class of 2010. I've read all the previous posts and agree, to a certain extent, to most. These past seven years of experience with Valdosta High School have been pretty remarkable! We first came to the area because we were an Air Force family, afterward we chose to make Valdosta our permenant home. I truly value Valdosta High School's faculty and ability to enhance my children's lives with not only academic knowledge but knowledge of life experiences in general. The school is worn down and in need of much repair! A much needed new site has been selected for the future home of the Wildcats. I definitely recommend VHS to any parent who choses Valdosta as their new home. Football is a HUGE part of this city as you will find; after all we are Title-town USA! GO CATS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

As the parent of an honor graduate I would like to state for the record, that my child attended this school for four years without any sighting of a rodent. The facilities are very clean. The student body is very diverse and interacts socially outside of the different ethnicities. My child has been well-educated and is prepared for college. The system does an excellent job educating gifted and talented students. I was advised to place my child in the city school system if it was rigor and academic achievement I desired for him. I have not been disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

As a Parent, I have found Valdosta High School to provide a very high level, college prep education. I am very surprised by the rating shown on here. I doubt those doing the rating have ever seen the School. We were new to the area and quite a few people attempted to steer us to the other School. Once we did our own research into test scores, the cirriculum, the athletic program, etc, we felt Valdosta High was the right place. Additionally, with the coming IB program, the School will become even better. If you're moving into this area, dont buy into some of the misinformation that is being spread by some who have ulterior motives. Do your own homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

Valdosta High is an ecellent school. The outcomes from college bound students are the best in the region. The new International Curiculum will further strengthen a great Advanced Placement program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I am disappointed and disheartened by the ridiculous rules and regulations implemented the 2007-8 school year. These are not children; they are young adults and should be treated as such with respect. I am fearful for my child's safety when the backlash ensues. I find it hard to believe the administration has any background in child psychology, and perhaps they don't. My husband and I are working diligently at moving from this area so that our children will have a better chance at a quality education in an environment conducive to allow this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

I think Valdosta High School is a wonderful institution, with a student body who really has pride in their school. These study performs well reguardless of the limited resources they have to work with. This school has a wonderful extracurricular program, which the students take great pride in. As parent, we need to become more involved and offer more support to our students. I will not have my child attend any other school in the state. Our pride in this school is alive a well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2005

I'm a senior at VHS and i really and truly love VHS. Some of my friends that have went to or is currently attending Lowndes High thinks that VHS students aren't as educated as them, even though i know that they are probably joking, but still. I have to disagree with that because I am a very smart student and I wouldn't want to change to another school for anything. The teachers are great and the students are also cool, I have many friends at VHS. And yeah it's true that we have rodent problems and whatever but hey that's something I can care less about right now. But I have to agree with the person that said that students that haven't passed all 5 parts of the graduation test should still get to walk. alesha c/o '06
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2005

I disagree with the current policy for graduation, even if a student does not pass the graduation test, they should be allowed to walk with their class. Some student may feel disregarded by their peers if this happens. thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Currently, I am but a mere freshmen in this high school. Though I am quite new to this school, I have found out many ups and downs of being here. The school is in dire need of new facilities and what not. The bathrooms are rundown and the classrooms are somewhat disturbing with small mice crawling and hardly any of the trash cans emptied. The teachers make this school an exception to live out my entire school year, though. The teachers here are exceptionally good at what they teach as well. Overall I appreciate this school and its faculty.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2005

I am currently a senior at Valdosta High and I don't have too many good things to say about my expereinces over the last four years, in which we have had 3 different principles. The biggest problem at VHS is the facilities. Having a pod set up with wall dividers between classrooms can be very distracting. Not to mention, sometimes when you're taking a test, you can hear another class being taught the same material that you're being tested on. Nevertheless, Teachers and students make the best of the situation and try to adapt to it. Altought,it is irritating to know that the school spent millions of dollars to build a new football stadium ( which was already in decent condition) instead of building new academic facilities that were needed. It seems like the people in power of the school system don't have their priorties in order.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2004

I am currently a student at Valdosta High and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Valdosta has one of the best athletic/extracurricular programs in the state, especially when it comes to football. The Wildcats boast the winningest football record in the NATION, and school spirit is one thing every student here unites in. The teachers at Valdosta are also very supportive and the courses offered are diverse. The only down side to this school is the old facilty, but thanks to SPLOST renovations and new buildings are being constructed every year. People like to point out race variances at VHS, but as far as I've seen students of different races get along and don't discriminate because of skin color.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2004

I have mixed emotions about my 4 years as a student here.Particularly, football receives best coaches, facilities, funding, and community support in country.Overall, participation on any VHS sport team is awesome experience.Outstanding, caring teachers are here, but they only teach Honors and AdvancedPlacement classes.At VHS, you MUST take Honors classes for solid background for college.Most VHS students completely don't care about education, thus you have a carefree,unmotivated environment.The Valdosta facility is bad;most classrooms are made from wall dividers.There are no windows;It is dirty, dark, and rat-infested,but I got used to it fast. If your from the north,you would think this school is still segregated,but its actually called racial preference.Blacks prefer to hang with Blacks and vice-versa.(i.e. eating on opposite lunchroom sides, parking in diff't lots)However, most everyone unites for school spirit(BTY, only ONE prom now)VHS has been a cultural eyeopener for me.. it was a rough experience sometimes,butI don't regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2004

I am a former student, not a parent of a student. I am appalled by the very poorly worded posts supposedly giving a 'review' of my school. Valdosta High School is one of Georgia's oldest high schools and, in my book, its top students are right up there with the very best public and private high school students in Atlanta, where I now live. The webmaster should read certain posts, recognize them for what they are (rantings of some disgruntled delinquent?), and weed them out. The best students at Valdosta High out-perform the best students of not only all of the other high schools in Lowndes County, but the VAST MAJORITY of high schools in Georgia. If you are considering high schools in Lowndes County, you should know that VHS's top students are the best, STILL, in Valdosta.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2004

Hey I was in the class of 2002. That was a few years back but so I don't know all the current gossip about it. I do know this: There maybe bad small town politics and if you visit it will appear to be slightly scary due to the fact that guys are just huge there. But there's no other school in Valdosta that I would have liked to go to. There we're any race problem during my time there. And it's amazing how the student body will unite in school spirit, while not everyone may love the football team, any graduate that hears someone comment on how they aren't what the team use to be, will defend it. Cause VHS teaches more then just academics, it teaches to be a unite and love what you are, and when you're there you're a wildcat. c/o '02
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2004

Valdosta High School is a school that used to be thought high of, but now it has hit rock bottom. The assistant principals are unfair and the principal, Dr. Craft, has no control over us. This school also has a serious cleanliness problem, we have rats, mice, and roaches. I would strongly recommend sending your child to another school. am currently a student here and it is a horrible place. will ganas
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

349 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
32%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 37%
White 21% 44%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rufus McDuffie
Fax number
  • (229) 333-8584

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3101 N Forrest St
Valdosta, GA 31602
Phone: (229) 333-8540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lowndes High School
Valdosta, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT