Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Open Bible Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 340 students

We are best known for winning athletic programs.

 
 

Living in Valdosta

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $136,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

The teachers and staff are all awesome. The best decision we have made thus far in regards to our child's education is sending her to Open Bible. We just enrolled our son for next year too. They offer an awesome Christ centered curriculum. The teachers are all patient and truly care about the children. Every time my daughter has been sick I get a personal email from her teacher, I have a hard time believing you would get that at a public school. The tuition is super reasonable. You will not regret sending your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

I switched my child to Open Bible Christian school and it has been one of the best decisions that I've made since moving to Valdosta. The third grade teacher is wonderful. A true blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Awesome school for anyone who wants an excellent education and christian formation for his child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

They have terrific teachers who enjoy and really love the children. You can tell that they are there not only because of a job but because they really love what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! My son has been there for 2 years and yes there was adjusting that had to be done, but for the first time he was at a school that cared what the kids learned and looked like (no more kids in pj's at school.. unless its PJ Day..lol) The teachers are very helpful when it comes to how to correct some of the things my son is doing wrong (in both our eyes). I am shocked by some of these reviews because my son has had his share of days when he was bad there and I had to go get him (he hit a student (he's 5)) and they were very anti-spacking and gave me helpful ideas and now he no longer does that! This school does that some adjusting esp. when your coming from a public school/daycare where your kid could do whatever they wanted!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

i love it because the children learn about there savior and who is the real god


Posted January 18, 2009

I think they waist time and have way too much play time for the high school students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

Open bible seem to be an ok school at first but my son was not happy.He couldnt be a child and because he didnt want to part with me during the morning,it was told to me that maybe something was wrong with him.My child is a typical toddler and what the school fails to realize is that all children doesnt react in the same way.I have finally started to listen to my child about his feelings and happiness.The school also believes that spanking is the answer to everything !! since i removed my child a change has come within him.He's very happy !!! god knows ive done the right thing.Also i feel that my personal situation what was going on with my child wasnt kept in confidence.Since november 5th a change in attitude has happened!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Open Bible School is overall an excellent school. I do not like the unconcerned attitude Mr Smith gives when I go to him for assistance. Most times I call the school in an attempt to contact him he will not speak to me directly. Instead, his staff relays the information. As I parent who pays tution, support school fundrasiers and other activities I am not satisified with his leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

OBCS Is the BEST school you could ever possibly go to! I have been there for a long time! I just love the teachers and the students! The sports are AWESOME! Especially, the basketball teams, the girls team have won four state championships in a row! Also, the baseball team has won two championships in the past years! So I would never go to a different school, I abolutely love it at this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

The best decision we ever made as parents. We love the education, the teachers, and most of all the hope and encouragement offered through the truthful teaching of Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

As a military family schools are always a scary endevour. We chose OBCS after careful review of local Public & Private schools. Their teachers are loving & well equipped.The school is organized and friendly and the tution and fee's are very reasonable. OBCS offers parents the opportunity to be involved in our childrens education. We love OBCS and will greatly miss it after we move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

open bible has touched my heart and has helped me in lift to see Gods goodness everyday. attending this school is one of the best things to ever happen to me and i will never forget how much this school loved me. i will do anything for this school and may God continue to bless it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

I have sent my daughter there for 3 years. The pre-k 4 teachers are great sfter that they down hill. My daughter is in the 1st grade there they are constently asking for donations and sharing school supplies that i bought for my child. I recently recieved a letter stating that because i did not give enough to the chuch i.E. Dues, that i would no longer recieve my 25% discount, see at obcs if you are a church member you get a school dicount. No one ever called to see if everything was okay. We are not rich but everyone there assumes because you go there you are. A big dissapointment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

Our son has attended OBCS for several years now. We had a horrible experience with Dewar and sought out a quality alternative. We found it in OBCS!! Every teacher we have met enjoys teaching and enjoys the children! Mr. Smith is always walking about keeping tabs on the kids and making sure everything runs well, unlike public school if i have an issue i can take it directly to him or Mrs Joy and have it resolved quickly, no red tape, no beaureaucrats, just quality education, given by quality educators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

Most of the teachers are sweet and are good influences on the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

I love obcs because they have nice teachers. In 7th grade u can try out for Cheerleading,Baseball,Basketball,Softball,and Soccer.I been going to obcs for 1 year.I love it there and i have my friends there too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

I have to say I've been at Open Bible since I was in K-4 and everyday is a learning experience. Yes we have smaller classes than a normal school, but that doesn't effect what goes on everyday. I play basketball and my coaches are just not looked upon as coaches. They listen, give good advice and pray for me. And that is why I love them so much. STATECHAMPS! Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to go to a different school but then I remember I have friends here that I've known since elementary. Their are so many opportunities to learn and to have fun. I have two more years till I graduate but I can guarantee you that I will make everyday a day my class will always remember.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2007

I've attended Open Bible since I was in first grade, and I absolutely love it. I have great friends, and great teachers. There is always something going on and a million ways to get involved in the school. There is something for everyone to do. We have cheerleading, basketball, softball, baseball, soccer, and a lot of fine arts programs like chorus, solos, ensembles, there are some speaking catagories i don't know what to call, and a lot of other categories too. The atmosphere is wonderful. I always feel welcomed and loved. The academics are great, I absolutely love my science classes, I've never had so much fun learning and no one has made it so simple to learn either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2006

My daughter attended Pre-K 4 here and it was 'okay.' My daughter was bored and frustrated and learned very, very little. When we complained mid-year, my daughter magically developed sudden behavior problems! The only thing she enjoyed was Chapel, and the Christmas program, and I was encouraged to particpate in classroom projects. She is now in public school, attending gifted class and accelerated reading and is much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 44%
Black 15% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Valdosta State University
University of Georgia
Georgia Military College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Peter D. Smith
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (229) 244-1687

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valdosta State University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3992 North Oak Street Extension
Valdosta, GA 31605
Phone: (229) 244-6694

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT