Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Valwood School

Private | PK-12 | 380 students

Our school is best known for our challenging college prep academic program.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

My child has attended Valwood for the past two years. As a college educator, I believe the school offers a rigerous curriculum that challenges students and prepares them for post-secondary education. After talking to students at other schools in the area, I am confident that Valwood's academic standards and expectations exceed those of surrounding schools. The teachers and administrators are caring, compassionate, and take great interest in my child's well-being and success; however, grades are earned (no grade inflation here). The majority of students are sweet and are just trying to navigate that difficult path to adulthood (my child is in 7th grade). The sports offerings are fantastic, and every child has a chance to participate. Also, 20% of the students receive financial assistance. So, Valwood is not just for "rich kids". Finally, I am very impressed with the Headmaster and the middle school dean. The Headmaster is energetic and forward thinking and continues to improve the school each year. He strives to admit kids with good character and who have a variety of interests. The dean is caring yet commands respect and is receptive to parents' concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

I was a student at Valwood from pre-k to 9th grade. This is a terrible school. Everyone here is snobby and very rude. There is a lot a bully that goes on that teachers purposely ignore. In the class room, the teachers have no idea what they are taking about, and the ones that did do not teach at Valwood anymore. All they do in class is read off a powerpoints, which some teachers don't even make. I watch classmates cheat on tests all the time, and even when the teacher sees it, no one does anything about it. And the amount of homework given is outrageous, way to much to be able to to finish in time. Do not attend Valwood, you will regret it.


Posted September 15, 2010

I've been a Valwood parent for over nine years. Currently, I have three children at Valwood. I have kids in the middle and lower schools. My husband and I chose Valwood because of its reputation for high academic standards, safe environment and small class sizes. We have been extremely pleased with the school in every area. The academic standards are very high. The work level can be challenging but our children have had absolutely no problem managing the workload. They have consistently maintained As in their classes and have scored above the 95th percentile on all nationally standardized tests. The middle school sports program is fantastic. My children have been able to participate in multiple sports; something they would have a much harder time doing in the local public systems. The teachers and administration have been knowledgeable, approachable and cooperative over the years. The new interim headmaster is fabulous and I understand he will have a lot of input on the choice for the permanent headmaster. All in all, I cannot recommend Valwood highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

I have been a Valwood parent for over ten years and feel my children are truly receiving a great education. I also know that what my children learn is tied to their efforts both in the classroom and in extra curricular activities. Valwood offers the opportunities both in the classroom and out of the classroom but it is up to the students and parents to grab those opportunities and run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My children attended this school for a partial year before moving to another private school in the area. The kids (and some teachers) were so snotty. My children hated it there. I think the curriculum is a tad above average. They would like to believe they are on par with Bolles in Jax. But this is FAR from the case. Definately not worth the costs associated with this school. The kids in the elementary level grades have a boat load of homework every night! If you plan to attend here, don't associate A LOT of work with a quality school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I just enrolled my son at Valwood recently. It seems to be a really caring and nurturing environment. My son does have a lot more scholwork and testing then he had at his previous school, but I definitely think that this school has a lot more to offer academically. The only thing the school is lacking is diversity among student's and staff member's. Obviously in the real world you are going to deal with all types of peple, so a little more diversity I think would help teach tolerance and understanding for all! Overall, excellent school and i'm glad we made the choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I could not be more pleased with Valwood. It is a warm and nurturing environment as well as very academically challenging. If your child is a poor student it is not a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

My son attended Valwood last year. Get your checkbook out....... you get what you pay for. It is in no way worth the money. Public school has much more to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

Great school for the kids that need to be challenged. My son really enjoys Valwood and now looks forward to attending all classes. If your considering a school where you son or daughter has the abilty to handle the class work challenges. And would like to be with a group of athelics that like the oppurtunties to be competitive against the competiton, Valwood is not the place. Tution, is higher than the schools in its class. Investigate tution cost against test scores, college placement, etc to the other schools of this caliber. Tution cost cannot be justified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

its a great school and is very safe and fun.If your daughter or son is not making an atheletic team or put second come to valwood where there are no tryouts and we need players
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2008

My son attends Valwood as it is the only college preparatory school in the area. I want him to be challenged and he became bored in the public system. He attended middle school at a public school in Georgia (not Lowndes) and we did not feel that it compared to what we were used to in the north. So yes, I am pleased with Valwood though it is a little $$ for the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

My daughter attends Valwood and we just lovethe school. The teachers take an active interest in the children. Because it is a private school, there is more individualized attention. It really feels like a family. The only downside is that there is not a lot of diversity within the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

My child attended Valwood from Pre-K through 9th grade. I was satisfied with the majority of his education until we reached the upper school level. However...the teachers not being certified in their teaching field tends to surface when they reach the high school level. Excellent for lower school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Valwood School is decent overall, while some areas are lacking, the history departmant is excellent and does a good job of challenging the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

Valwood has great potential. It's mission statement is a wonderful one. However, no one seems to have any authority. Teachers have a hard time punishing problem students and certain administrators seem scared to do anything. Valwood seems to be short on funding. Every year the tuition goes up and the school gets more and more desperate for new students. As a result the school is accepting students not based on academics, but on the fact that they represent income. But Valwood, even with it's flaws is by far the best school in the area. I would send my children to Valwood over public schools anyday. What Valwood represents is potential. Students who apply themselves and take advantage of the resources at hand are sure to go on to bigger and better things. Valwood has potential that needs to be utilised.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2007

I love Valwood it is such a great school. The teachers are very intrested in the students learning ablities and try to healp children that need the most help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2005

Academics are great and class sizes are small. Some of the upper school teachers are not certified. The behavior of some students is not favorable and rarely is the poor behavior addressed other than a detention. Bullying does take place and it is more apparents since it is a smaller school More attention needs to be paid to students harrassing other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

Valwood is an excellent college preparatory school located in South Georgia. The class sizes are small and students receive individualized attention in the classroom. The curriculum is challenging and students are encouraged to reach their highest potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 4% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Georgia
Valdosta State University
Davidson College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Darren Pascavage
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (229) 245-7894

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • On-Line Classes
  • Virtual school
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Student Success Coordinator
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Valdosta State University
  • Wiregrass Technical College
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skeet Shooting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Skeet Shooting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Girl scouts
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Georgia
Valdosta State University
Davidson College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4380 Old US Hwy 41 North
Valdosta, GA 31604
Website: Click here
Phone: (229) 242-8491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Fairyland Elementary School
Lookout Mountain, GA


Dade Middle School
Trenton, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT