Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 618 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2012

My daughter had Ms. Jackson as a Kindergarten teacher. My child learned to read within a week! She went above and beyond for these children. The school is awesome and everyone is so sweet
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

Parkwood teachers care about their students. They ensure that each students' needs are met. They go the extra mile.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 6, 2008

I attended Parkwood when six grade was still part of the school. My oldest attended Parkwood and now our youngest daughter is there, pre-k and now k. Because of the area the school is located it's considered a low-income school. However, it is a wonderful school even with behavioral problems from some of the students. Yes, it is appalling to hear some of these 'children' speak and act but it is no fault of the faculties or staff. How would you like it if you got stuck with all these children for almost 8 hours of the day? I have 2 full-time children at home and it's hard on me. Yes, accademically the school can be better but these teachers are doing the best they can. Good manners and respect starts in the home and from their own parents. But some families don't have these luxery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I have three kids that went to this school for year 1/2 the first year was a great i had one in kengranden and on in first. Then the next year i had my son go to the pre-k program it was so awful the teacher had no control over the class i and other parents had consens about the teacher. I had two other children in pre k and never ahad this consern like this. So needlist to say took them out of the school. It was a wonderful school just the pre k was a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

Finally my kids are finished with Parkwood. That school is out of control and lack of respect and decency displayed by too many kids is appalling. Parkwood is good at 'sweeping issues under a rug' and catering to select groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

My daughter has attended Parkwood since Kindergarten, she starts middle school next year. I think all the teachers are excellent, the staff is friendly and helpful. There were a few snags through the years as different principals have come and gone. But I have always valued the teachers. They have always encouraged parent participation. My daughter adores this school and has excelled well academically. I really hate to see her have to leave for middle school, but I know she has been given a great foundation from Parkwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

I disagree with the parent in regard to the administration. My daughter has attended this school her entire elementary years, and will go to middle school next year. I have always gotten a warm welcome from the office staff to the custodians to the lunchroom attendents. The teachers are excellent. We had Ms. Bard in 1st grade and I believe she is teaching 2nd. Ms Hall for 3rd and 4th was outstanding and a former teacher of the year. She treats the kids as if they are her own. This year we transitioned from Ms. Williams in 5th grade, she left during the school year because of a military spouse. Even Ms. bowmar in k5 was and still is an outstanding educator. This school's only problem ws the transitioning from principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

I have attended this school in 1972 - 1974 and my children have attended this school with one more in 5th grade this year. There have been a lot of changes with the quality of education in Houston County. There seems to be a lot of bringing down the top to meet the bottom instead of bringing the bottom up, so the level of instruction is tainted, you have children who want to learn more but cant beacuse they have to 'wait' for the bottom to catch up. Also to whoever reads this let me assure you, you NEVER have to make an appointment to see the teacher or principal of any school, we pay their salary as taxpayers, they welcome you to come see what goes on in YOUR schools. Go see what actually goes on in school, spend the day with your kids in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

I agree with the parent comment about the office/ administration. You don't always receive a warm welcome. They want it their way or no way. I do, however, think the teachers are doing a great job, but I wonder about their morale?


Posted October 6, 2003

My daughter has attended Parkwood for two years and the experience has been remarkable. The school is blessed to have at least two exceptional educators in the persons of Ms Lemon (K) and Mrs. Scott (1st Grade)! Keep up the great work!


Posted June 3, 2003

My child has been at Parkwood for two years now. He had a wonderful experience during his Kindergarten year. He really had a great teacher. As for the front office staff and principal, don't expect a warm greeting when visiting the school. Make sure you have an appointment!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 37%
White 23% 44%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lisa C Casilli
Fax number
  • (478) 542-2273

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

503 Parkwood Dr
Warner Robins, GA 31093
Phone: (478) 929-7822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westside Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


Miller Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


Sacred Heart
Warner Robins, GA


Lindsey Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


Christian Life
Warner Robins, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT