Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warner Robins Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 27, 2010

The school has excellent teachers. They keep the students in their places most of the time. The principal is awesome. He helped with everything. I was in honors and regular ed had to come in and they diidn't know what we were talking about so i can say it has good programs. It has good leadership. To me it was great. Great people and everything


Posted May 6, 2010

I am sick of the violence at this school! I get picked on alot and I am not even giving people a reason to pick on me. I think Dr. Warren could be doing a little bit better, but that's just coming from a kid. I also don't have much say in my classes. I am going to private school next year just to get away from the violence!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2010

I agree with the parent that posted the April 3, 2010 comment. The violence in this school has to do with the overall culture of the students that attend this school and bulleying that goes unchecked. Much of the bulleying is seen as 'no big deal', but in often times escalates to much worse! Incidentally, this is certainly not the only school that 'sweeps' improper conduct and violation of school and board policies under the rug. The blame for much of that, rests with the members of the Board of Education and the Superintendent of Schools ultimately. The retirement of the current School Superintendent will be a plus to this county's system; however, if the next Superintendent is from within, which appears it will be, the many challenges in the school system will only be perpetuated. 'Conflicts of interest' must vanish from HOCO Schools!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2010

The level of student to student violence at this school prompted me to pull my child out of public school and place in to a private school. The administrative staff at the school and at the board were impotent to establish a plan or policy to deal with the violence. On more than one occasion the results of this violence were swept under the rug and hidden from parents and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

i luv warner robins im in sixth grade and its the best dr.warren and mr.andrew are so nice they really help
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

So far so good, My son is in 6th grade and he loves the school. The teachers are very nice and caring. They communicate well when needed. Nov 2009
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I have been very pleased with the school. I am a former WRMS student. We had 2 problems with other kids but Dr. Warren and Dr. Leach took care of quickly. As far as the comment goes from the other parent on this page about the school doesnt help with self esteem, that might be a part of the parenting skills too. I try to participate in all the open houses, extra things the teachers do for the students and for some reason not too many parents attend. Like math night, science night...extra little classes. I have been happy with the teachers and I have their emails to stay in touch and have always had quick response from them. My daughter LOVES the school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

This school is the epitome of a garbage school. This is a waste of tax dollars, and a huge disgrace to the potentially outstanding students who are forced to attend because of zoning and/or lack of money to attend private. There is no accountability for teachers, and there is no support system for a child with low self-esteem. I am relocating for the sole purpose of sending my child elsewhere. If you can-- you should do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I had an Honors student in WRMS for 2 yrs and was pleased with the program. The teachers were available if she needed tutoring and I felt the workload challenged her. I keep a line of communication going with the teachers all year, they know me and I know them. I have the same relationship with the principals and it makes a huge difference. I don't wait until there's a problem to contact a teacher or the principal. I did have some issues with some of the teachers she did have, and I handled it with the teacher & the principal so they know I am a no- nonsense parent and the rest of the year was fine. I now have another child starting WRMS and am looking forward to it. Be an involved parent and it will make a difference!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I, personally, do not care for much of the faculty at WRMS, nor the WRMS principal. This is the 4th year that I have had children at WRMS. In those four years, very few of the teachers I have spoken with seemed to have my child's best interest in mind. If my children were not bound by school zones, I would certainly transfer them to a different school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

i attend wrms.and as a student i think this school rocks.=] the teachers are great and the involvement from the staff is even better. when people say that the parents arent involed people look at the teachers and the principla and blame it on them but its the parnets fault.everyone there trys their hardest to to do whatever they can to make the school one of the best in warener robins ga. sincerly....some 8th grader...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2006

Giving break detention for every little thing is too much. Teachers need to pick there battles and not give break detention for every little thing they do wrong. Tried to get teachers to communicate with me when my child acts up but they wouldn't call me. Seems in middle school my daughter had discipline problems there but somehow they disappear in high school. She did not change her attitude but high school teachers seem to know how to handle students better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

Our son is an upcoming 8th grader at WRMS. My husband and I have been very pleased with the quality of education he's achieved in at Warner Robins Middle. We are also very, very pleased with the support we receive from his 7th grade team of teachers (especially Ms. Bembry, his Science teacher) and most of all the administration. Kudos, Dr. Warren and Mrs. Cooper! Keep up the magnificent work!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2005

I feel the school has done an great job; with their students.I also feel they have put up with a 'great deal of nonsense from the parents in some cases'.I give them an A+ for the misshaps they have to go through each year. I feel that if you allow them to their job without every parents ruinous behavior;They do a wonderful job. THANK YOU FOR YOUR FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK. I do not know how you people can deal with such beleaguering behavior. Yours Truly, Quinita Jackson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

I have 2 boys attending Warner Robins Middle School. One is in 6th grade, the other is in 7th. I have found the extent of parent involvement lax. I have had to attend several conferences for both of my children to beg for parental involvement. Both of my children entered this school with A's and B's. My 6th grader is now making f's, when he started in honors. My 7th grader is now making C's when he entered the school, he had only A's and B's. The Principal seems to be very 'aggressive' in his communications with both my children and me.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

243 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 44%
Black 38% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donald Warren
Fax number
  • (478) 929-7834

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 Mary Ln
Warner Robins, GA 31088
Phone: (478) 929-7832

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Feagin Mill Middle School
Warner Robins, GA


Watson Center
Warner Robins, GA


Sacred Heart
Warner Robins, GA


Northside Middle School
Warner Robins, GA


Huntington Middle School
Warner Robins, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT