Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Joy Primary School

Public | PK-2

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

Bad school the teachers do not care about the child's education they are not professional at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

If you give this school a lot of donation, your child will be sweet automatically. BUT, if you don't give any donation, your child will be dumb, and foolish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Notice how the 5 stars were before 2010. That was the last year for Mrs Loggins. This new principle is terrible, terrible, terrible!!!!!! please change her! my son went to the office for not sitting down apparently in the first month, and hes only in kindergarten!! are you serious??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

If you think about enrolling your child to this school, beware of how the teachers are liars and the principle takes side with the teachers. So much for a "5 star school."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Not satisfied with this school, nor pleased. Bad teachers, staff, and principle. Dislike this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2013

It looks as if the only way your review can remain posted on this site is if you give this Lake Joy Primary 3 stars or better. So much for honesty. I'm sure this review will be deleted as well. No matter the truth always come out in the end. If any parent value their child's education, being treated fairly by the principal and it's teachers and not have your child be systematically bullied, I would suggest you think twice about enrolling your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

We moved to the area for my work at Robins Air Force Base. We have been very pleased with the teachers, the facilities, and the kids. The lunches aren't necessarily the most nutritious, but part of that goes with living in the south where everything is fried. The children are well-behaved and polite. I have been aware of one instance of bullying, and the principal immediately took action and the problem was solved. Like any school, a lot of your experience depends on which teachers your children end up with. We have experienced 3 different teachers now and all of them have been good. The only star I take off is for parental involvement. Yes, there are many parents that are willing to help contribute, but there is sometimes a bit of dead weight where people don't pull their weight. But overall still 4 starts for parent particiaption.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Very nice friendly school. The AYP status is a plus!


Posted May 27, 2009

Best teachers and staff in the county! Can't ask for a better primary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

All 3 of my boys go tho Lake Joy Primary and the staff and teachers are wonderfull!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. The teachers are fabulous and will become part of your family. They truly love what they are doing and it shows. I loved how parents were involved and welcome in the classroom (very different from NY where we lived previously!). The principal is probably the best I have ever seen. Like I said, can't say enough great things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Entire teachers and staff are wonderful with children and parents. Quality of academics are great. School is also very clean. My daughter loves the art and music classes as well as her academic teachers. The Principal is really great with the children. My daughter loves Mrs. Loggins. The teachers really work well with each child. My family and I really love this school. Others that I have spoken with are also very pleased with the staff at Lake Joy Elm. 2005/2006 Staff - Overall A+++++
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

146 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

146 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

180 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

180 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

180 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 44%
Black 19% 37%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

995 Lake Joy Rd
Warner Robins, GA 31088
Phone: (478) 953-0465

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lake Joy Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA



Quail Run Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


Perdue Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT