Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Huntington Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I currently go to hms and it's horrible I feel like all the teachers really care about is their pay checks and when we don't pass or ace a assignment the claim that's it's our fault most of the learning we do is independent. No Wonder Why Were A Focus School. Our Principal Doesn't Even Speak correct English.


Posted March 20, 2014

HMS is by far the worst middle school in Houston County. As far as administration goes anyway. I have to agree with the previous parent. The teachers are amazing...In a perfect world in which your student can go to school and learn without any issues, he or she will be fine. But in the event there is an issue that you need to address, do not expect any administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

This is my son's first year at HMS, he is a 6th grader. HMS is a beautiful school, however, it is not a lot a parental involement. My son loves sports, but cannot play until the 7th grade, a lot of middle schools in the county operates in this manner so nothing personally against HMS, but I do believe 6th graders should be able to form a team even if they don't compete. It'll give them something to do. My son is a honor student, and only one of his teachers keep my husband and I abreast to what is going on daily. I think more of the teachers can do a better job with communicating with the parents. My daughter will attend next year, so I'll try to stay optimistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

The honor children are not given credit for all the hard work that the teachers and students put into their days. The principle does not see that they make a difference in her overall scores and thinks that she has special ed students who score higher than her honors children. She does run the school like a boot camp and I do feel my child is safe but the disappointment of knowing that she never has any rewards or praise for all the hard work is very sad. The honors teachers are wonderful and teach with their hearts and make the unthankful feeling go away while the children are in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2012

Focus school (not good). Poor principal leadership. Little to no parent involvement. Sagging pants and inconsistent student dress code enforcement make for a very poor impression of this school.


Posted January 25, 2012

Huntington Middle School is the Best!! We shine like nothing else :) My name is Ta'Mia Ilasa Caldwell and I am a 7th Grader on the AllStars Team here at Huntington Middle School!! We have amazing teachers and amazing staff!! #1 in the County for: 7th Grade Football,7th Grade Cheer,and 7th Grade Girls Basketball!! I am soo blessed to be attending this school and happy too :) Aint no competition like the real competition cuz the real competition is HMS :)!!! Big Shoutout to The 7th Grade AllStars Team !!! Mrs.Busby Mr.Bohnstedt Ms.Askew and Ms.Lucas for being such great teachers :) Thank you!


Posted April 28, 2010

i attend huntington and i think its an awesome school....not 5 stars cause nobodys perfect lol
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2010

when i went to Huntington, i loved it! we learned alot of things, and had a great time. i love all the teachers there too. they are so nice and will help you with anything! new kids fit right it! i miss it soo much! i loved it and i think u would too!!


Posted March 27, 2010

The school is below average. The curriculum is not challenging, but rather easy compared to other schools outside of Georgia. The teachers and councilors are not all the great either. This area has seen it's fair share of violence, and is not the safest place for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

I was a student at this school for one year, and it was absolutely the worst year of my life. I felt intimidated by the teachers and students, leading to stress that did not help my grades. The teachers seemed much more concerned with discipline than learning,(and I won't even go into the ridiculous rules which are extreme even for Georgia) which created rebellious students, or in my case, students that just felt defeated. This is probably the reason why sometimes caged animals will not eat. I can honestly say I aquired the least knowledge and friends that year than in any other year of school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

Great school. They start everyday saying there school creed that ends like this 'I will not waste today'. I love this school and love all the teachers. The teachers wont take 'I cant do this' or 'This is to hard'. If your child is troubling they'll help them. I LOVE HUNTINGTON AWESOME MIDDLE SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

Huntington Middle School provides a safe and creative learning environment for a diverse student body. The teachers are excellent because the principal is an outstanding orchestrator of directives and provides an exceptional level of support for the assistant principals, counselors, administrative staff, custodians, cafeteria personnel and volunteers. Keep up the good work Dr. Taylor. Our children appreciate the opportunities you give them to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

My son is entering his second year at Huntington and I am excited about the upcoming school year. This is an outstanding school. Excellence and caring are exemplified from the top down. It begins with the administration, led by Dr. Taylor, who demonstrates a caring and concern for her teachers and staff, students and parents. Everyone I came in contact with this past year at this school was kind, caring, and helpful. The education my son received this year was awesome. He is actually excited about this upcoming school term....a new and wonderful thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I feel that the school and its personnel exemplify its leadership. Dr. Taylor has a sincere heart for education and the welfare of all students. It is also evident that her administration is well disciplined. I appreciate the opportunity my child has at Huntington. The school is exemplary of how a public school should look and feel. I have no complaints thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This school has been a huge disappointment for my family, my son has been there for 2 years and I can honestly say the leadership is the poorest I have ever seen (i.e. principle and assistant principle). I have never had a phone call returned. My sons grades reflect the poor leadership. The teachers are the greatest I have seen in a long time, maybe the leaders of the school should learn a little something from the teachers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

245 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 37%
White 42% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gwendolyn Taylor
Fax number
  • (478) 542-2247

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 Wellborn Rd
Warner Robins, GA 31088
Phone: (478) 542-2240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Watson Center
Warner Robins, GA


Sacred Heart
Warner Robins, GA



Warner Robins Middle School
Warner Robins, GA


Northside Middle School
Warner Robins, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT