Advertisement
Advertisement

Briarwood Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Warrenton

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $72,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $536.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2008

I'm very concerned about the lack of diversity. Why doesn't the school, parents, and teachers encourage all students to attend this school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I was in the public school system for 30+ years. I have now taught at Briarwood for three years. The major differences are: the vast majority of the student body is capable of learning at a normal grade level with many able to tackle the advanced courses. Many public schools don't have near the same percent at this level. Discipline at Briarwood is well-behaved with classes that allow the teacher to teach. From the headmaster to the principal to the teachers, all work to uplift students to their highest level of ability. Extracurricular activities are availble for almost any student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2007

My son attended Briarwood Academy when we moved from another area. It was the right move for him. The students, faculty, and administration welcomed him and made him so comfortable, even loved. What a positive experience for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

Hi I'm Kayla Boatright and I used to go to that school I really miss it so..... much and now that I'm homeschooled I kinda miss my friends!~
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2004

The administrators, faculty, and students at this school are truly a 'family.' It's nice to know that teachers care for children so much and are willing to go the extra mile for them. Discipline has never been a problem and my children feel safe and secure here. The extra-curricular activities, although limited, are very successful and participants are given full credit for their achievements (TV, radio, newspaper). This school is based on Christian principals but the religious aspect is not pushed on anyone, and patriotism means something here. I wish I had sent my children here from the time they entered Kindergarten. They were amazed at the difference between this school and the public schools in this county when they were able to start here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

I graduated from here in 1987 and now my son goes here. I feel like that he is really learning alot and they really stress the importance of education here. They give alot of support to the students. Also parents are encouraged to be involved and they are. The low student/teacher ratio is a big plus. My child actually loves reading and loves to get good grades!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 40%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 10%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4859 Thomson Hwy
Warrenton, GA 30828
Phone: (706) 595-5641

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT