Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 399 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

Teachers are Excellent!!! They caring and teaching students so well. Just 3 months, my Kindergarten kid can read Kindergarten book, but when we moved to another school, my kid forgot every words she learned from this school, and don't know how to read. Always seen the old lady cleanup in school all the time, they are cleaned. Kids are not running in school, and go in that blue lane on the sides. One thing i don't like is the old lady in front office, bell ring at 7:45am, but the kids get in school at 7:42am -7:43am, she stopped all kids and wrote them a Tardy Pass. She is mean mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

They really care about the kids here they work with the parents to provide the best learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

I had the wonderful experience of student teaching at this school. It is truly a great school, and I am extremely impressed by the staff members. This school has great community and motivation for their students. The teachers and staff are some of the best I have ever worked with!


Posted June 8, 2010

West Point Elementary school is the best school inTroup County. The administrators and staff are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I have two kids at this school. The staff and the administrators genuinely care about them. The school is clean and discipline is very good. The staff is always eager to help with any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

My son has attended this school for 3 years. Without fail, his teachers have worked hard to meet his educational and social needs. He loves going to school. It appears all the other students do, too. The school administrators are super! They are always visible and maintain high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

my little girl went to the local pvt school for prekindergarden but iI can already see the quality of the teachers and the caring attitude from the staff and especially the principal at west point elementry are far superior
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

my son has type1 diabetes and the staff was helpful in his return . everyone was so nice to him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

We also moved our children from the local private school to West Point Elementary and we are so impressed with parent involvement and academic programs. The faculty members and administration are awesome. Our children love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Our child recently transfered to West Point Elementary from a nearby private school and we love it. The teachers are energetic and the coursework seems more demanding. There is more opportunity for enrichment activities and fine arts than in the private school curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I don't know what the reviewer from April 2004 is talking about. My wife and I have enjoyed the years our three children have spend at West Point and only a racist or snob would not be pleased with this school! The staff (and especially the teachers) are wonderful and easy to communicate with! It's a great school that's built around community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

this school is in a poor section of town, but it is a wonderful school. The principle cares about the children so much as do the teachers. It is clean and friendly. My kids have gotten a great education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

The first day I took my daughter to school there were thugs hanging out at the stop signs and lights...I immediately locked my doors. There are some fantastic teachers here and there, but for the most part I had a hard time dealing with the staff....they were almost always rude and short-tempered. I would sooner home-school my children rather than allow them to return to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 37%
White 32% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jan Franks
Fax number
  • (706) 812-1250

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 E 12th St
West Point, GA 31833
Phone: (706) 812-7973

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Lagrange Academy
LaGrange, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT