Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


White Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Definitely need to be more up to speed on more modern ways to teach children. Common core is a bunch of baloney.

White Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
In kindergarten, it was entirely too much. All of the schools are assigning way too much homework these days trying to make our children's mind work harder than it needs to be for their age. It's all about them test scores and the teachers getting to keep their jobs from year to year.


White Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
ABSOLUTELY NOT! Using totally outdated information to teach children with dyslexia. If your child has dyslexia, do not go there. Other public schools are more progressive and making their teacher earn certifications that specialize in how to use multisensory approaches to learning. If you want your child to learn to spell and all your child has to do is check the box of the correct spelling word, then you'll be just fine there. They need some serious continuing education credit mandation, and not just on the items they want to pick to be their CEU's.

White Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
My child acts respectable because I teach her to be respectable at home. I don't expect the teachers to have to do that for me.

White Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are very pleasant such as Ms. McClure. However, every time I'm there I swear I hear a teacher yelling at a child for about something they could have said without yelling. One teacher said "What part of stop did you not hear?" We don't need sarcasm like that in our schools.; also yelling at students that want to talk during lunch is ridiculous. Their on a break, by all means let them talk. It's sad. They can't talk with the "quiet" music is playing. It's almost cruel.


White Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
There is no continuity between teachers. I received information my child was struggling in certain areas in her IEP, but at the meeting, they acted like everything was dandy and they acted as if they didn't really want to hear my concerns and wanted to leave. It was like a cut and paste IEP from some text book. Horrible.

White Elementary School 2

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
They haven't the slightest idea how to properly teach a child with dyslexia. They use no multi sensory approaches, although they claim they do. I've not seen it used once. If your child has a special need at all, get them out of there! I didn't rate them terrible, because I do think they are on top of security as far as keeping the children safe.

White Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
School is ok. They are very busy glorifying the CRCTs at the school and seem to care less about providing a nurturing environment for children. It's a shame because it seems like there is potential at White Elementary. There are a few great teachers at this school, but the majority of them consider it a "job". Lacking in extra-curricular activities, and the PTO seems to be highly-driven to take money consistently from children and parents. I added it up and with the PTO costs and school costs, I averaged a good portion for tuition at a private school. In addition, the Board of Education doesn't really care for its children and behave contrary to what they say they are doing. We are moving out of district for our children's education.


White Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a parent
My oldest son went to White Elementary from 2004-2010 and my youngest started in 2010, he is currently in 1st grade. I had known of the school long before I had children and did not have a great impression at the time. After the past seven years I am glad I did not change where my son went to school. The teachers are tough, but they are also patient and caring. Both my children are very outgoing, and they have always kept communication strong and kept them in line, yet it is clear that they have truly cared for my child. I look forward to the next five years as my second child progresses through this school.

White Elementary School 3

Posted July 09, 2011
- a parent
I have had two children at this school, and we are moving districts. I've heard great things about White Elem., and agree the atmosphere is positive and organized, the Principal and Assistant Principal are involved and quick to resolve issues, and they care for their special needs children. But, they are lacking in extra-curricular activities (science, chess, math club, etc), there is too much rigidity in making the kids freeze while the announcements are on, and little follow through on enrolling your child in programs they suggest unless you are on top of it. They could improve on challenging children who are bored by utilizing academic programs offered in other elementary schools. It seems that there is very little parent involvement, and the school suffers as a result. It is hard to say anything negative because the staff are all caring and you get the home-town feel. But, the school doesn't really serve the high-achieving child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

White Elementary School
505 Colonel Way, White, GA  30184
(770) 606-5869
Last modified White Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
White Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top