Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Little River Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1338 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

Little River Elementary is the biggest in our county having 1335 students at present time! We are the Eagles~ and we soar higher!!! We pride ourselves in being a family type community!! Our Garden Club is a learning garden for the children! LRE is very anti~bully and all students take part in the program. We stress being kind to one another...have all become 'bucket fillers!!!!'.Accelerated Reading is another awesome programs that all join in!! LRE is more than just a school..WE ARE A FAMILY
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2013

Little River Elementary is a wonderful school with a caring and dedicated staff. The school has created an excellent partnership with the families. There is great communication and many opportunities for families to get involved. We feel very thankful for all the hard work the LRE staff puts into making this such a great school for our kids! Our children feel loved and happy at LRE and they have learned so much from the quality instruction they've been given! We are so proud to call Little River Elementary our school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Love Love Love this school. Every teacher my son has had so far has been amazing. They are extremely loving and giving and caring. Our students have the best test scores in the state due hugely by the teachers approach to teaching. Every student wants to do their best. I can't find one thing to complain about at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Little River Elementary School has been here for well over 30 years. The last six years we've enjoyed our new spacious building....but now have grown to over 1330 'Eagles'. Little River puts students first and we our so proud of our past as well as welcome our future 'LRE Eagles'.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2013

My son went to Little River E.S. for 1st through 5th grades, and my daughter has gone to this school since Kindergarten (now in 5th grade). The Principals, teachers, PTA, etc are wonderful! They truly care about each child education, and understand that some children learn differently than others & are willing to put in the extra time for those children! I truly do not have anything negative to say about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

We moved over to Little River from one of the very top school districts in the state, where the focus seemed to be on test scores and test preparation...very little focus was placed on my kids and what they needed to thrive as individuals. It was the best move we could have made! The focus of this school is on individual student needs, and encouraging them to thrive. Victories are celebrated and failures are met with more encouragement towards success. Parent involvement is huge, social/student bonding opportunities abound. My kids are people, not just numbers, and that is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

My son went here for 5th grade and my daughter has been here for k and 1st grade. My son had a pretty good experience except for one teacher who he considered to be very mean. After consulting with the wonderful counselor she made sure my son got out of that teachers class. Once that happened he was much happier. My daughter has loved the school! She has had wonderful teachers who are nurturing and who are great teachers. The school also offers great sports programs that both of my kids have taken advantage of and have loved them. The new principal is also a very nice man and is really involved with the kids. My daughter just loves going to school everyday! It's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

Excellent parent participation and support, outstanding teachers who LISTEN to students and cater to them accordingly, lovely facility. what more can our kids ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

177 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

180 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

177 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 44%
Hispanic 19% 12%
Black 9% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3170 Trickum Rd
Woodstock, GA 30188
Phone: (770) 926-7566

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT