Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alvah A Scott Elementary School 4

Posted December 26, 2012
- a parent
In our experience here, most of the teachers are A+! Especially in grades K-4, the teachers have instilled a love for learning and provided a fun way to learn for my 3 children that have attended this school. One of my children has had difficulty with academics & behavior but has received so much support and patience from a variety of teachers, support staff, & programs here at Alvah Scott. Mrs. Browne, the librarian, is top notch! So many good people here at Scott Elementary whose common goal is providing a good environment for education our keiki. Our experience with upper elementary hasn't been as great but they still provide a challenging academic environment. As for the campus itself, it is a nice area. Parking and traffic flow are issues and only a few classrooms are air-conditioned, which is a hardship during the summer months. However, our overall experience at Alvah Scott has been positive. You get what you make of it - we're pretty involved in our children's education and augment the regular school curriculum with extra afterschool activities. Yes, the Hawaii education system is not the best so that's why parent involvement in education is crucial.

Alvah A Scott Elementary School 3

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended Alvah Scott for one year. Her teacher was wonderful. Most students only seemed to attend for daycare, not school. The teacher spent most of her time babysitting. The rest of the school staff was rude and seemed to discriminate against my family because we are military from the mainland, not local. Mixed feelings overall.


Alvah A Scott Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
Alvah Scott Elementary has a dedicated, caring staff who accomplish the extraordinary with the diminished resources of the HI public school system. I gave 5 stars for "parent involvement" because of Great Schools' criteria regarding the school's offers of opportunities for parent involvement and encouragement to volunteer, not for the amount of parent involvement presently in the school. In the eyes of someone coming from a mainland school system, the physical appearance of the buildings on campus may appear shabby. Please don't judge this book by its cover-you may miss a wonderful opportunity to become a part of the Alvah Scott ohana.

Alvah A Scott Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a teacher
Excellent school where teachers truly care about the students.

Alvah A Scott Elementary School 2

Posted November 15, 2007
- a parent
My child basically covers worksheets from multiple books every day to prepare for the end of year test with no attempt to actually teach the material covered on the sheets. Some of it is complex stuff for kids that have never been taught.


Alvah A Scott Elementary School 1

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alvah A Scott Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2004
- a student
This school has no control over the students and does not take cursing, dress codes or discipline seriuosly.

Alvah A Scott Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2004
- a parent
I have found that this school and its faculty and staff work very hard in teaching their students. The teachers I've found try hard to teach students the importance of learning. Excellent school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alvah A Scott Elementary School
981230 Moanalua Rd, Aiea, HI  96701
(808) 483-7220
Last modified Alvah A Scott Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alvah A Scott Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top