Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aiea Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
My child and I love this school. When school started I spoke with counselor about my child's issues and within 2 days they had address them, tested him and made a plan along with teacher to help. His homeroom teacher emails me whenever my son needs a little extra help at home and the principal knows all my family members by name. Overall the staff is very ohana oriented, helpful, resourceful and respectful.

Aiea Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
When problems or concerns are presented it is stalled with many excuses and no solutions. Perhaps spending quality time improving or addressing issues may help to solve concerns.


Aiea Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
Children are left unattended in classrooms posing potential risk to child's safety.-bought this concern to the principal's attention her reply "we are short staffed". My child was missing from class for fifteen minutes the teacher called asking if she should alert the police! The academic structure is at least two to three years behind the national average. I am looking desperately looking for a better public school... They don't care!

Aiea Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
What homework and if there is homework very little and at least two to three years behind in academics.

Aiea Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
The academic structure is poor due to the lack of dedication or passion to teach students. Students show very little motivation if any and seem to feel what little they learn is sufficient.


Aiea Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
No, most of the students are unruly and lack discipline most likely resulting from their home environment the school is slow to address social issues or teach students proper social skills.

Aiea Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
They don't care to address any issues or concerns. Nor do they show any compassion, empathy it seems to be a problem not worth addressing.

Aiea Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
Teacher's, staff and administration lack school spirit. The academic structure is below the national average validated by poor test scores. Children are left unattended in classrooms-when questioning the principal her reply " we are short staffed". There are no advanced classes for math, science or cultural programs. My gc struggles every day just to survive in school, he is constantly being bullied. Working with school officials that don't care is difficult. We are looking to other options to place my gs in a safe, nurturing and healthy environment. The majority of the students are from low income which may explain a lot. With those stats wouldn't it be urgent for the school to provide better educational and social support?


Aiea Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
My kids love this school and hate to move. We are a military family but local born in Hawaii from the outer islands. As a parent, I had no issues with the staff. The teachers ensured they kept my kids challenged and recognized additional opportunities for all three of them. My son attended from K-6, my other son K-1, and my only daughter K. All three had the same K teacher. Although we moved from Aiea to Pearl City, we still had our kids attend Aiea Elementary. No complaints and bottom line, they grew academically and the kids loved it. We have moved again and unfortunately the commute will override next year's enrollment. The staff is still helpful with us finding a good school for the kids. As a parent that's all we ask.

Nearby schools

Aiea Elementary School
99370 Moanalua Rd, Aiea, HI  96701
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (808) 483-7200
Last modified Aiea Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top